We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Crow's Nest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Luccombe Villa Holiday Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Crow's Nest”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Luccombe Villa is a lovely house in one of the best locations in Shanklin, close to the old village, beach, shops and restaurants.
The heated pool and relaxing garden were an added bonus and my husband and I enjoyed a very nice week there.
Fiona and Miles were excellent, extremely helpful and accommodating in rearranging our journey home when we had some difficulties.
We suggested some improvements to the Crow's Nest, which they have taken on board.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lorna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    25
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
79
45
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We have stayed at Luccombe Villa for four consecutive years in three different apartments: Cherry Tops the first time, then The Pines twice and most recently Two Hoots (since we did not need the third bedroom this year).

All three apartments have been equipped to a very high standard and have been clean and tidy on arrival. There is plenty of living space and the showers work well (not something we have always found in holiday lets). Having holidayed in self-catering accommodation for more than 20 years, I can say that Luccombe Villa has been the most comfortable and well-equipped place we have stayed. So good to have a proper fridge-freezer each time so we could stock up and the indoor drying racks and the outdoor washing line are really useful too for wet swimming kit and occasional washing.

The pool is lovely and set in a guests' garden with a barbecue that we have never tried but it looks good.

Fiona and Miles have always been very welcoming and helpful if we have needed anything.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hill_Family300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This was our second and probably one of many to come stays at Luccombe Villa. The accommodation is great, everything you need is provided and the swimming pool area just adds to the experience. Fiona and Miles are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble for them. We had a fantastic holiday!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed in The Pines last year which was excellent but this year we booking late and only needed a two bedroom apartment so chose Luccombe View, which was luckily still available. Fiona was very helpful when booking the apartment (a week before the booking), especially as we weren't arriving until the Sunday. Just like The Pines, Luccombe View is very spacious, everything was clean and tidy and the beds were comfy too. The views from the Lounge/Dining Area were good too, being able to catch glimpses of the sea and passing ships. The pool area is excellent and a great way to unwind, the icing on the cake for these apartments. The few times we have met Fiona and Miles they have been very friendly. Luccombe Villa is ideally situated for the Town, Chine and Beach (via Appley steps just round the corner for those who don't have a problem with steps). I have visited the Isle of Wight many times with my family and can safely say that Luccombe Villa is the best place I have stayed in both in terms of facilities and location. I won't be looking anywhere else for future visits, which there will be, as the Island is a great place to visit and Luccombe Villa is the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hampshirehog53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We really enjoyed our holiday at Luccombe Villa everything we needed was supplied and if we needed any help nothing was too much trouble. The location is perfect and the pool was the icing on the cake!! It is a lovely Island with plenty to do and see. Luccombe Villa comes highly recommended thanks once again Fiona and Miles.
Janis and John Evans

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2014

First visit to Isle of Wight and lucky to get a place to stay at short notice. Lovely clean and well supplied with all we needed. Fiona made made us feel very welcome when we arrived and although we didnt need any help we felt nothing would be a bother.
Excellent location in a lovely town.
Would definitely stay there again and cannot recommend Luccombe Villa enough.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This was my second stay at Luccombe Villa. Last year we stayed in the Burrow which was perfectly adequate for our needs but on my return this time I needed two bedrooms and two bathrooms as I was taking my Father.

It was great to go back as I knew what I was getting and really I can't praise Luccombe Villa and Fiona and Miles enough as they really seem to have thought out everything from spotless accommodation with everything that you need for a home from home stay to the location. This time i was particularly impressed with the view which afford glimpses of the se and passing ferries.
Being so close to the village is another great plus point.
The apartment itself is really spacious so it is far more comfortable than a hotel and having two bathrooms was real luxury. We were fortunate with the weather too and so could make use of the lovely garden and pool.
Luccombe Villa is my number one port of call in the IoW. I shall be using it again in the future. Make no mistake.

Room Tip: By booking Luccombe view not only have a great deal of space but also good views of the sea which ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
844 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
725 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#5 of 52 in Shanklin
396 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luccombe Villa Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luccombe Villa Holiday Apartments

Property: Luccombe Villa Holiday Apartments
Address: 9 Popham Road, Shanklin PO37 6RF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luccombe Villa Holiday Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our self catering holiday apartments occupy a wonderful, quiet position just a short stroll from Shanklin Chine, Rylstone Gardens, Shanklin Old Village and Appley Steps which lead down to Shanklin's sandy beaches and waterfront pubs. The nine self-catering holiday apartments in Shanklin range in size from one to three bedrooms. They are spacious, well equipped and all benefit from free wireless internet access. Some apartments have private outside areas and two of these are 'dog friendly'. All guests can enjoy the outdoor swimming pool (heated during June, July and August) set in Luccombe Villa's beautiful, secluded garden. Luccombe Villa lies on the Island's famous Coastal Path which you can follow to Bonchurch, Ventnor and, finally, to the south tip of the Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Luccombe Villa Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luccombe Villa Holiday Apartments Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing