We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Misleading promotion of hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bourne Hall Country Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bourne Hall Country Hotel
Ranked #20 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Misleading promotion of hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2009

When we arrived we realised that the 'photo' generally used to publicise Bourne Hall Country Hotel in Shanklin online was in fact a (rather flattering) painting.

We found the hotel dated and in need of refurbishment. Our room was old fashioned, dark and more like a b&b. Although promised a 'garden view' the view from our room was of a slate roof - nothing more. The bathroom was old and pretty grotty with the bath panel coming away, fittings and grouting old and dirty.

Whilst some of the staff there were really friendly, the reception we got on arrival was gruff.

The main areas of the hotel again were old fashioned and smelt musty and of air freshener which was off putting. The restaurant where we ate breakfast was dark, chinzy and the views were only seen through a couple of windows.

The promotional blurb mentioned 3 acres of gardens, but we discovered these were mainly untended srcubland, or used for out buildings. Although there was an indoor and outdoor swimming pool, the facilties around them again felt not very well looked after and we didn't fancy using them.

The location was good for walking into Shanklin Old Town though. It was very peaceful too. The older residents in the hotel seemed to like it there. We just felt disappointed that the hotel itself didn't live up to the way it's marketed, and we didn't find it was a place we could really relax and unwind.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redcat78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    69
    38
    15
    6
See reviews for
44
119
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2009

We booked for our wedding anniversary so anted sometin extra special, we paid nearly £200 for a room so expected quality, Wen we arrived we were alarmed to see tat most of te 3 acres was missing ? The room was poorly kept with split sealant around te bath, not a bath sheet in sight. Poor decoration. The bed was very old and uncomfortable with BLANKETS. We had stepped back to the 70's. The tv was broken, the shower dribbled hot water. The swimming pool (outside) was dirty that day and the explanation of the indoor pool and amenities was misleading. The food was mediocre with evidently cheap ingredients. Although the staff were vey very pleasant the place was a disappointing and it was annoying as this was our anniversary. We should have gone with a hilton or marriot for these prices. Shame really.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PortsmouthRhonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournehallhoteliow, Owner at Bourne Hall Country Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2009
We sincerely regret that your stay did not meet your expectations as we meet all and exceed many of the 3 star requirements and standards at Bourne Hall. Guests also enjoy a very high level of service. The room rate for a standard double room in August is £120.00 per room per night. The hotel is set in 3 acres of grounds which also includes the grounds and the ground the hotel buildings actually rest upon. Thank you for your comments with regard to bath sheets and we are pleased to confirm that we were already in the process of contracting our laundry to supply bath sheets in all rooms. We will additionally be providing bath robes and slippers again in all rooms in the near future. The pools and pool areas are checked regularly throughout the day for temperature, cleanliness, pH etc and records maintained accordingly. We are sorry you considered the outdoor pool dirty. We are not sure what is meant by “the explanation of the indoor pool and amenities was misleading” as our website simply states that the leisure facilities include an indoor heated pool, an outdoor pool (main season only), Jacuzzi and sauna which they do. We do not state that the sauna is a brand new “far” infrared sauna and that there is additionally a mini gym comprising 5 pieces of equipment. The facilities may therefore be understated. A guest did report a broken television in August which was replaced by a brand new television within an hour. The mattresses in the hotel are all less than 5 years old and are all of a good quality with a high spring count. We do however totally understand each guest may have a different preference of mattress firmness. The majority of our guests do prefer sheets and blankets however a quantity of duvets are available on request. With regard to the dribbling shower, had this been reported during the guests stay some immediate action could have been taken. We are not sure what element of the food is been referred to as “mediocre with cheap ingredients” and we cannot confirm whether the guests dined in the evening. The food at Bourne Hall is one of the most highly commented on aspects of a guests stay. We use carefully selected suppliers, use quality seasonal produce and locally from the Island whenever possible. The four course table d’hote menu changes daily, and a representative copy of the daily menu is detailed on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2009

We stayed for two nights booked at the last minute. The first room we were offered was dark and unappealing. Fortunately for us some other guests had had to leave early so we were able to get a large room with a sea view. The view was lovely and the position of the hotel is great, with beautiful gardens. The staff were also charming. But - and it's quite a big but - some of the furniture was shabby, the mattress was hard and the bathroom was a bit of a disaster. The shower didn't work properly, the radiator valve came off in my hand, I could barely reach the light pull (about 6 ft off the ground) , the basin taps needed replacing and the floor needed a good scrub. We did complain (about the valve and taps) but I was too embarrassed to offer the whole list - the valve was then repaired. It just looks like a hotel that could do with a critical eye and some investment to bring the bedrooms up to the standard of the location. It's not enough to put nice bed covers and curtains in. It's not a cheap place to stay and I'm afraid these days people expect more for their money.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneBerkhamsted_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournehallhoteliow, owner at Bourne Hall Country Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2010
Thank you for your comments. The shower in this particular room is fully functional. The guest complained of the lack of hot water shortly after arrival and the owner immediately checked situation and found this not to be the case. Hot water was available and the shower needed to be run slightly longer for the hot water to reach the bathroom from the tank.

The room has been partially refurbished to date with a new bedspread, new curtains & pelmet, new carpet, new sofa bed/settee, new flat screen television and the bathroom decorated. The room is scheduled for a new bathroom in the spring to include either a roll-top or corner bath and new floor tiles (which are clean). The mattresses in the hotel are all less than 5 years old and are all of a good quality with a high spring count. We do however totally understand each guest may have a different preference of mattress firmness.

The owners have spent a huge investment and almost two years upgrading and renovating the property including the rooms, the public areas and the leisure complex. The hotel is clean and immaculately tidy throughout and is of a high 3 star standard per a recent annual hotel inspection, and boats a 5 star food hygiene accolade.

The tariff at Bourne Hall is seasonal and the reviewer did stay during peak season which must be taken into consideration when appraising value for money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

We booked our daughter's wedding at the hotel and had the wedding reception there on Saturday 18th July 2009. We found the owners very accomodating when planning our daughters wedding reception over the last year. On the day all our requirements were surpassed, the food was outstanding both the wedding breakfast and the evening buffet. Having myself been a chef for over 40 years working in some of the best hotels in London and on the Isle of Wight, I found the service was excellent and every request was met with a smile by the friendly and welcoming staff at the hotel. The hotel catered for all our needs and all 120 day guests commented on the fantastic location, service, food and hospitality they received. The rooms were clean, modern, spacious and one of our guests who is in a wheelchair was catered for without fuss. The facilities in the hotel are outstanding, the wedding guests were able to use the swimming pool, spa, gym and beauty room on the morning of the wedding. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel whole heartedly and we will definately consider using this venue again for future family occassions.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drabblesiow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isle of wight, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

We had our wedding reception at Bourne Hall Country Hotel on Saturday 18th July. We had a fantastic day and the owners and staff at Bourne Hall couldn't of done any more for us, everything we asked for was done and more, nothing was too much for them to do. They worked extremely hard to ensure our day was perfect and went without a hitch. The staff are polite and friendly, the food is fantastic and caters for everyone and all food and dietry requirements, the hotel and facilities are clean and the rooms are modern and the bridal suite (The Lady Osborne Suite) is amazing. We held our wedding in the marquee which provided a magical reception venue for 120 guests. The hotel has lots of fantastic facilities within its grounds which are all modern and clean.The hotel is set in a fantastic location with amazing views of the bay. We will definately be visiting the hotel again and are already planning on spending our first wedding anniversary at the hotel.I recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a venue for a wedding or special occassion but also to anyone who is looking for a hotel for a relaxing holiday on the Isle of Wight. The owners and the staff will make your stay enjoyable and relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smudgeriow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2009

From our greeting to our departure, this lovely family run hotel makes each of its visitor's feel welcome and at home.
The evening meal and breakfast - superb cuisine. Delicious and well presented.
A lovely break away which was much appreciated.
Thank you so much for making us so welcome.
Gary and Vicky Pugin, Surrey, England. (ex South Africa)

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyIreneAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2009

What a lovely hotel - it's one of Shanklin's finest and is a real gem. The hotel is situated in a prime location - not too far out and not too close either. The grounds are lovely, and the rooms are really comfortable and it makes for a very relaxing stay.

The staff were great, and really looked after us (all 25 of us) in advance and throughout our trip. I'd highly recommend this hotel, and urge anyone planning a visit to Shanklin to stay at the Bourne Hall Hotel - it's perfect.

Thanks again.

Rowena xxx

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellir020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
2.4 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourne Hall Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourne Hall Country Hotel

Property: Bourne Hall Country Hotel
Address: 11 Luccombe Road, Shanklin PO37 6RR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bourne Hall Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bourne Hall, an elegant Country House, Hotel and restaurant, set in mature grounds in Shanklin, Isle of Wight. Originally built in the late 1860’s, said to be for one of Queen Victoria’s ladies in waiting, the "house" still retains its sense of history whilst providing comfortable accommodation enhanced by its original Victorian features. Uniquely located on an elevated position at the foot of Luccombe Downs, benefits both countryside and coastal Vistas. The Hotel enjoys exquisite views, by day and night, across Sandown and Shanklin Bay, and onwards to Culver Downs. Situated minutes walk south of Shanklin "old village," this 30 bedroom, 3 star hotel offers a range of classic and premier rooms, family rooms and suites, comprehensive leisure & health facilities, and a stylish restaurant. Bourne Hall provides the ideal setting for weekend special breaks or longer stays, private functions, weddings and business meetings/conferences. We take pride in our friendliness and attention to detail and always endeavour to make your experience comfortable and most enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bourne Hall Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bourne Hall Country Hotel And Restaurant
Bourne Hall Country Shanklin
Bourne Hall Country Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing