We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,082)
Filter reviews
1,082 results
Traveller rating
467
392
128
58
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
467
392
128
58
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews squash court sea view executive room games room hot tub outdoor pool spa bath table tennis isle of wight air hockey evening meal sister hotel next door duty manager short break dining room family hotel play area
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,082 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The location was beautiful and staff on the front desk very helpful and welcoming when booking over the phone and during our stay. However, I wouldn’t recommend for anyone with mobility issues or young babies as unfortunately there is no lift and only 1 room downstairs. And there are quite a lot of stairs. We did not realise this when we booked and it was a bit of bad luck that I had a freak accident and was in a cast and crutches for our stay and had to struggle up and down the stairs. Regardless of this though whether I was on crutches or not with a young baby it was difficult having to go up and down the stairs with all of the luggage and baby in the car seat. When going for meals and breakfast we couldn’t have our pram as there was no way of getting it up and down the stairs with baby in it so baby had to stay in her car seat propped on a chair and restricted us to how much time we could leave her in there for. We were meant to be on the second floor but thankfully the staff were able to move us down to a room on the first floor to make it easier for me which we were very grateful.
The male waiting on staff were all very attentive and polite however the 2 young female waiting on staff unfortunately were not. Our meal included in our stay the first night was not great and we told our waitress Annie who just said “that’s how it’s meant to be” and never came back. The next morning we went for breakfast and sat in the conservatory area in the corner and were told by another waitress called Ellie we had to move and sit on our own out of the conservatory as children weren’t allowed? There were no signs and the only other 2 tables occupied were in the conservatory which had a gorgeous view out to sea. Our young baby was asleep in her car seat in the corner so I don’t see why this was an issue and another couple also questioned why and felt sorry for us. The next morning we were then allowed to sit in the conservatory in the corner for breakfast so not quite sure what the issue was?

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Florencenightingale1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Luccombe Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review and comments.

The conservatory area is only suitable for 2 guests per table and there is not room for prams or car seats in this area without it restricting access. We do try to keep this area as adults only so that there is at least a small area of the dining room available for guests without children.

I am sorry that the food was not to your liking and the service from Annie you felt was lacking. As you will read from the vast majority of other reviews, the food is held in kind regard. I am sorry that on this occasion it did not meet your expectations.

With regards to mobility, you are correct in that we do not have a lift. However, we do have a total of 7 ground floor rooms out of 29 total. 2 of these have either walk in showers or wet room. All are accessible with no stairs required at all. 1 is standard grade, 2 are seafacing and 4 are superior seafacing with balcony. Unfortunately we were almost fully booked during your stay so were unable to accommodate your request for a ground floor room once you were with us. We always offer help with cases/luggage so not sure why this was an issue. Prams can be left in the residents lounge if you do not want to carry them up to your room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Luccumbe Hall for three nights last week during the spell of quite exceptional fine, sunny weather. We found Luccombe to be extremely pleasant, in a great location and with very friendly, efficient staff. Our room was on the first floor with a large balcony and fabulous sea views. The room had recently been refurbished in a very nice style, was extremely spacious, well maintained and equipped.
Tea and coffee making facilities were available in the room, and we were very glad we took advantage of the optional Evening Meal package. The food was excellent and the service faultless (also most local eateries were closed for the winter season so local choice was very limited).
We simply cannot fault the hotel or it's staff. It offers great value for money especially as the ferry fare is included at a greatly reduced rate. We can thoroughly recommend a stay at Luccombe Hall and hope others share views.
One suggestion to the management....please consider installing an over bath grab handle in those rooms with a shower over the bath. We are able bodied but a less able person may struggle stepping in and out over the bath rim. A very cheap item to install that no doubt would be much appreciated.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank smithsataller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Luccombe Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for leaving such a lovely 5/5 review, your kind comments are most appreciated.

We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in one of our Superior Balcony Rooms and I have passed your comments onto the chef and staff regarding the food and service.

We do have temporary fit grab handles for bathrooms available on request as we recognise like you that not everyone finds it easy to get in and out of the bath/shower combinations.

Thank you again for your recommendation and we hope we can welcome you back in the future for another visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A most enjoyable stay the staff were attentive to all of our requests. The room was large enough with a comfortable bed and an adequate en-suite.The evening meal which was part of the deal was most enjoyable with good choices for starters,mains,and sweets.The hotel has amazing views out to sea with good gardens and plenty for children to do either inside or out.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Herbie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Luccombe Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for leaving us a lovely review and kind comments, it is most appreciated. We are really pleased you found the service excellent as well as enjoying the food.

We do hope we can welcome you back for another visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I spent a night at Luccombe Hall earlier this week. It is located around a 15 minute walk from the centre of Shanklin, in a quiet residential area backing onto the sea.
Check in was quick and hassle free, and the receptionist was exceptionally friendly and helpful (Cathy I think?).
My room was spotlessly clean and comfortable with a good bed, plenty of storage space and lots of tea and coffee provided. The ensuite, whilst a bit old, had a very powerful shower and ample towels and toiletries available.
I only booked the day before and got a single room with breakfast for just £26, which- for what the Luccombe Hall offers- is outstanding value.
I'd happily return, and would certainly recommend the hotel.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank AlexJ262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Luccombe Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you Alex for leaving us your lovely 5/5 review and kind comments.

We are rally pleased you enjoyed your overnight stay with us and we hope you may be able to return in the future for another visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room 16.
A beautiful room. Solid large oak bed. 2 seat sofa and large smart TV on the wall.
All other furniture solid oak.
Thick carpet and long, drawing curtains. Calming colour scheme.
Great mirrors. They light up with different ambiance lighting.
Very nice bathroom. Very modern. A very big bath with with stainless steel shower fittings.
And the binoculars are a nice touch.
But that is only the starter course. The private balcony is super large and modern with loungers etc.
And the view is something to behold. I cannot begin to explain the view from the balcony.
Room 16 is at the top of the hotel and has an exclusive private situation.
It’s a bit special.
That aside......the restaurant is always a pleasure to eat in, staff attentive and friendly.
The hotel is in a situation commanding outstanding sea views with lovingly attended gardens.
with 2 pools, sauna, games room, WiFi and much more.
It was a pleasure to spend time at Luccombe hall hotel.

Room tip: The rooms with a sea view. Outstanding.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterbur0632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Luccombe Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you Peter for leaving such a great 5/5 review, we always value your feedback and comments and are really pleased you enjoyed the newly refurbished Room 16.

It is always a pleasure to have you stay with us and we are already looking forward to your next visit when we hope you will love the brand new balcony even more.

Thank you once again, it is most appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews