We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bloody Lovely”
Review of Shoreside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shoreside Inn
Ranked #1 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We had a brilliant stay at the Shoreside. Big modern room with views of the sea and beach across the road, lovely breakfast (i recommend the maple and walnut danishes) and Andrew couldn't do enough for us.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gems85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2011

I enjoyed full english breakfasts on the patio lulled by the sound of the waves
5 nights was no- where near long enough I will return very soon. You must eat here the food is the best on the strip I cannot praise this establishment too highly ,,,,,,,,book soon.......before every-one discovers the secret

Room Tip: front rooms are in full view of the sea others are equally comfortable and well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paul176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

I have been to the island many times from a child but this last trip has been the best yet made in no small part by the wonderful Andy and Jo and their splendidly furbished hotel. The rooms were amazing, well proportioned, beautifully decorated and wonderfully appointed. Everything was spotless and the food was good honest fare served with a lot of humour and attention by Andy. My husband one night asked for port which was not available, but the next night had been bought specially by Jo. Nothing was too much trouble and the four nights we stayed there were not enough. The sound of the sea at night gave me the best nights sleep I had had for ages. Room 4 in which we stayed had a private balcony from which we got the best view of the Shanklin Regatta fireworks you could possibly wish for. If you get the chance, please stay here, you will not be disappointed. We will definitely be going back as soon as we can.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have private balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronnieH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

As we got married on the 6th August 2011 I took my new wife on a surprise break for a few days to Shanklin, Isle of Wight and spent WEEKS looking for an appropriate hotel to stay at beforehand.

Then I came accross the Shoreside Inn on Isleofwight.com and booked up last minute.

I'll keep this short...we had a superior top floor room with its own balcony looking right in to the sea. I would say it's quite pricey at £120 a night (£360 for three nights stay) considering my knowledge of the industry as I work in travel. Having said that I don't know Isle of Wight prices having never been and the money was well spent in such a spacious room with seperate drench shower and wc (as it's been converted from two en-suite rooms to one large room). Also the owner Andrew was excellent and arranged a bottle of champagne for us on arrival as newly weds at no extra cost which softened the room cost blow a little. If he keeps up the general service offered throughout our stay we can see this place going far.

Location is right on the beach with rail station 10 mins walk, village 10 mins walk and town 10 mins walk (inc using the cliff lift £1 each way!) Plenty of eateries and bars right on the esplanade next to hotel though.

Great place and would definately go back. There are no negatives but in case Andrew reads this we would suggest a little sofa-side table or stand to put drinks and snacks on and some towel rails in WC area. Just suggestions!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have balconies and a lower floor room has a bath with great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rossub40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

I don't often write reviews, but after a perfect night's stay at the Shoreside Inn, I felt it neccesary to spread the word of this wonderful, newly refurbished hotel!

Shanklin is our favourite Island beach because it's lively and beautiful, yet very civilised. We couldn't have hoped for a better location and our suite had a room with a private balcony right on the seafront.

The room was faultless and a pleasure to stay in. No children are permitted, so we had complete peace and quiet. The food was great for our palate, good honest homemade food which wasn't pretentious, but of excellent quality and well presented. The breakfast, which was included, was equally as satisfying.

All in all, a fabulous stay in a beautiful location, with delicious food, served and looked after by friendly owners, Andy and Jo.

Stay there, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKCheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

From the moment we turned up at the most fabulously located hotel directly opposite the beach and the very warm welcome extended to us by Andy & Jo, we were pretty confident of a special stay.

The rooms have been beautifully and thoughtfully decorated in a minimal, modern and clean style with a great deal of attention to detail. Large and spacious with a sumptuous bed. Super fluffy towels in an amazing bathroom and of course flatscreen tv, tea & coffee facilities and gorgeous sea views. Very little not to like! Loved the little touch of genius to have a
delightful jar of Jelly Babies on the tea tray too!

As for the food, well it was all delicious, home made and beautifully presented. Once again the attention to detail not only came through on the dishes brought out at lunch or breakfast but our party of four felt so genuinely looked after by the owners. We enjoyed two superb breakfasts and one delicious lunch and can honestly say the food was of a very high standard.

We have fallen in love with the Isle of Wight and will definitely be back to stay at The Shoreside Inn again. Well done Andy & Jo - you deserve to be fully booked through the year!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kolicube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

What an amazing place to stay ! Andy and Jo are just the most lovely of hosts, A real gem of a place, we stayed , in suite 5 and had a lovely seaview from the balcony ,The rooms are large , the beds comfy, the best nights sleep i have had in ages, with the sound of the sea in the background, wonderful ! The whole inn is spotlessly clean and redecorated to a very high stanard, i could go on and on, WE WILL BE BACK !

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
4  Thank jaynes4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.4 mi away
Rowborough Hotel
Rowborough Hotel
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
231 reviews
6.8 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
3 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#36 of 51 in Shanklin
55 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
6 mi away
Hermitage Court Farm
Hermitage Court Farm
#1 of 3 in Whitwell
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoreside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreside Inn

Address: 39 Esplanade, Shanklin PO37 6BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range: £103 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shoreside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This adult only boutique B&B is situated on one of the islands most beautiful beaches. After major refurbishment the hotel now offers Eight large spacious rooms all with seating area, king size beds and en suite bath/shower rooms with heated towel rails. All rooms have 32" coloured flat screen TVs with freesat, tea/coffee facilities and stunning views of the English Channel. Two of our rooms have their very own private balcony on the top floor of the hotel. If you struggle with stairs then why not try one of our new rooms, on the ground floor of the hotel with its own private sun terrace? Breakfast is included in your room rate & private car park situated behind the hotel for guests only. *Please note there is no bar or restaurant at The Shoreside B&B, but there is plenty of pubs/restaurants with in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Travel Republic (UK), Book Direct Rooms and Agoda so you can book your Shoreside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoreside Inn Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing