We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Island, Great Resort, Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bourne Hall Country Hotel
Ranked #23 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Uppingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Island, Great Resort, Great Hotel”
Reviewed 24 September 2010

We visited this hotel in September. We booked the half board rate which proved to be excellent value. Freshly cooked breakfast and a great four course meal in the evenings (too much for us but we tried manfully to accomodate it). we founfd the hotel in a convenient position only 10mins walk from the lovely resort of shanklin. this was uphill on the way back but it helped work off the dinners.
The standard room (with sea view) was fit for purpose and the hotel was very cleanWe found ALL the staff to be helpful and friendly. All in all a lovely hotel in a lovely resort. This was our first trip to the IoW lots to see and we would not hesitate to to return to the island and this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mottram23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    75
    40
    17
    7
See reviews for
47
132
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sitges, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2010

My partner & I stayed for 3 nights in the Duchess Suite ( Room 7/8 ) We booked a package that included breakfast and evening meal. For the price, the suite was disappointing. Very strange layout with a rather basic bathroom between sitting room and bedroom. For this reason, the wardrobe was difficult to access. The bathroom fittings could not be more cheap of basic. Nothing matched and the wooden towel rail could have come from a pound shop. Very ugly plumbing completely on view at the rear of the wash hand basin. Not what you would have expected from a 'premium' suite. There was a feeling that the money had run out during the renovations.

The breakfasts and dinners were good value if booked as part of the package ( discounted by 50% ) and the wine reasonably priced. Overall the place had rather a tired feel to it, although in fairness we were very unlucky with the weather.

The location is just about the highest in Shanklin, but no mention is made of this in the brochure. Nevertheless, you do have nice views and it is peaceful and quiet. You really do need a car if you stay.

Finally, WiFi was not available, but a cabled connection was available in the lounge

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry_Martin1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, UK
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We stayed for seven nights in August 2010 in Room 15 (a Classic Room) – avoid this room if at all possible (see below).

A bit tired in places. Downstairs is quite well presented - the lounge has plush leather chairs.

On arrival, we asked for afternoon tea (as advertised in the brochure and main board at the entrance of the hotel), but there were no scones or cake. As an alternative we had ham sandwiches – these were very poor, one thin slice of ham – fortunately we were not charged for them.

As mentioned in a previous review, if you reserve a daily newspaper, the paper is in reception. On our first morning we went for the newspaper at 0730; however, the hotel was deserted - reception was deserted and no sign of any newspapers – not much use if you want to read your paper with a coffee in your room.

On the first night we went to the bar at 8pm - no-one behind the bar, so we rang the bell-push - no response after repeated pushing. So we went in search of staff – reception was closed (the shutter was down). Eventually we found someone in the restaurant. They informed us that the bell rang in reception, which was no good because reception was closed.

The hotel offers a film each night. This is basically a DVD player plus big screen display in the cellar, where it was cold and damp, but they did provide a heater. On the first night, we were the only ones there. So it may be an idea to bring your own DVDs. When we finished watching we noticed the floor was flooded. (It had rained heavily in the afternoon and evening). We reported this to the receptionist, who didn't seem to be too concerned. Indeed the “cinema” was still open the following morning – but with water all over the floor. (It was subsequently closed and remained closed the remainder of the week.)

The hotel is ten minutes’ walk from Shanklin Village – but it is uphill on the way back – good for working off the calories.

Breakfast was good - freshly cooked to order. Although the coffee was instant. For a 3-star hotel with obvious pretentions of grander things, then fresh brewed coffee should not be difficult. Indeed, we noticed Cona Coffee machines behind the bar in the restaurant - so why weren’t any being used? Breakfast was also spoiled by commercial radio being played over the speakers - again a 3-star establishment should not have this - musak would be marginally better but only marginally!

There was no Al a Carte Menu as advertised on the web-site. It transpired that to eat in the restaurant required a booking by 2pm. We usually left the hotel at 9:30-ish for a day’s sight-seeing and the evening menu was not on display. When we arrived back (usually after 4pm) the menu was on display, but we couldn’t book - not conducive to encouraging guests to eat in the restaurant.

We did actually book for an evening meal on our last night. It was disappointing. The tarts looked bought and the lamb shank did not fall off the bone, as usually is the case. And yet again there was no proper coffee - a bit much to ask £2.50 for coffee & mints. (When we got back we checked the hotel’s web-site and one of the sample menus specifically mentions cafetiere coffee – mind you that was at £3.50 – so £1 extra for proper coffee!) The only good point was that the background music was lower and did not have a DJ spouting drivel!

So, our recommendation would be to go to Shanklin for evening meals – we tried (and recommend): Pendletons (good tasty simple food & proper coffee); Morgans (excellent fish and chips); Purple Mango (reasonable Indian food); Siam Pearl (nice Thai food).

The hotel staff were helpful in booking tickets for Shanklin Theatre.

Notes on the room:
The room was cold and felt damp (this was in August) and had a musty smell to it. Probably because it had three outside walls – we were told the heating wasn’t turned on in the summer – however, the hotel did provide a heater, as we had complained that we were cold. (One night the hotel heating was turned on – but went off the next night.)

The room had a guest house feel to it. The fittings feel as though economics were the prime consideration and the furniture was a mishmash of several designs, for example the room had two ceiling lights - but with different designs (one antique-style and one modern)

Whilst there is plenty of storage space the sliding louvered wardrobe doors were a bit stiff & came off the runners easily. Also there were sliding drawers but these were blocked by the w/robe doors. The rail had been painted so that the hangers did not slide at all.

One bed had a bedside lamp and a clock radio - but only one socket - so you could have either a lamp or the clock – not both. Fortunately we always travel with an alarm clock.

No safe - every hotel should provide an individual safe.

The bathroom was clean and the shower was one of the best hotel showers we have experienced – it was powerful and there was plenty of (virtually instantaneously) hot water - the downside is that there is no extractor fan - so everything in the bathroom gets steamed up. The free toiletries are in sachets and difficult to open, if you don’t have scissors or strong teeth. The towels were on the thin side.

The general feeling we had was that this could be a good hotel, but severely let down by many minor points that could be so easily fixed.

Would we stay again: no.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GOMCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

The Bourne Hall Hotel is just outside Shanklin Old Town and is excellent. The owners and staff were excellent. The rooms were all of a good size and the service was very good, despite the tardines of teenage daughters, boyfriend and friend.
They really couldn't do enough for us, all teh facilities are there, indoor and outdoor swimming pool, sauna, gym, smal cinema room and a pool table that kept the girls entertained until late at night.
There is a 10 minute walk to the restaurants and eateries in the twon (which proved too much sometimes for the teenagers, whgo complained if we wouldn't drive. The views are tremendous, though the walk to the beach is a test, due to 159 steps to the seafront.
I really would recommend this hotel to a mix of all ages.
There were cyclists, pensioners, teenagers, couples - and the the ambience of the hotel suited all.
The team and owners were brilliant.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimWUK13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Great hotel, great location, superb staff and great atmosphere. Owner is hands on at all times and was a thoroughly enjoyable 17nights. Would highly recommend thgis hotel to anybody. Way above 3* rating in my opinion

Mike A

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeAlexLMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

We stayed in a premiere room, which was quite traditionally dressed in peaches and pinks, and wasn't quite as premier as we'd hoped; though the view of the sea was lovely. The hotel is quite conservatively decorated, and the dining room in particular was quite tired and could do with freshening up. The dinner was very tasty, but the breakfast wasn't great - the food wasn't good quality and they served us a jug of instant coffee, which was pretty grim. Plus they played 80s ballad radio into the dining room rather loudly. However, the staff were all lovely and chatty and very helpful. Loved the pool and jacuzzi (though again the leisure complex needed a refurb). We did enjoy our stay but expected it to be more elegant and stylish as their website promised.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyBabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2010

I've used tripadvisor for ages and whenever I see one negative amongst a sea of positives I always think they are just one of lifes moaners. But although I am about to be slightly critical I always try to see the good in everything and be honest at the same time so here goes....

Pleasant looking building with lovely patio and swimming pool area on a hill above Shanklin village.
The staff were without exception always very friendly and curteous.
The food was very very good, not just the breakfast but we ate in the restaurant and I could recommend it.
The lounge was reasonable but there were brown stains on the ceiling. Little signs of 'tiredness' generally around the place.
We booked 2 premier rooms and a suite for our elderly parents. One of the premier rooms was nice (No 2), the other (No 5) was just ok, nowhere near as luxurious as I was expecting although the view of the bay was gorgeous.
The mattress was rock hard, it didn't feel like quality to me and the hospitality tray was a tatty affair. The room should have had a mini-fridge and complimentary bottled water, neither of which were there. I mentioned this to reception straight away and she looked puzzled. We went out for an explore and when I came back asked again and was told the fridge was broken and they hadn't got any spare. Still the water wasn't provided.
Next day we were given one bottle of water.
The suite - the bedroom was nice but tiny but the layout of the suite was awful - a narrow winding corridor with a large wardrobe in the way before doing a left and a right to reach the bathroom and sitting area which was of an ok size. There was paint peeling off the walls in the bathroom. This too should have had a mini-fridge and water but didn't for the entire stay. Seems like I only got my water because I asked and then not on every day we were there.
Another 'little' thing - we requested newspapers and were expecting them to be outside our door to go with our pre-breakfast cuppa. Mid morning, after having breakfast I went to enquire where they were and they were sitting on reception for us to collect! At no time were we told of this procedure - we've never had to do that in any other hotel we've ever stayed in. I thought it was a strange idea.

The website promised what they couldn't deliver and there was no excuse in my opinion. When I asked on the first day for the missing water I shouldn't have had to ask again. And new fridges should have been provided as soon as they realised the old ones weren't working. It's not good enough to think that we wouldn't care and could be fobbed off, we booked those rooms on the basis of the website information.

All in all it looks as if it could do with a bit of money spending on it, provide their guests with more luxurious beds and don't claim to provide things on the website that just aren't there, but I suppose that is why it's only a 3* at the end of the day.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunsetginandtonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
837 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#36 of 52 in Shanklin
47 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
833 reviews
2.4 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourne Hall Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourne Hall Country Hotel

Property: Bourne Hall Country Hotel
Address: 11 Luccombe Road, Shanklin PO37 6RR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bourne Hall Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bourne Hall, an elegant Country House, Hotel and restaurant, set in mature grounds in Shanklin, Isle of Wight. Originally built in the late 1860’s, said to be for one of Queen Victoria’s ladies in waiting, the "house" still retains its sense of history whilst providing comfortable accommodation enhanced by its original Victorian features. Uniquely located on an elevated position at the foot of Luccombe Downs, benefits both countryside and coastal Vistas. The Hotel enjoys exquisite views, by day and night, across Sandown and Shanklin Bay, and onwards to Culver Downs. Situated minutes walk south of Shanklin "old village," this 30 bedroom, 3 star hotel offers a range of classic and premier rooms, family rooms and suites, comprehensive leisure & health facilities, and a stylish restaurant. Bourne Hall provides the ideal setting for weekend special breaks or longer stays, private functions, weddings and business meetings/conferences. We take pride in our friendliness and attention to detail and always endeavour to make your experience comfortable and most enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bourne Hall Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bourne Hall Country Hotel And Restaurant
Bourne Hall Country Shanklin
Bourne Hall Country Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing