We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bourne Hall Country Hotel
Ranked #20 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Romford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT holiday”
Reviewed 22 September 2011

I first thought that the price of just over £1000 for 7 nights was a bit high but I soon changed my mind, why?: -
The room was large and had plenty of storage
the food was out of this world, Breakfast a good choice and the eavening four course meal was beyond belelife.
I am on home dialasys and had to arange medical supplies to be delivered to the holtel
which the staff helped with.
The staff where very friendly and helpfull.
after talking to friends, 2 couples have asked for details which I have greatly given.
this hotel is well werth a visit, it was built for Queen victorier's lady in waiting so that should give you a clue on the decor.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    71
    38
    15
    6
See reviews for
45
123
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Found this hotel through the Tourist information details and also reviews already on Trip Advisor. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived the views are stunning, though beware need to be fit as the site is on a steep hill! I have to congratulate the staff as this is only a small hotel the care and attention at breakfast and evening meals was faultless. The food is extremely good with good selection and variety, there is no " live entertainment" in the evening although if feeling energetic Old Shanklin is around 15 minutes walk but will take a little longer coming back due to the steep incline. The hotel has its little " cinema" where a film is played nightly. We met some nice people and being small the atmosphere is very friendly. The bedrooms are very nicely decorated and well clean and you can upgrade to more superb rooms if required, we had a classic for the few days we were there and this was adequate for our stay. Overall would recommend you try and we are thinking of returning next year.

Room Tip: Go to web site and view rooms - Premier will give you front access of hotel overlooking Shanklin
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vincent186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Nice hotel. Clean, comfy. Staff friendly and helpful although reserved. Restaurant expensive and lacking in atmosphere - go elsewhere! OK for breakfast. Public areas a bit dull. All deep-buttoned armchairs; rather formal and stuff. Saw no-one using them! The bathrooms need shelves where you can put your things. The pol and other leisure facilities, located separately from the main building, were very nice. No lift if you struggle with stairs...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExmoorBoy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Very helpful staff and lovely cooked breakfasts. What a change to be served bacon that you can't actually see through! The beds were a bit too hard for me, but I suppose that's a matter of personal choice. Indoor pool and jacuzzi were very relaxing and the outdoor pool was extremely invigorating! It took us a while to work out how to use the sauna, but we got there in the end. Lovely area - all in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kateob1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

The hotel is located just outside Shanklin Old Village and up a steepish hill. We stayed for three nights and spent 4 days on the island in beautiful weather. Our room was at the back of the hotel and whilst comfortable had a poor view over the back of garden. This was our fault though for leaving the booking too late as this was the only room available. That said the room was spacious and kept clean and tidy each day with towels replaced.
My only minor gripe was that the beds were a bit hard and lumpy. I am though a very light sleeper and always take a age to get used to a new bed.
In the past we have suffered at hotels with more stars but where the hot water ran out when just one guest had a shower! At Bourne Hall the water was hot (very hot!!) and plentiful. Make sure you turn the shower off the right way or you end up with a very red body (as my wife will testify!) and some choice language.
We did not eat at the hotel in the evening but other guests were very complimentary about the quality. However the breakfasts were superb!! Fresh fruit, cereal, fruit juices, toast, croissants, yoghurts, and a cooked breakfast served to your table. None of this buffet style lukewarm food and rubber scrambled eggs. My wife had the kippers which she said were superb and I had the "heart attack special" with wonedrful poached eggs. I have stayed in many hotels both for holidays and business and would say this was the best breakfast I have had. Many thanks Chef!
Finally the staff were excellent. Very polite and helpful and always with a cheerful greeting.
Would we go back? Like a shot - but we'd book earlier and opt for one of the low numbered rooms in the original part - and ensure we left room for the brealfasts!!

Room Tip: The low numbered rooms seemed to have the best views of the garden and the distant Shanklin Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshtdMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
banbury
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Nice hotel in a quiet location close to Skanklin old village. we had a most enjoyable
stay, the rooms were clean and staff very freindly and the food was exceptional, we
would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikbanbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We stayed at Bourne Hall for 10 days during July. This is an ideal Hotel for those seeking a quieter type of hotel with very good standards of rooms and facilities. All the staff were very helpful and friendly at all times with particular thanks to Laura and Victoria & the Chef for the excellent standard of food served in the Restaurant. The hotel has a small but very good leisure facility with indoor ( nice and warm ) & outdoor ( brrr :-) ) pools + jacuzzi & sauna. We will definitely recommend this hotel and will certainly return in the future.

Room Tip: Our Premier Room was to a very high standard, spacious and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColinM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rylstone Manor Hotel
Rylstone Manor Hotel
#15 of 52 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourne Hall Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourne Hall Country Hotel

Property: Bourne Hall Country Hotel
Address: 11 Luccombe Road, Shanklin PO37 6RR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bourne Hall Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bourne Hall, an elegant Country House, Hotel and restaurant, set in mature grounds in Shanklin, Isle of Wight. Originally built in the late 1860’s, said to be for one of Queen Victoria’s ladies in waiting, the "house" still retains its sense of history whilst providing comfortable accommodation enhanced by its original Victorian features. Uniquely located on an elevated position at the foot of Luccombe Downs, benefits both countryside and coastal Vistas. The Hotel enjoys exquisite views, by day and night, across Sandown and Shanklin Bay, and onwards to Culver Downs. Situated minutes walk south of Shanklin "old village," this 30 bedroom, 3 star hotel offers a range of classic and premier rooms, family rooms and suites, comprehensive leisure & health facilities, and a stylish restaurant. Bourne Hall provides the ideal setting for weekend special breaks or longer stays, private functions, weddings and business meetings/conferences. We take pride in our friendliness and attention to detail and always endeavour to make your experience comfortable and most enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bourne Hall Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bourne Hall Country Hotel And Restaurant
Bourne Hall Country Shanklin
Bourne Hall Country Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing