We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bourne Hall Country Hotel
Ranked #20 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

we had a lovely weekend here we booked into lady osbourne suite and you would not be disappointed spa bath. something out of a fairy tale with the spiral stair case leading up to the four poster bed and downstairs in living area a balcony overlooking the garden. we had a lovely hot stone treatment on the Saturday morning a perfect way to start the weekend. The staff were great nothing was to much trouble always on hand and very helpful. swimming pool was alittle bit cold but that was not a problem ..in the evening had a drink in the bar cheaper than some hotels we have stayed at and views across the bay were amazing felt totally chilled out and shame we had to come home but have booked again...Thank you paula ,carol and mark and the team you made us very welcome and a very enjoyable weekend

Room Tip: I would go for a suite you would not be disappointed but I ,am sure you will not be disappointed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinkerbell73593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournehallhoteliow, General Manager at Bourne Hall Country Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely review.

I am extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay and also that you have chosen to return to the hotel.

The Lady Osborne Suite does have that ' wow' factor as it is not what some would call a 'normal' room with its spiral staircase and balcony bedroom and I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed these factors.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    71
    38
    15
    6
See reviews for
45
123
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful time staying at this hotel. The family run team were friendly. Helpful and really put themselves out to make sure we enjoyed our stay. The rooms whether our bedroom or the public rooms were comfortable, spotless and beautifully furnished -probably the most comfortable bed we have experienced in a hotel. The food was lovely, with themed evenings, including entertainment (music, quizzes, victorian feast. Medieval banquet). Care was take around allergies/ dietary needs. A real treat was the chef's own bread. Leisure time was provided for - films in the evening, I had two massages and was only sorry I didn't have time for the reflexology. The indoor pool was clean and large enough, warmer on the second day, but about the right temperature for a good swim. Relaxing in the jacuzzi afterwards, large and well heated, was great. All in all, superb facilities and services! We look forward to returning.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Anny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournehallhoteliow, General Manager at Bourne Hall Country Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your complimentary response.

Both myself and the staff at Bourne Hall Country House Hotel were extremely happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Our main aim at this hotel is to ensure our guests enjoy their holidays to the full.

We look forward to seeing you again and trust you had a safe journey home!

Kind Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Thankyou so much Emma,Carol and Jim for a beautiful two night stay in your hotel. The staff, our premier room the food, the spa facilities were just fantastic. Everything was above and beyond our expectation. All the extra touches also. As you know we will be back. Juliette and Jay xx

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Blackwaterarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournehallhoteliow, General Manager at Bourne Hall Country Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely response.

We very much look forward to your return and seeing you both again. It was an absolute pleasure and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay so much before your travels.

Kind Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed hear as a one night break. It's location is brilliant on top of a hill with a view over Sandown and onwards. The room we stayed in was lovely, well furnished and a nice bathroom with bath :) although it did get very hot without any heating on due to pipes running through we guessed. The indoor pool was to cold to get in but the jacuzzi made up for that, fantastic! The staff were lovely and friendly. We only had breakfast with them but that was very yummy. Would recommend to stay hear, we staying in room 4 which is a premier room and had a bay window and wine glasses. We will be back. Close to Shanklin Old Village but walking up a steep hill back and a lovely National Trust walk the other direction. They even had a film playing in a dvd room.

Room Tip: Go for a premier room. We had number 4 and it overlooked the car park but when the windows were shut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournehallhoteliow, General Manager at Bourne Hall Country Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely response. I am really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much.
I apologize if the pool was slightly cold on the day you used it, I will look into the reasons for this and ensure it is back to its usually comfortable temperature.

I look forward to, hopefully, welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future and thank you again for taking the time to leave a response.

Kind Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Wow what a hotel we spent the new year period there the staff went out of their way to make it a happy time the food was excellent in every aspect and the hospitality was second to none
will recommend it to anyone its one of the best English hotels we have stopped at
thank you all for making our stay a so memorable

Room Tip: we did find the rooms a bit warm but then we would moan if they were cold
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graham o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournehallhoteliow, General Manager at Bourne Hall Country Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your lovely response. It was truly a pleasure to have had you in the hotel. All of the staff really enjoyed spending New Years with our wonderful guests and we are really glad to hear that your New Year was made so memorable.

I hope to welcome you to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We had just 3 days in England from Australia and decided to stay in this hotel on the Isle of Wight. It was a welcoming and comfortable hotel. The building is impressive with a lovely gravelled entrance flanked by an eagle on each side of the gateway column. It is set in a rural and quiet road with easy walking access to the old town of Shanklin (650 metres). The mature gardens are peaceful and the country house retains its historic charm with a spacious feel and friendly staff who were very helpful. There is free parking and free wifi.
Check in was smooth and we were given a lovely room at the front with a huge bay window and glorious views of the bay and Shanklin. It was called a Premier ensuite room but felt much grander. There was an entrance area, a very large bedroom with a four poster sleigh bed, a chaise lounge and chairs and a lovely big bathroom with full bath. Everything was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Servicing of our room was excellent.
Breakfast was in the dining room/restaurant and was a buffet. The decor in the hotel is very good with wide corridors, tables and lamps in good positions and great paintings on the walls. The guest lounge and bar are very comfortable, with a good array of chesterfield couches and chairs. The hotel has an indoor and outdoor pool. The outdoor pool is set in the mature gardens and catches the sun.
On most days we had great walks straight from the hotel entrance. One particular day we turned right out of the hotel entrance and headed along the picturesque, tree - lined Luccombe Road. After about 500 metres we were in Luccombe where we walked along Ash Grove and round to join the coastal path to Ventnor. We had glorious views of Luccombe Bay and Steel Bay as we walked. The path was very good and easy to manage. We finally arrived in Ventnor and caught a bus back. It's about 6.5k or 4 mile. On yet another day we turned left out of the hotel grounds and walked downhill on Luccombe Road and turned right into Popham Rd and on along the sea front to Shanklin Chine - a natural coastal gully or ravine now with steps and paths and a beautiful array of plants from many places around the World. There are waterfalls and a stream and an historic centre. We were particularly interested in the WWII use of the Chine as a training place (assault course) for Commandos and it was where we also learned about operation PLUTO and the undersea pipeline to carry fuel to Cherbourg for the war. It is a magical spot and comfortable walking distance from the hotel, about 800 metres.
We would like to thank the staff at the Bourne Hall Country Hotel for assisting us with our visit and making it a memorable time.

Room Tip: Room with a sea view and bay windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loutro12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournehallhoteliow, General Manager at Bourne Hall Country Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review. It is a real pleasure to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and would liked to have spent longer with us. The staff and management at Bourne Hall pride ourselves on ensuring that guests enjoy their stay with us and we work to hard to try and fulfill each individual guests needs and requirements. As you are keen walkers we are glad that you also found our location to be great for you to enjoy the wonderful nature walks the Island has to offer!

Thank you again for your lovely review and I hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Our stay was for 4 nights, our room was large as was the bathroom, very clean and the beds were so comfortable we didn't want to get up. The breakfast and also the dinners were wonderful and varied, the Chef is to be congratulated. The staff really make you feel at home and nothing is too much trouble. On the down side I would agree with another reviewer in that the outside could do with a little TLC as this is the first thing you see in any hotel. The inside could not be faulted, with new carpets, furniture and decoration but everything costs money these days, so something has to be left 'til you can afford it! A really wonderful few days away with startling scenery to boot all around. The weather was kind for November as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MallinTilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournehallhoteliow, General Manager at Bourne Hall Country Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely remarks.

Firstly, I will pass your kind comments onto our chef as he is always happy to hear that our guests enjoy his food. As you most likely found out during your stay, he cooks all food fresh and to order so I am glad you enjoyed your meals, both breakfast and dinner.

Your comment with reference to the outside is greatly appreciated as we welcome all comments to help us improve where possible. Unfortunately, this time of year our gardens to take and slight 'hit' with the weather. We have a lot of trees surrounding the hotel, and although beautiful, it is a little nightmare to keep the garden free of leaves and debris falling from them. In January we are closed for a month and the garden will be given a good 'spring clean' and be spruced up ready for the nicer, and lets hope, warmer months!

On the other hand, I am glad you like our decoration inside the building. The beautifully crafted older style furniture in the hotel is something you don't see often and it is always lovely to receive comments about these pieces.

Thank you again for your lovely review and I hope to possibly see you again.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rylstone Manor Hotel
Rylstone Manor Hotel
#15 of 52 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourne Hall Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourne Hall Country Hotel

Property: Bourne Hall Country Hotel
Address: 11 Luccombe Road, Shanklin PO37 6RR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bourne Hall Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bourne Hall, an elegant Country House, Hotel and restaurant, set in mature grounds in Shanklin, Isle of Wight. Originally built in the late 1860’s, said to be for one of Queen Victoria’s ladies in waiting, the "house" still retains its sense of history whilst providing comfortable accommodation enhanced by its original Victorian features. Uniquely located on an elevated position at the foot of Luccombe Downs, benefits both countryside and coastal Vistas. The Hotel enjoys exquisite views, by day and night, across Sandown and Shanklin Bay, and onwards to Culver Downs. Situated minutes walk south of Shanklin "old village," this 30 bedroom, 3 star hotel offers a range of classic and premier rooms, family rooms and suites, comprehensive leisure & health facilities, and a stylish restaurant. Bourne Hall provides the ideal setting for weekend special breaks or longer stays, private functions, weddings and business meetings/conferences. We take pride in our friendliness and attention to detail and always endeavour to make your experience comfortable and most enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bourne Hall Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bourne Hall Country Hotel And Restaurant
Bourne Hall Country Shanklin
Bourne Hall Country Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing