We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bourne Hall Country Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holliers Hotel(Shanklin)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Daish's Hotel(Shanklin)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Clifton(Shanklin)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveller rating
121
88
44
19
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
121
88
44
19
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure facilitiesindoor poolisle of wightlovely hotelpremier roomposter bedmain buildingsandown bayhotel is situatedany queriescold buffetcooked breakfastbooked this hotelquiet locationmini fridgepoached eggslarge room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
222 - 227 of 281 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Nice hotel. Clean, comfy. Staff friendly and helpful although reserved. Restaurant expensive and lacking in atmosphere - go elsewhere! OK for breakfast. Public areas a bit dull. All deep-buttoned armchairs; rather formal and stuff. Saw no-one using them! The bathrooms need shelves where you can put your things. The pol and other leisure facilities, located separately from the main building, were very nice. No lift if you struggle with stairs...

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExmoorBoy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Very helpful staff and lovely cooked breakfasts. What a change to be served bacon that you can't actually see through! The beds were a bit too hard for me, but I suppose that's a matter of personal choice. Indoor pool and jacuzzi were very relaxing and the outdoor pool was extremely invigorating! It took us a while to work out how to use the sauna, but we got there in the end. Lovely area - all in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kateob1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

The hotel is located just outside Shanklin Old Village and up a steepish hill. We stayed for three nights and spent 4 days on the island in beautiful weather. Our room was at the back of the hotel and whilst comfortable had a poor view over the back of garden. This was our fault though for leaving the booking too late as this was the only room available. That said the room was spacious and kept clean and tidy each day with towels replaced.
My only minor gripe was that the beds were a bit hard and lumpy. I am though a very light sleeper and always take a age to get used to a new bed.
In the past we have suffered at hotels with more stars but where the hot water ran out when just one guest had a shower! At Bourne Hall the water was hot (very hot!!) and plentiful. Make sure you turn the shower off the right way or you end up with a very red body (as my wife will testify!) and some choice language.
We did not eat at the hotel in the evening but other guests were very complimentary about the quality. However the breakfasts were superb!! Fresh fruit, cereal, fruit juices, toast, croissants, yoghurts, and a cooked breakfast served to your table. None of this buffet style lukewarm food and rubber scrambled eggs. My wife had the kippers which she said were superb and I had the "heart attack special" with wonedrful poached eggs. I have stayed in many hotels both for holidays and business and would say this was the best breakfast I have had. Many thanks Chef!
Finally the staff were excellent. Very polite and helpful and always with a cheerful greeting.
Would we go back? Like a shot - but we'd book earlier and opt for one of the low numbered rooms in the original part - and ensure we left room for the brealfasts!!

Room Tip: The low numbered rooms seemed to have the best views of the garden and the distant Shanklin Bay.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AshtdMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Nice hotel in a quiet location close to Skanklin old village. we had a most enjoyable
stay, the rooms were clean and staff very freindly and the food was exceptional, we
would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mikbanbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We stayed at Bourne Hall for 10 days during July. This is an ideal Hotel for those seeking a quieter type of hotel with very good standards of rooms and facilities. All the staff were very helpful and friendly at all times with particular thanks to Laura and Victoria & the Chef for the excellent standard of food served in the Restaurant. The hotel has a small but very good leisure facility with indoor ( nice and warm ) & outdoor ( brrr :-) ) pools + jacuzzi & sauna. We will definitely recommend this hotel and will certainly return in the future.

Room Tip: Our Premier Room was to a very high standard, spacious and comfortable
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ColinM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews