We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect gem”
Review of The Ryedale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ryedale
Ranked #21 of 50 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Somerset
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect gem”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

What a wonderful place to stay, lovely spacious room, spotlessly clean and a great choice of breakfast. We particularly welcomed the use of the fridge in the dining room to keep fresh milk (supplied by the owners) so we could enjoy a real 'cup of tea' on return from another tiring day. The use of the station car park, again paid for by the owners, was very welcome and perfectly safe. We hope to return to the Isle of Wight one day and we would definitely stay here again. Thankyou for your hospitality and advice for local restaurants, we loved the Fine Nammet where we had our anniversary dinner, a fabulous place to eat and very reasonable too.

Room Tip: We chose one of the larger rooms at the front of the guest house, which can also be used as a family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dreamteam09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    11
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
41
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arnhem, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Although it has been several months since we stayed at this wonderful b&b,we think of our family vacation often! This was our 2nd visit and we will be back for sure! The location is very central, the owners soo friendly, John and Haley thank you so much for your hospitality, you have a wonderful place, we hope to come back next year!

Room Tip: we stayed with our 2 very young children in the family room, each room has a box of toys which they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeidiVincent2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Fabulous guest house, very central with easy access to the station (right across the road) and a short walk to the beach. Free parking and wifi was also included. The hosts were very welcoming and the breakfast was superb, the fruit salad with nine different fruits was lovely, we didn't need to eat until the evening after that! We had a lovely weekend to celebrate our anniversary, thanks so much to John and Hayley for a friendly, well run, very clean and modern B&B.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HReynolds_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This is the second time we've stayed here - our room had been refurbished, really fresh and modern. The breakfasts are really really good - the best cooked breakfast anywhere !! John and Hayley welcomed us like old friends and were on hand to let us know about things going on on the island. Great value for money, immaculate room and great breakfast. Definitely coming back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathandGerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

This b&b is perfectly located, spotless and very friendly. Highly reccomend it. The value for money is excellent and the hosts are very friendly. 10 min to the beach and right next to the train station.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpoerlikon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stayed for 2 nights as a couple. Great friendly owners, shown to lovely bright, spotlessly clean room. Information leaflets left on bed for us and good local knowledge if asked for.
Breakfast was really good and served with a genuine smile. Made to feel very welcome.
Was able to park easily in near by railway station. So easy access for trains and buses and a few minutes walk to beach.
So nice to find such a friendly and homely B&B.

Room Tip: Ground floor was perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghYorkygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Had a lovely 2 nights with the family.
Nice room. Clean and tidy. Lots of kids toys available under the bed.
Easy to get to everywhere. Good breakfast.
Nice hosts who obviously take pride in their establishment.
Good value. Parking is at the nearby train station which is just a minute's walk away.
Can't really think of anything that disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurits_van_Eijck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.3 mi away
Palmerston Grange
Palmerston Grange
#24 of 52 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Avenue
The Avenue
#17 of 50 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grange Bank House
Grange Bank House
#12 of 50 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Royson GuestHouse
The Royson GuestHouse
#16 of 50 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Havelock
The Havelock
#7 of 50 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ryedale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ryedale

Property: The Ryedale
Address: 3 Atherley Road, Shanklin PO37 7AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ryedale 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ryedale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ryedale Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing