We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chilled out almost to the point of inertia.”
Review of Shoreside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shoreside Inn
Ranked #2 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Our busy, stressful lives called out for a haven of calm and thats when we struck lucky with the Shoreside Inn. An unruffled, meticulously clean, modern hotel which proved to be our sanctuary for four days. Any do-able request was granted by Jo and Andy with nothing appearing to be too much trouble.. Despite being very busy, they always spent time getting to know us, making sure we had all our needs met, which were and then some, including the best breakfasts we've ever had. We arrived as frazzled strangers and left as reinvigorated friends.

Room Tip: Choose the room with the roll-top bath for a relaxing spa-like experience, watching the world go by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2012

Like other reviewers, Andy welcomed us in the car park as we drove in, knew who I was from my booking, and offered to take our bags. We were shown the dining/bar area which was contemporary and spotless and this level of cleanliness continued throughout.

Our room was fantastic - very large and lots of room despite having a king size bed. There was a sofa by the bay view window looking out to ocean which was a lovey scene to unwind to after a day of cycling. The bathroom was also large and spotless with a standalone bath and mirrored glass so you can bathe and look out onto the ocean. Towels, shampoos/soaps, tea & coffee and jelly beans were provided in the room.

Breakfast in the morning was plentiful with nothing being too much trouble and regular topups of fruit juice and tea offered. Andy had also remembered from my booking that my girlfriend required a vegetarian breakfast which was a nice touch.

Both Andy and Jo are very enthusiastic about their hotel - and rightly so - they've hit the nail on the head with the boutique personal feel. Despite the price being a little higher than others on the island, I feel it's worth it for the extra indulgence.

Room Tip: Choose Suite 1 if you want to bathe and watch the passers by (optional screen available!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alpriest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We visited the Shoreside Inn for a short break and were not disappointed. Andy and Jo are exceptional hosts and remembered all our likes and dislikes from our previous visit. The room is wonderful and has a balcony overlooking the sea. Despite mixed weather we had a great time and didn't want to come home. If you are lucky enough to stay here make sure you get to see some of Andy's magic tricks!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoltonTaylors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Nothing was too much for Andy and Jo. A great break in a great place. Rooms are a good size and ours had a lovely sea view Room 6 Easy walk into old Shanklin with several nice places to eat All the best to you both.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillEHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We were welcomed by Andrew in the car park, he took our bags from us and took us into the hotel to introduce us to Jo. A nice touch.
My wife and I needed a few days away and we had a fantastic 3 nights at the hotel. Jo & Andrew made everything so easy and the breakfast were wonderful. The tricks were pretty good too.
The rooms were spacious & spotless and the walk in shower was great.
We hope to back - soon!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorwichClive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

What a fab find. I cannot rate this place high enough, we stayed in room with balcony and had fantastic views of the sea and sun rise. You can lay in bed and hear the sea, great place to unwind and relax as Jo and Andy look after you so well you don't have to ask for anything, nothing is too much effort. They are great hosts. The rooms are spotless and have HUGE shower and really modern appliances, breakfast is to die for, have put on pounds!!!Thank you Jo and Andy for making our 2 night break so special, we will be back. Di and Dave

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

From the moment we arrived, when Jo met us in the car park our stay was great. Jo and Andy are very welcoming and obviously very proud of their lovely place in a great location. Shoreside is spotless, our room was spacious with a lovely bathroom and fantastic view. Breakfast was delicious and super speedy. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Etmm30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.3 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
487 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
903 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rowborough Hotel
Rowborough Hotel
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
230 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
412 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoreside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreside Inn

Address: 39 Esplanade, Shanklin PO37 6BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range: £96 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shoreside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This adult only boutique B&B is situated on one of the islands most beautiful beaches. After major refurbishment the hotel now offers Eight large spacious rooms all with seating area, king size beds and en suite bath/shower rooms with heated towel rails. All rooms have 32" coloured flat screen TVs with freesat, tea/coffee facilities and stunning views of the English Channel. Two of our rooms have their very own private balcony on the top floor of the hotel. If you struggle with stairs then why not try one of our new rooms, on the ground floor of the hotel with its own private sun terrace? Breakfast is included in your room rate & private car park situated behind the hotel for guests only. *Please note there is no bar or restaurant at The Shoreside B&B, but there is plenty of pubs/restaurants with in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Shoreside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoreside Inn Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing