We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bourne Hall Country Hotel
Ranked #24 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Stayed here for one night with my Mother,my sister in law and my 13 year old son,and had a great time in this very layed back feel hotel.Staff are friendly and rooms are clean.
Swimming pool and jacuzzi is great and we had a lovely breakfast in the morning.Looking forward to going back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournehallhoteliow, Manager at Bourne Hall Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Dear Guests

I would just like to take the time to thank you for your response!

We are glad you enjoyed you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon in the future.

Kind Regards
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed here for a short 3 night break starting 10th August. We asked about booking meals in the restaurant and was told that it is no longer open in the evenings, which was annoying as the 'hotel' is advertised as hotel and restaurant and it is a good walk down and up hills to the town to get food.
One member of staff told us that the restaurant isn't open because of staffing issues (low turnover in the winter) another staff member said it was because people prefer to go into town to eat, this I find hard to believe.
The pool area is in need of a good tidy up as there are a lot of weeds growing out of the paving and 50% of the sun beds are broken, otherwise the pools, gym and gardens are good.
Please don't expect to eat or drink during the day whilst round the pool unless you travel into town to get drinks and food, this is a big minus.
There doesn't seem to be any effort to keep you at the hotel even in the evening as the bar closes at 10.30, we were asked to leave the bar area on the first night so that the bar room can be closed and locked up, you have to ring the bell every time you want a drink as the same member of staff covers the reception.
Our room was at the side with a fantastic sea view but again the room is a bit tired, the paintwork has been done to a very poor quality with the dark stain underneath stowing through. The bathroom is cheaply done with the cheapest taps possible, there was nowhere to put toiletries or tooth brush, a shelf above the sink would be good.
People have put that the owners are friendly, I can't say we knew who they were, if they were members of staff we spoke to they never introduced themselves.
The breakfast was good but nothing special, Marriott and Holiday Inn Hotels offer more choice and you can eat and drink in the evening.
I'm worried that in perhaps a couple of years this hotel will either be closed or under new owners unless the present owners grab at missed opportunities ie: evening meals, late bar and waiter service at the pool.
Would I book this hotel again? Yes but only if the issues that are highlighted by guests are addressed. 

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We have just had a 3 night break at this hotel. We booked 2 rooms. A standard double room, and a premier double room. The standard room was rather small and quite dark. But was very clean and comfortable. This room was booked for our teenage son. Although, he really just used this room to sleep in. As he spent most of the time in our room with us. We had a premier room which was absolutely wonderful. It was very large, with a big four poster bed (which was very comfortable), a large cosy sofa (big enough for 3 people). The room had wonderful sea views, and was very airy and bright. The bathroom was also lovely as it had a big corner bath in too.

The breakfasts were OK. But felt that it would have been good if there had been more choice of cereals. As my son and I are both non meat eaters.

The staff were lovely, really helpful and very friendly.

There are two pools. One outdoor and one indoor. The indoor was great to swim in. It was really warm too. And we all used the pool every day. My son absolutely loved it. There is also a hot tub, which was great too.

Overall the hotel is really great. Although, it could do with a bit of TLC here and there. But this would not stop us from returning. Hopefully, in the not too distant future.

Did not experience any signs of the hotel being haunted. As I am quite sure we stayed at the hotel the same time as the previous guests.

The hotel's position is great. Very peaceful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cat45London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The staff were lovely, and very helpful. The breakfast was very very good. The pool and spa were gorgeous. Our room was up two flights of stairs right at the back of the hotel, which wasn't ideal really. Neither of us believed in ghosts before this night. We woke in the morning, and both had a similar dream about a corner of the room where a picture hung. Noticing the picture wasn't up the right way, I turned it around so the fleur de lys were the right way up. Whilst we were both in the room, it changed back - we didn't see it! I asked my partner to put the kettle on, and the switch flipped itself - pretty impossible as it was quite stiff. My partner said he spent the whole second night feeling watched from one corner. As I said, none of us believe in ghosts, well, we didn't!

Room Tip: Don't go in room 25 unless you like spooky things!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anney-marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We booked a night at the Bourne hall in shanklin as a treat for a friend. When we booked the hotel looked very grand on the web site. When we arrived the hotel was nice, however, looked a bit tired. We were given a suite and a double room. The double room was in the back of the hotel two floors up. We asked a swap and were given a room on the first floor. This was comfortable but a little small. Room was clean, but, could have done with a makeover. The suite was large, however, we had to pull the housekeeper back as the attention to detail was lacking. Rooms very quite and hot. Breakfast was nice, however, the coffee, toast, and cereals were all in the same area and caused a long delay in making toast etc. it would have been better to have a separate area for toast etc. hot food very nice. On the whole it was a nice hotel, however, can be doing with some tlc.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed here for one night after walking out on the hotel we were supposed to stay in..
Very warm welcome, the rooms are clean and light with good views. The bonus was having use of the indoor and outdoor pools, spa, sauna, and gym.
Very nice staff, good breakfast, would stay again.

Room Tip: A few stairs and hotel on a hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournehallhoteliow, Manager at Bourne Hall Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely response, we are glad you enjoyed your stay here and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

An average b&b type hotel - not quite what we expected when paying over £120 a night for a standard room. Plus points were the view, peaceful location, indoor pool/hot tub and cleanliness of hotel room. Breakfast was also good. However, overall the hotel was verging on shabby (rather than just tired as some reviewers have mentioned). Scuff marks on the bedroom walls and doors, overgrown gardens and almost derelict outdoor pool area (a notice - on 20 June - said that the pool was undergoing post-winter commissioning). The gym consisted of about five pieces of exercise equipment, one of which was out of order. Either an overhaul of the hotel is needed, or an overhaul of prices...

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
863 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
488 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
905 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rylstone Manor Hotel
Rylstone Manor Hotel
#15 of 51 in Shanklin
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourne Hall Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourne Hall Country Hotel

Address: 11 Luccombe Road, Shanklin PO37 6RR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range: £54 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bourne Hall Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bourne Hall, an elegant Country House, Hotel and restaurant, set in mature grounds in Shanklin, Isle of Wight. Originally built in the late 1860’s, said to be for one of Queen Victoria’s ladies in waiting, the "house" still retains its sense of history whilst providing comfortable accommodation enhanced by its original Victorian features. Uniquely located on an elevated position at the foot of Luccombe Downs, benefits both countryside and coastal Vistas. The Hotel enjoys exquisite views, by day and night, across Sandown and Shanklin Bay, and onwards to Culver Downs. Situated minutes walk south of Shanklin "old village," this 30 bedroom, 3 star hotel offers a range of classic and premier rooms, family rooms and suites, comprehensive leisure & health facilities, and a stylish restaurant. Bourne Hall provides the ideal setting for weekend special breaks or longer stays, private functions, weddings and business meetings/conferences. We take pride in our friendliness and attention to detail and always endeavour to make your experience comfortable and most enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Bourne Hall Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bourne Hall Country Hotel And Restaurant
Bourne Hall Country Shanklin
Bourne Hall Country Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing