We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,041)
Filter reviews
1,041 results
Traveller rating
443
380
124
58
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
443
380
124
58
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews squash court sea view executive room games room outdoor pool hot tub spa bath table tennis isle of wight air hockey evening meal on arrival sister hotel duty manager short break dining room the cliff
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 1,041 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2019

Booked the hotel through groupon.. deal included ferry crossing and 2 nights B&B with 2 course meal the first night. We were not in a recently refurbished room but in a clean tidy but lustre lacking double room... we paid extra for a sea view. Dining room needed a candle or two.. thank goodness for the warm lights of a christmas tree for a bit of cheer! Starter a disaster... main course so nearly there but duck/pork both over cooked. Breakfast even worse... who doesn't understand hot food on hot plates!! If you can't cook a Full English then offer Continental. On a plus all the waiting staff and reception were faultless, the grounds were stunning and the island a treat... go on give it a bit of a face lift!!!!

Room tip: The reviews suggest going for a recently refurbished room albeit we weren't put in one yet the hotel was empty.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steve Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Luccombe Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you Steve for leaving your review and constructive comments, it is appreciated as it allows us to improve our offering for future guests. I am sorry that you found the food not to your liking and that your room and stay did not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2019

There were eight in our party to celebrate the New Year. We were welcomed as soon as we stepped in the door. The staff were extremely helpful throughout our stay. The menu choice for breakfast and evening meals were excellent. The location was very quiet allowing a good nights sleep. The evening entertainment was by local musicians/singers. There is a small landscaped garden at the rear of the hotel which overlooks the sea. The bedroom was of a reasonable size and cleaned daily. The hotel generally appeared a little 'tired' but as a whole I would strongly recommend this hotel and would certainly return. Luccombe village is close at hand with several pleasant pubs offering good food. There is a bus stop a few minutes walk away which will take you to nearby Shanklin and Sandown. Alternatively, there is a walk along the promenade but there are about 100 steps to reach it. As this was the New Year, the hotel had arranged a Treasure Hunt around Luccombe. This was excellent and gave us a flavour for the area. Beware, this area of IOW is hilly.

Room tip: Their is an option for a sea view at an extra cost. I didn't think that this was worth the extra cost.
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank bobbydip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Luccombe Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for leaving such a lovely 5/5 review and some very kind comments. It was a pleasure to host your group over New Year and I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for your recommendations and we hope we can welcome you back for another visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2019

Lovely room I think just recently decorated and all meals fine capped with 8 course on new years eve. Service top quality and entertainment provide was ok. Shanklin lovely place to visit and fine restaurants away from hotel to be used for a change of setting.
We would have no problem returning.

Room tip: Get the sea view room with balcony
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TOPME1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Luccombe Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2019

Thank you for your 5/5 review, it is most appreciated. Really pleased you enjoyed our New Year Break and found Shanklin to your liking.

We really look forward to welcoming you back to Luccombe Hall in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2019

We have stayed at Luccombe Hall many times over the years and always enjoy our stay. This trip to the island was very last minute and just for one night. It was lovely to see the rooms have now been refurbished to a high standard. Bed very comfortable so we had a good nights sleep.The staff are always welcoming. We shall be back!

Room tip: Lovely views
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Luccombe Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2019

Thank you karen for leaving us a lovely 5/5 review following your latest short stay with us at Luccombe Hall. It is always a pleasure to welcome you to the hotel and we hope it won't be too long before your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2019 via mobile

We’ve just returned home from a 3 night stay and can honestly say it was the best mini break we have had. The staff are absolutely amazing, nothing is to much trouble. I won’t lie I am a complete hotel snob and this hotel was just amazing. Our room was lovely and The view from our window were outstanding. I can’t recommend this hotel enough. 5 star service. Thank you to all the staff, you were great and the management should be really proud they’ve got such a great team who clearly enjoy doing what they do.

Lorraine, Martin and James Staples

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Stapes4019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Luccombe Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2019

Thank you Lorriane, Martin and James for leaving us a wonderful 5/5 review following your stay at Luccombe Hall, it is most appreciated.

I have passed your kind comments onto the team here at the hotel, we are all really pleased your stay exceeded your expectations and we hope we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future for another visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews