We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price for an excellent stay with lovely breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ryedale Shanklin
Ranked #21 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good price for an excellent stay with lovely breakfast!”
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We had a lovely time at this little B&B. Slept well and woke up to an absolutely perfect breakfast every morning. Hayley and John's Rydale Hotel is the perfect place to stay on the Isle of Wight and is right by the station and a bus-stop which makes for easy touring and sight-seeing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel as you can hear occasional noise outside the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samlloyd1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    11
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
44
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We stayed for 4 nights and found the owners very friendly and helpful. The Hotel itself was very clean and the breakfast excellent and non greasy. Useful book in room giving names and address of local eateries with the owners personal opinion, this proved to be accurate. Will be staying again before the season is over.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul14315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We were made very welcome and had access to our room at all times (given keys on arrival). Nice and clean and the cooked breakfast was non-greasy. A little disappointed with the room as the hand basin was in it and not in the ensuite which was rather small. We did not have access to the garden, if we wanted to just sit and relax we had to sit out the front which is on a main road. Although it has free parking this is not within the boundaries of the guest house but further up the road in the railway station car park. But in general it was fine as it is only a B & B.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvieb65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

John and Hayley are lovely, greeted us at the door and helped us really enjoy our short break there. The room was delightful, exceptionally clean and very roomy. Décor was quirky and made it enjoyable to return. We left the window open the first night and the road was a little noisy, I'm such a light sleeper so it was closed for the remainder of the stay. The station car park is just 2 mins away and really easy to find, the B and B itself is located a very short walk from the beach and a few takeaway places, 10 mins walk from the High Street and restaurant.
Every morning we were treated to a fab breakfast which was just portioned right to keep you going until lunch.
We will certainly return to Ryedale if we head to the Island again. Thanks for a brilliant stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlenePell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

We found this a great B&B, good location and within easy reach of the beach. The room was great for our short stay, clean and very comfortable. There was a really nice relaxed feel to the place and the owners were very friendly and nothing seemed to much trouble. We will certainly return. The free parking ticket was a great bonus.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shazzap48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englefield Green, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

A wonderfully friendly B&B where you are made to feel welcome from the moment the door is opened to you. A great breakfast, and lovely clean rooms, in a great location with almost on the doorstep access to the island's good public transport network. I normally prefer accomodation with seaviews, but this is easily negated by the homely and relaxed atmosphere. I would not wish to stay anywhere else on the Isle of Wight.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karlmarx71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2011

My mother and I stayed here for 4 nights just before easter, we were made to feel very welcome from the minute we arrived. The room was perfect and very clean. Breakfast was great and set us up for the day. John and Hayley are great hosts and their son daniel is really cute and makes great toast!!! All amenities are within walking distance and there are some lovely places to eat. However it is nice to find a B & B that allows you to take your takeaway back and eat it in the dining room (they even provide plates, glasses and cutlery), the fridge for guests use was invaluable to me (to keep my wine nicely chilled!!!!) will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jugs77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.3 mi away
Cliff Hall Hotel
Cliff Hall Hotel
#14 of 52 in Shanklin
138 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
462 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royson GuestHouse
The Royson GuestHouse
#17 of 51 in Shanklin
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Birkdale
The Birkdale
#8 of 51 in Shanklin
231 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grange Bank House
Grange Bank House
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
75 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Westfield
The Westfield
#4 of 31 in Sandown
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ryedale Shanklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ryedale Shanklin

Property: The Ryedale Shanklin
Address: 3 Atherley Road, Shanklin PO37 7AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ryedale Shanklin 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ryedale Shanklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ryedale Shanklin Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing