We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a Full English Breakfast”
Review of Shoreside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shoreside Inn
Ranked #3 of 50 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great for a Full English Breakfast”
Reviewed 2 July 2012 via mobile

Only went here for a full English breakfast and it was great. We sat outside on the decking with the view over the sea and had a yummy, great value full English and service with a smile.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
208
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I would highly recommend a stay here to anyone looking for a relaxing holiday. The rooms are excellent, with views over the bay. Service is not notch.

We are planning our next visit and we haven't even left yet!



  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimRowe1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2012

My brother and I stayed at the Shoreside Inn for three nights whilst on the IOW to attend the music festival. From the moment we arrived, we received the best customer service ever from the hosts, Andy and Jo. Nothing was too much trouble - Andy even gave us a black bin bag to place dirty clothing in should we want it washed!!!! (it was a very muddy festival weekend!) and although we didn't take up the kind offer, it was the gesture which spoke volumes. Breakfast was relaxed and the food delicious. We didn't eat in the Shoreside apart from breakfast but the menu looked lovely. We had a twin room with spectacular sea view. Everything was contemporary and immaculate! After long days trawling through mud at the festival, it was a relief to return to somewhere as fabulous as the Shoreside Inn. The refurbishment carried out by Andy and Jo is stunning and they have a hotel they should be very proud of but more than that, their hospitality and warmth makes the Shoreside Inn a place I would love to revisit time and time again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjbreiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

One word awesome...jo and andy were the perfect hosts.
Hotel superb inc service and menu...Rooms out of this world.
Situated on the promenade a perfect location in shanklin and
Parking at rear of hotel.Cant wait too return Paul&Julie Donny

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robinsp02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I would rate the Shoreside as one of the best hotels i have stayed in, the service that Andy and Joe provide is super and very personal, they do everything they can to make your stay the best it can be with out being intrusive. The room was beautiful,the ensuite was amazing and the views were out of this world. Breakfast was excellent and kept us going for most of the day. I would HIGHLY Recommend a stay at the Shoreside.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 4 with a balcony and i would thoughly recommend it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrssdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

On our recent trip to the Isle of Wight, unfortunately we only found the Shoreside Inn on our last day and we were all gutted as I'm not sure we'd have gone anywhere else to eat, drink and be merry.

Firstly I'd like to give a massive 3 cheers for the Customer Service. "Andy" who was front of house was absolutely amazing. A genuine, happy, helpful, not pushy and pleasant guy - who simply could not do enough for you. Yes, of course he wants your money - but we gladly gave it to him, he deserves it!!!

We was at the Shoreside for breakfast and the English Breakfasts (and my vegetarian breakfasts) were fabulous. Not dripping in fat, beautifully cooked and presented and they were certainly not shy with the portions. Major compliments to the chef.

If a full on cooked breakfast wasn't what we wanted, then Andy suggested "how about one of our fresh pastries".... I nearly had both!

All washed down with Latte's and errrmmm a beer! Again a recommendation from Andy to try the Morrelli Beer (sorry if its spelt wrong) - superb, lovely, crisp and a fabulous recommendation.

We sat on the Terrace as it was wonderfully sunny day, we had a beautiful view of the sea, beaches and because of where the Shoreside Inn is position, you can see so much along the Esplande.

Inside the Shoreside it looked very modern, shiny and immaculate. The toilets were also extremely clean and not even a speck of dust in sight!!

Price wise, no-one can quibble - it was not at all expensive. The breakfasts were amazing, we didnt want the drinks to end (but we had to go home) and the service was tremendous.

We all agreed that we'll be returning to The Shoreside Inn, but this time, we'll be taking full advantage of their accommodation!!!!

Enjoy x

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCSNAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2012 via mobile

We had a very enjoyable lunch, great fresh food with excellent service. A pleasant surprise. The mussels were superb.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoreside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreside Inn

Property: Shoreside Inn
Address: 39 Esplanade, Shanklin PO37 6BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Shoreside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This adult only boutique B&B is situated on one of the islands most beautiful beaches. After major refurbishment the hotel now offers Eight large spacious rooms all with seating area, king size beds and en suite bath/shower rooms with heated towel rails. All rooms have 32" coloured flat screen TVs with freesat, tea/coffee facilities and stunning views of the English Channel. Two of our rooms have their very own private balcony on the top floor of the hotel. If you struggle with stairs then why not try one of our new rooms, on the ground floor of the hotel with its own private sun terrace? Breakfast is included in your room rate & private car park situated behind the hotel for guests only. *Please note there is no bar or restaurant at The Shoreside B&B, but there is plenty of pubs/restaurants with in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Shoreside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoreside Inn Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing