We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Shoreside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shoreside Inn
Ranked #2 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We have just come back from our second stay at the Shoreside inn and it was perfect just like the first time, Jo met us in the car park and took us to our room, we had one of the balcony suites this time witch is beautiful and the view of the sea is amazing, the room's en suite includes a huge drench shower, in your room you also have tea and coffee facilities with plenty of choice and there is also a jar of sweets, breakfast witch is included is served in the restaurant on the ground floor where you also have a lovely view of the sea, you have plenty of choice so there is something for everyone , Jo and Andy are so friendly and helpful they can give you advise on where to visit and restaurants to go to. The hotel is on the Esplanade so is just seconds away from a lovely beach. We have already booked to again next year and i can't wait

Room Tip: choose a sea-view room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jules712013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

Firstly, thank you so much to Jo and Andy for making our weekend break as wonderful as it was. They are an absolutely fantastic couple who could not be more welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. They are incredibly hard working and should be extremely proud of their beautiful hotel. Jo and Andy have great invaluable local knowledge of the island and suggested places to visit/eat.

The hotel is located in a lovely spot in Shanklin, overlooking the beach. We stayed in Suite 3 for 3 nights which was beautifully decorated with a kingszie bed, massive bathroom with a huge shower enclosure. The hotel was immaculate with a great deal of thought involved in the decorating and special touches in the bedrooms including sofa in front of the tv, tea and coffee facilities including jelly beans!, ironing board etc. The breakfast was absolutely delicious, with a wide choice of cereals (you must try the local muesli, we bought a bag for home), cooked breakfast, croissants, homemade jams and anything else you fancied.

I had already booked the Fine Nammet restaurant for the Friday night (again, a lovely restaurant but book before your trip as they get booked up quickly) but had not booked anywhere for the Saturday. Jo, suggested a few restaurants to try and even rung around them until she found an available table and also booked our restaurant for the Sunday as well.

On our last morning, we were going to head off early to catch the ferry but Jo and Andy insisted on making us breakfast before we left and even gave us croissants for the journey, they both go completely out of their way to accommodate anything you need. We highly recommend staying at the Shoreside Inn as it was a beautiful hotel, we relaxed as soon as we arrived and we did not want to leave due to the hospitality we received.

Thanks again Jo and Andy, we will definitely be coming back xx

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

After staying in a number of hotels on the Isle of Wight that are either geared towards tour groups, with very little attention to decor or facilities; or other hotels that claim to be 'boutique' in name only, The Shoreside Inn was a welcome surprise. Superbly located on Shanklin esplanade, directly on the beach, and moments walk to the cliff walk and Old Town with it's many bars and restaurants.

We were given Suite 5 - a stunning large room with Kingsize bed, private balcony (with direct sea views) and superb ensuite (with huge drench shower). This truly was a luxury room - absolutely immaculate, with a contemporary but warm look. A wide variety of drinks were available in room, with a little jar of sweets topped up daily (nice touch!).

Breakfast is served in the downstairs bar/restaurant area which is spotless & airy with more sea-views. The breakfast is the best hotel breakfast I have experienced - tasty, wide variety including homemade preserves.....delicious! Jo and Andy are fantastic hosts - incredibly friendly and hospitable with invaluable local area knowledge. Our stay was so good, we decided to stay an extra night as we didn't want to go home!

It's great to see a hotel like this exists on the Isle of Wight - cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: Suite 5 (with private seaview balcony)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jinglis84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We booked the Shoreside for a short wedding anniversary break based on the Tripadvisor reviews, and we weren't disappointed in any way. Our suite was beautifully designed, well equipped, spotless and extremely comfortable. We were accommodated at the front of the hotel with panoramic views of the Channel and the seafront itself. Whilst the bar and restaurant were closed (out of season) other than for B&B, we were well served by a couple of great bars/restaurants within 100m of the hotel itself. Breakfast was a delight, and thoroughly lived up to the other reviews!! Andy and Jo couldn't have been more welcoming, and made us feel at home as soon as we arrived. Nothing was too much trouble, with both our hosts taking the time to ensure that we had everything we needed at all times. Their local knowledge is extraordinarily useful, and their recommendations for things to do and places to eat made our break so much better than it might have been. We can wholeheartedly recommend the Shoreside, and will be returning in the future!

Room Tip: Ensure you get a suite at the front of the hotel to ensure the sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JonPaul2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Thank you Jo and Andy for a lovely couple of days, The room was beautiful, clean and very spacious, and the view was breath taking. Jo and Andy couldn't do enough for us lovely couple with lots advice of where to go and where to eat. I liked having tea and coffee making facilities and the jar of sweets, and the towels laid out were luxurious. Thanks again Jo and Andy we will definitely be coming back

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jules712013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We had a wonderful weekend here, Jo and Andy couldn't do enough for us. Spotlessly clean room, spacious and comfy, really lovely breakfast. We couldn't have asked for more. Just hope we get the chance to go back!

Room Tip: Definitely try to get a seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daysaway1054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Very warm welcome from Jo and Andy even though we were much earlier than the 4pm check-in (1.30pm), it was like they knew we were coming and waited for us without really knowing what time we were arriving. Lovely room, so clean, I would have eaten my dinner off of the floor. Great view from the bedroom and the bathroom with a floor to ceiling window and roll top bath, was nice to have a bubble bath and look out at the sea. Andy asked us in the morning what we would like for breakfast, was really good as I wanted poached eggs and my partner wanted a full English, get the feeling if I had requested eggs benedict they would have appeared without any fuss at all. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DontLikeDowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
915 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Havelock
The Havelock
#8 of 51 in Shanklin
356 reviews
0.5 mi away
Old Shanklin Guest House
Old Shanklin Guest House
#4 of 51 in Shanklin
383 reviews
0.4 mi away
Keats Cottage B&B
Keats Cottage B&B
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoreside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreside Inn

Address: 39 Esplanade, Shanklin PO37 6BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range: £104 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shoreside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This adult only boutique B&B is situated on one of the islands most beautiful beaches. After major refurbishment the hotel now offers Eight large spacious rooms all with seating area, king size beds and en suite bath/shower rooms with heated towel rails. All rooms have 32" coloured flat screen TVs with freesat, tea/coffee facilities and stunning views of the English Channel. Two of our rooms have their very own private balcony on the top floor of the hotel. If you struggle with stairs then why not try one of our new rooms, on the ground floor of the hotel with its own private sun terrace? Breakfast is included in your room rate & private car park situated behind the hotel for guests only. *Please note there is no bar or restaurant at The Shoreside B&B, but there is plenty of pubs/restaurants with in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms and getaroom.com so you can book your Shoreside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoreside Inn Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing