We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“no worries when you stay here” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bourne Hall Country Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bourne Hall Country Hotel
Ranked #21 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
273 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“no worries when you stay here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

This was our third visit and each time we had a wonderful timje. the staff are excellent and the facilities great. the views are amazing and to sit on the terrace and look across the bay is a great ending to a busy day exploring the island
Breakfast is cooked to order so nice and fresh and appetising and dinner in the evening means you are more than satisfied because it is so good.
Warning, it is so good you can put on weight

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view or for pure luxury the Lady Osborne Suite. Very unusual
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynden33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournehallhoteliow, General Manager at Bourne Hall Country Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review.

Myself and the staff highly value our repeat guests and it is lovely for me to hear that you enjoyed yet another stay with us.

I hope to see you again soon for another visit.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    69
    38
    15
    6
See reviews for
44
119
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

A lovely looking building from the outside, lots of history, and inside is very nicely appointed, staff very helpful and friendly. The room was amazing, we stayed in the Lady Osborne suite, and it was certainly worth the little extra money. Clean and nicely decorated. The pools are clean, the gardens are beautiful, with a gorgeous view across the sea. I would certainly stay here again. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ads1267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournehallhoteliow, Manager at Bourne Hall Country Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you for your lovely response.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon at the hotel.

Kind Regards
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Runton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed here for the nights of 21st and 22nd August, in a really large room with a four-poster bed. Wonderfully light room, with windows on two sides, and we slept very well. Yes, the hotel is slightly dated, but the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful - emailed me after I'd booked to warn us about possible travel delays going into Portsmouth. Breakfast was great - one of the really positive things about the hotel is that there was a very wide age-range staying, from families with very small children to people even older than us......and the dining room had a very good atmosphere because of this. The hotel guide states that children are expected to be well-behaved and if not, will be asked to leave - and we saw delightful families. The outside pool was a bit too cold for me!

Room Tip: Book one of the four-poster beds.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 27Tibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournehallhoteliow, Manager at Bourne Hall Country Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you for your response, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We would like to thank you for your comments and hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

The hotel is in a brilliant location, only a 2 mins drive to Shanklin village which is lovely. The views from the hotel to Shanklin beach were great too!
The hotel staff were really friendly and helpful. They gave us some great tips on what to see and do! The room was small unfortunately and the beds quite uncomfortable. The restaurant wasn't open for meals, aside from breakfast which was average. The breakfast staff weren't friendly at all but were relatively young. The pool doesn't look as advertised either and wasn't particularly inviting. However saying that, it's a decent enough place to stay for a short trip just don't expect too much. The building itself is really pretty too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rae_lovestravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournehallhoteliow, Manager at Bourne Hall Country Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you for your response.

I would like to apologise for the comments towards the restaurant, that is not something that is usually said about our staff, they have been here for a number of years and a great asset to the company, also in regards to the restaurant not being open through out your stay, we do try our very best to inform any guest booked at the hotel though our website and also in their confirmation emails that it is only open on selected days.

We take any comments very positively and would like to thank you for bringing them to attention

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights - not worth the money we paid - check in & check out easy - reception staff were nice - however on being allocated our room (number 18) over the course of the 3 days we were there, we noticed there were several cobwebs within the room and bathroom (which had the largest cobweb), do not believe that the rooms were hoovered throughout our stay as a piece of cotton from a bath towel remained on the floor - the extractor fan in the bathroom didn't not work - we asked for a "do not disturb" room sign from the room cleaner, who said she would get one & it never appeared. No staff wore "name" badges so could not identify anyone. The room obviously had had a leak from the room above and the stain inside the cupboard and also the mould dew still evident- had not been treated. Previous guests had clearly placed their hot drinks onto the polished furniture which left lots of "white ring marks" on the furniture - if only the hotel had given the rooms drinks mats! There were blankets on the bed - which is out of date - and unhygienic as we do not believe these are "laundered" after each stay - a big no no. The room (room 18) need to be insulated as the room above us sounded like a herd of elephants each time they were in the room and most nights they came back in after 1.30am!!!!! Waking us up. Breakfast service was ok - although the staff needed to keep an eye on the buffet as on more than one morning had to ask for more juice, plates, bread for the toaster etc., and to top it all on the first morning, there was a "hair" in my breakfast when I asked for the restaurant manager was told that they were not in that day - & that " it shouldn't have happened" - correct it shouldn't have happened and I said I wanted to lodge a complaint but heard nothing further. The main staircase do not believe had been hoovered in the 3 days we stayed, they had only "picked up" leaves that had been trodden in as evidence still remained. Outside in the grounds - the "gardener" had abandoned shovels, the trolley and broom which did not move in the three days. Also out in the car park there was empty drink bottles laying around, along with rubbish and yet another shovel - looked like a building site and finally we do not think that guests should be allowed to smoke immediately outside the main reception entrance only for other guests to have to walk through "this". They need to update their website as the "restaurant" for meals in the evening "closed" !!!!!

Room Tip: Wouldn't recommend staying here - the hotel is still staying there is a restaurant in the evenin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed here 4 years ago and were quite disappointed this time. The hotel seems to have lost its character and atmosphere. Our room was not up to the standard of last time it was very small and claustrophobic. Probably why we were supplied with two fans. The bed was hard and uncomfortable. Towels were not changed over the three night stay. A faulty light was reported twice but not repaired.

The breakfast was adequate but food was not replenished quickly. Due to high numbers of guests the waiting staff were exhausted and looked stressed. The quality of the cooked breakfast was not very good.

Bread for toast was served in the bags and made very soggy toast.

Car parking was a nightmare due to inconsiderate drivers taking up double spaces.

At no time did we see any management intervention or support. Staff seemed to be doing two or three jobs each

Sadly no evening meal available during our stay.

Such a shame but we won't be returning any more.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a superior room but this will cost more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank june t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournehallhoteliow, Manager at Bourne Hall Country Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you for your response, we are upset to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us at Bourne Hall was not enjoyable for you.

with reference to the issues you raised, we would like to thank you for bringing these to our attention. It is always appreciated to have personal feedback from our guests, both good and bad, to enable us to make any improvements you think would benefit the hotel and our guests.

I can confirm that the hotel will be closed for a month in January to undergo necessary maintenance and improvements in all areas of the hotel.

Thank you again for your comments.

Kind Regards
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Stayed here for one night with my Mother,my sister in law and my 13 year old son,and had a great time in this very layed back feel hotel.Staff are friendly and rooms are clean.
Swimming pool and jacuzzi is great and we had a lovely breakfast in the morning.Looking forward to going back next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournehallhoteliow, Manager at Bourne Hall Country Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Guests

I would just like to take the time to thank you for your response!

We are glad you enjoyed you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon in the future.

Kind Regards
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#5 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rylstone Manor Hotel
Rylstone Manor Hotel
#13 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourne Hall Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourne Hall Country Hotel

Property: Bourne Hall Country Hotel
Address: 11 Luccombe Road, Shanklin PO37 6RR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bourne Hall Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bourne Hall, an elegant Country House, Hotel and restaurant, set in mature grounds in Shanklin, Isle of Wight. Originally built in the late 1860’s, said to be for one of Queen Victoria’s ladies in waiting, the "house" still retains its sense of history whilst providing comfortable accommodation enhanced by its original Victorian features. Uniquely located on an elevated position at the foot of Luccombe Downs, benefits both countryside and coastal Vistas. The Hotel enjoys exquisite views, by day and night, across Sandown and Shanklin Bay, and onwards to Culver Downs. Situated minutes walk south of Shanklin "old village," this 30 bedroom, 3 star hotel offers a range of classic and premier rooms, family rooms and suites, comprehensive leisure & health facilities, and a stylish restaurant. Bourne Hall provides the ideal setting for weekend special breaks or longer stays, private functions, weddings and business meetings/conferences. We take pride in our friendliness and attention to detail and always endeavour to make your experience comfortable and most enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bourne Hall Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bourne Hall Country Hotel And Restaurant
Bourne Hall Country Shanklin
Bourne Hall Country Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing