We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay at Luccombe Villa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Luccombe Villa Holiday Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely stay at Luccombe Villa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Thank you to Fiona and Miles for a lovely warm welcome, and for dealing with a minor issue we had very promptly with no fuss. We loved our stay in Cherry Tops which was spacious and comfy, with clean beds and good sized bedrooms. The kitchen had everything we needed to prepare family meals although there were many pubs and restaurants within a 5 to 10 minute walk. Amenity room was well stocked with DVDs, games and books and the washing machine (available for a £2 charge per load) was of good quality. The entrance to the car park is a little tight but the garden and pool were lovely and the BBQ in the communal garden was a nice touch. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    22
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
61
42
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

Stayed in The Den from 13th to 20th April. Very comfortable, a couple of minor issues which were dealt with very quickly. Thank you to Miles and Fiona for making us feel so welcome. Accommodation was very comfortable overall. Sofa bed in the lounge wasn't the most comfortable to sit on, no idea what it would be like to sleep on. Lovely location, very quiet, easy walking distance to Shanklin Village. Close to the beach, via steps. The coastal path to Ventnor and lunch a The Spyglass is a must! .... Early morning cycle rides along the sea front from Shanklin to Yaverland and back, such a great way to start the day. Would recommend Luccombe Villas and would certainly stay again, hopefully very soon! :D.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

Apartments clean and comfortable. Owners Fiona and Miles very helpful and really nice people. Laundry room on site a great bonus. Beds comfortable and clean. Good size rooms. Downside very poor Wifi connection, was lucky to get connected for ten minutes at a time, also very narrow access paths from the house to the street.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Burrow for a few days, the bathroom is excellent with a walk in shower. Bit dark wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Mickntwink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

We stayed at Luccombe Villa on our very first visit to Isle of Wight. It is self-catering accommodation just next to the famous Shanklin Chine. Step outside the villa into the a lovely garden that offers amazing sea views. Walk down the steps to beautiful sand beach where you can certainly enjoy family time away from crowd.

The cottages in the old village are worth capturing on camera. Supermarkets offer some options for budget traveller. Nearby attractions (Ventnor, Sandown) are well connected by bus (15-30 mins ride).

Overall, in my view, this is an ideal location for anyone visiting Isle of Wight and comes at very reasonable price. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to all. In fact, I loved this so much that I requested TripAdvisor to list this location when I couldn't find it here!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpatil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.0 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#1 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luccombe Villa Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luccombe Villa Holiday Apartments

Property: Luccombe Villa Holiday Apartments
Address: 9 Popham Road, Shanklin PO37 6RF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Luccombe Villa Holiday Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our self catering holiday apartments occupy a wonderful, quiet position just a short stroll from Shanklin Chine, Rylstone Gardens, Shanklin Old Village and Appley Steps which lead down to Shanklin's sandy beaches and waterfront pubs. The nine self-catering holiday apartments in Shanklin range in size from one to three bedrooms. They are spacious, well equipped and all benefit from free wireless internet access. Some apartments have private outside areas and two of these are 'dog friendly'. All guests can enjoy the outdoor swimming pool (heated during June, July and August) set in Luccombe Villa's beautiful, secluded garden. Luccombe Villa lies on the Island's famous Coastal Path which you can follow to Bonchurch, Ventnor and, finally, to the south tip of the Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Luccombe Villa Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luccombe Villa Holiday Apartments Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing