We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem...right on the beach....”
Review of Shoreside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shoreside Inn
Ranked #2 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Always have lunch here when we are in Shanklin, the food is excellent and the service is perfect ...nothing is too much trouble ! The hospitality always leaves you wanting more !

We didn't stay because we are always on a day trip but if the rooms from what we saw are as nice as my calamari....enough said !

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Me and my fiancée wanted to go away for a few days but didn't want to go abroad. I looked around at different places on the Isle of Wight before deciding on the shoreside inn. I thought it had a good location and was well priced for where it was. Due to problems with delayed flights and ferry we was late to the b+b, however the owner rang us up to see if everything was ok and what our new arrival time would be. On arrival there was parking around the rear of the building with CCTV and he met us out there. Even though we were very late he stayed up to help us with our bags and gave us a tour.

The room was absolutely amazing. Very spacious and with a good view overlooking the sea and the next seaside town.

The breakfast was delicious. Your order is taken in the morning and they will work around you. The best thing for us though was the freshly cooked Danishes. The tasted amazing and were a real treat in the morning.

The staff were all polite and very interested in what people were going to do that day. They would also recommend places to eat and visit.

Both me and my fiancé loved this b+b and thought it was amazing value for money. We will be recommending it to out friends and family and we will be staying here again. We couldn't thank the staff enough for our enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paddyfeeney89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This was our first time visiting Isle of Wight, but after spending 3 wonderful days at the Shoreside Inn, I'm certain it will not be our last! Everything was fabulous, from the moment we arrived to warm welcomes by both Andy & Jo, until the time we left. Our room was very spacious, clean, and well decorated with sea views. Breakfast was too good really, meaning if you have no willpower you will be having the full English AND Jo's home made pastries (they are sooooo good, try the cherry one!). You'll not need lunch after that and may need to be quite active in the daytime so that you can enjoy one of the nice restaurants like Pendletons in the evening:)

Overall I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone, and can't imagine staying anywhere else the next time I go to IOW.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nefi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My friend and I were looking for a nice place to stay to pamper ourselves for our short 3-day stay. Our stay with Andy & Jo was excellent, they are the sweetest hosts you could wish for, are very friendly and extremely helpful in every way.

The rooms are very spacious, tastefully decorated and immaculately clean. Breakfast was delicious (we definitely ate too much :) :) and the recommendations our hosts gave us for restaurants, trips and things to do were just perfect.

If you haven't been to the Isle of Wight - go there and book your stay at the Shoreside Inn. I am sure you will love it as much as we did!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Serendipity14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed at The Shoreline as we were attending a family wedding.

You really cannot fault this lovely B&B. The owners are extremely hospitable, our room was spotless and being woken up by the sound of waves was lovely! The breakfast was cooked to perfection and the homemade pastries are probably the best I have every had( highly recommend the pain au raisin). They deserve to be top on tripadviser.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

stopped there yesterday for a Afternoon Drinks to watch the sea rescue with the life boat and Helicopter. went inside to look for the Ladies and it was spotless. The afternoon Tea was Great also. But if the Toilets and downs stairs are any thing to go by, if i was planning to stay on the island this would be a good choose.weather was Great so sat out on the patio area. Great view's over looking the sea, what more can you ask for on a hot sunny day. my first time to the island, came over on the ferry from portsmouth and travelled the island for most of the day. well done to the owners, very nicey done and very clean

Room Tip: spotless Clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

First time reviewer. Have just come back from a long weekend staying at the Shoreside. Everything about the place was perfect, location, room, facilities, service, breakfast. I have stayed in many hotels around the world and this ranks very high on the list. Its just across from the beach, a short walk to very good pubs and restaraunts, the room was large, modern, spotlessly clean with a good selection of accessories. The one thing that stands out above everything else is Andy and Jo. They are passionate about service and cannot do enough for you, from helping with bags to recommendations for food and even mapping out cycle routes which proved a god send as we were advised aginst cycling up IOW biggest hill. Will definitely stay here the next time we visit the island.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
915 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Havelock
The Havelock
#8 of 51 in Shanklin
356 reviews
0.5 mi away
Old Shanklin Guest House
Old Shanklin Guest House
#4 of 51 in Shanklin
383 reviews
0.4 mi away
Keats Cottage B&B
Keats Cottage B&B
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoreside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreside Inn

Address: 39 Esplanade, Shanklin PO37 6BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range: £104 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shoreside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This adult only boutique B&B is situated on one of the islands most beautiful beaches. After major refurbishment the hotel now offers Eight large spacious rooms all with seating area, king size beds and en suite bath/shower rooms with heated towel rails. All rooms have 32" coloured flat screen TVs with freesat, tea/coffee facilities and stunning views of the English Channel. Two of our rooms have their very own private balcony on the top floor of the hotel. If you struggle with stairs then why not try one of our new rooms, on the ground floor of the hotel with its own private sun terrace? Breakfast is included in your room rate & private car park situated behind the hotel for guests only. *Please note there is no bar or restaurant at The Shoreside B&B, but there is plenty of pubs/restaurants with in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms and getaroom.com so you can book your Shoreside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoreside Inn Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing