We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay. Clean, comfortable, central” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ryedale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ryedale
Ranked #23 of 52 Shanklin B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice stay. Clean, comfortable, central”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Had a lovely 2 nights with the family.
Nice room. Clean and tidy. Lots of kids toys available under the bed.
Easy to get to everywhere. Good breakfast.
Nice hosts who obviously take pride in their establishment.
Good value. Parking is at the nearby train station which is just a minute's walk away.
Can't really think of anything that disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurits_van_Eijck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    11
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
41
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

Good B&B, very central for train and beach. Good facilities, good breakfast, lovel hosts, always have time to chat and give you info re the Island.
John and Haley are upgrading the rooms , the ones they have done are super.
Hope they have a great IOW Festival and good luck Bear Social on the main stage!!!
Jackie and Glyn Edinburgh
ps. would stay there again!!

Room Tip: Back rooms are probably quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieeDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I got an extremely warm welcome.
My stay was relaxing just what I were looking for.
My room was very bright and fresh
The Hotel is excellent and the breakfast was 5 stars.
I was made to fill safe as a solo gest.
Very good location for the railway station and the busses if you do not have a car.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue100186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

If you are disabled you will know how difficult going away is. In fact whether you are able bodied or disabled this is a must visit Guest House. Set in an ideal location close to the railway station and seafront John and Hayley and their son Daniel give you an extremely warm welcome and are helpful and accomodating throughout your stay. We stayed for a week and we booked DIRECTLY WITH JOHN prior to our arrival. We were able to discuss all our needs, which if you are a disabled family is so important and John booked our ferry passage at a more reasonable rate than we could have got elsewhere. We had the downstairs room which was so clean I could have eaten my breakfast off of the floor!!!!!. Our room was bright and fresh, clean and comfortable with every luxury we could ask for. Small flat screen TV, tea, coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits. Wifi connection which is great if you need to take a computer away with you. Lots of thought has gone into every detail of their home & buisiness. There are just a few steps up to the house itself and parking is easy, just up the road at the railway station, free and never full. The breakfast is plentiful with lots of variety either for continental needs or a cooked English breakfast. The dining room is bright ( spotless ) you sit on the same table throughout your stay. Also available is a fridge for anything you want to keep cold, including milk for guests supplied by Hayley and John. There are also books and childrens games and jigsaws available to use. We have stayed in many hotels and Guest Houses over the years and I can quite honestly say this is definately the best we have come across so when we return we will be contacting John and Hayley again.

Room Tip: Ring or email John and Hayley directly at the guest house for a great personal service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YandC58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

We visited isle of wight for 3 days from 20th of May 2013. Itwas our first visit with our 5 months old baby and it was great. Weather was ok but our visit was made special By Hayley and John.

Room was specious and breakfast was good. The best touch was When Hayley cuddled our baby every morning when we had our breakfast. That was extra special for us.

With the small baby we are more comfortable with take aways as we can have our food at our own pace and they allow you take away and use the dining room.

It was a great visit.

Thanks

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank AhmedDaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013 via mobile

everything was to a high standard in a friendly atmosphere.
The accomodation was bright and fresh and the food was excellent.
we were on a small trip away from work and family pressures and we return home with batteries recharged.
Thank you John and Jenny
from Gloria and Donny

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank solitacute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princes Risborough
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

A warm welcome and very friendly atmosphere. Our room was comfortable,spacious and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was delicious and set us up for the rest of the day.Excellent location.All in all a most enjoyable break - hope to return next year and will highly recommend The Ryedale to our friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.4 mi away
The Havelock
The Havelock
#9 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Birkdale
The Birkdale
#8 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Knight's Rest
Knight's Rest
#27 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brooke House
Brooke House
#17 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pink Beach Guest House
Pink Beach Guest House
#25 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ryedale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ryedale

Property: The Ryedale
Address: 3 Atherley Road, Shanklin PO37 7AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ryedale 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Ryedale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ryedale Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing