We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bourne Hall Country Hotel
Ranked #20 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Norwich, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

First the good stuff. The staff were very helpful and welcoming. The hotel is presentable and clean and the bedroom we had was a good size but with no view. Given that we stayed out of season and there were very few guests in the hotel, it would have been a nice gesture if we'd been given a room with a view.

Lovely clean bathroom and newly re-furbished, so where was the shelf by the mirror to put things on? Where was the tray in the shower to put soap, bottle of shampoo etc..little things maybe, but no thought has gone in to it.

In 2012, does the room really have to have an artex ceiling and do the soft furnishings have to be beige and brown? No imagination. No full (or even half-length) mirror? If it was old decoration it might be excused but it's relatively new!

Please do not give me stewed, industrial strength filtered coffee in a cafetiere and pretend it's fresh.

Please do not have an answering machine that tells me the booking centre is experiencing a high level of calls. This is a small country hotel not the Marriot chain. It fools no-one and is irritating.

A sticking plaster left on the side of the jacuzzi: bleeeahh!

You're letting your excellent staff and yourselves down for no good reason . Stop it.

Room Tip: Specify a south-facing room overlooking the sea. Don'yt book room 3, it's adjacent to the fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Killiemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    71
    38
    15
    6
See reviews for
45
123
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St Albans Hertfordshire UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Last year was our first visit to the Isle of Wight and the Bourne Hall Hotel which we thought was wonderful so we decided to make a return visit with friends for a 3 night winter break.

Once again we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The ambience,furnishings and decor and cleanliness of the hotel is a credit to the proprietors and staff. The service is exceptional and the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff added to our enjoyment. We had dinner each night and the meals were excellent. We look forward to returning soon. David

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinwillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Just spent an enjoyable four nights at this hotel. It was perfect - lovely warm welcome, helpful, friendly staff. The room was clean and comfortable and the food - DELICIOUS! Cosy atmosphere and nicely decorated for Victorian Christmas theme - hope to stay again (soon).

Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gwynedd
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. Its one of the best holidays we have had, the staff couldn't do enough for us they really went out of their way to make everyone feel special. The hotel was perfect and the standard of cleaning was very good, the food was amazing, we couldn't fault it in any way. We would definately go back again.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems then ask for a ground floor room as there are not lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank williamterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Despite a very negative first impression we went on th have a very enjoyable, comfortable stay. Upon arrival I walked in after my wife (carrying the cases!) and assumed the very young girl at reception was tapping away on her computer to check our booking. After about half a minute I looked at my wife and asked if that was the case, to be told the girl had not even looked up to acknowledge us. When I then said excuse me; she just replied "I don't work on reception" and continued tapping away on her computer. Just the someone else arrived and took care of us. This lack of professionalism is clearly something the hotel needs to address.

However after our initial minor annoyance, we were shown around the hotel and given essential information by the polite, friendly lady that does work on reception. The building is very grand and clearly clings on to regal ties from yesteryear, as well as being beautifully positioned with far reaching sea views from the terrace and having a range of leisure facilities including a gym, indoor and outdoor pools, a games room and a mini cinema showing evening films as well as a beauty treatment room.

The lounge and bar areas have quality comfortable furniture and are well appopinted and the dining room has large windows with the far reaching views mentioned earlier. Our bedroom was pretty standard but clean and the bath and shower had brilliant water pressure making for a really good shower or a bath that could be run in no time at all.

Breakfast was good (the only downer of it being the supermarket value type sausage) and the staff working in the dining room at this time were without exception brilliant and I hope the hotel recognizes this fact; friendly, quick to take orders and accommodating with requests.

Due to the fact we spent our 4 days getting around to see the sights we didn't get to partake in any of the aforementioned leisure facilities and I hope to visit again and stay for longer to give us a little more "leisure" time to relax at the hotel.

We didn't take our evening meals at the hotel thinking that the set price of £30 a head was a little pricey (check my reviews for a couple of restaurants I did visit in Shanklin, including a great Italian for £12 a head for 3 courses) but heard from other guests that the food was good, so I'll give it a go next time one night at least.

Maybe they aren't getting the numbers through the doors to enable them to make a few improvements to up their rating, I don' know, but I did book through "Laterooms" at a price reduced by about 20% of their own advertised price. Given their facilities, grand design and some excellent staff I would have thought with some updates to rooms and a slight extension of the carpark they would certainly be worth 4 stars.

Room Tip: No lift so if you have difficulties with mobility request ground or first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank primarysteve1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

I first thought that the price of just over £1000 for 7 nights was a bit high but I soon changed my mind, why?: -
The room was large and had plenty of storage
the food was out of this world, Breakfast a good choice and the eavening four course meal was beyond belelife.
I am on home dialasys and had to arange medical supplies to be delivered to the holtel
which the staff helped with.
The staff where very friendly and helpfull.
after talking to friends, 2 couples have asked for details which I have greatly given.
this hotel is well werth a visit, it was built for Queen victorier's lady in waiting so that should give you a clue on the decor.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Found this hotel through the Tourist information details and also reviews already on Trip Advisor. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived the views are stunning, though beware need to be fit as the site is on a steep hill! I have to congratulate the staff as this is only a small hotel the care and attention at breakfast and evening meals was faultless. The food is extremely good with good selection and variety, there is no " live entertainment" in the evening although if feeling energetic Old Shanklin is around 15 minutes walk but will take a little longer coming back due to the steep incline. The hotel has its little " cinema" where a film is played nightly. We met some nice people and being small the atmosphere is very friendly. The bedrooms are very nicely decorated and well clean and you can upgrade to more superb rooms if required, we had a classic for the few days we were there and this was adequate for our stay. Overall would recommend you try and we are thinking of returning next year.

Room Tip: Go to web site and view rooms - Premier will give you front access of hotel overlooking Shanklin
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vincent186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rylstone Manor Hotel
Rylstone Manor Hotel
#15 of 52 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourne Hall Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourne Hall Country Hotel

Property: Bourne Hall Country Hotel
Address: 11 Luccombe Road, Shanklin PO37 6RR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bourne Hall Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bourne Hall, an elegant Country House, Hotel and restaurant, set in mature grounds in Shanklin, Isle of Wight. Originally built in the late 1860’s, said to be for one of Queen Victoria’s ladies in waiting, the "house" still retains its sense of history whilst providing comfortable accommodation enhanced by its original Victorian features. Uniquely located on an elevated position at the foot of Luccombe Downs, benefits both countryside and coastal Vistas. The Hotel enjoys exquisite views, by day and night, across Sandown and Shanklin Bay, and onwards to Culver Downs. Situated minutes walk south of Shanklin "old village," this 30 bedroom, 3 star hotel offers a range of classic and premier rooms, family rooms and suites, comprehensive leisure & health facilities, and a stylish restaurant. Bourne Hall provides the ideal setting for weekend special breaks or longer stays, private functions, weddings and business meetings/conferences. We take pride in our friendliness and attention to detail and always endeavour to make your experience comfortable and most enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bourne Hall Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bourne Hall Country Hotel And Restaurant
Bourne Hall Country Shanklin
Bourne Hall Country Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing