We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bikers weekend”
Review of Shoreside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shoreside Inn
Ranked #4 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Our second visit to Shoreside Inn and we were not disappointed .It was everything and more we remembered from our first visit. Jo and Andy are perfect hosts with nothing too much trouble for them. They both go the extra mile to make sure you have everything you need. Everywhere is spotlessly clean and the rooms are more than comfortable with lovely views over the sea. Jo cooks an excellent breakfast and is more than happy to accommodate individuals requests. Already booked for next year cant wait.

Room Tip: All rooms comfortable and furnished to a high standard but obviously excellent views over the sea fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just back from 3 days at this great hotel, Jo and Andy,our hosts, were so friendly and welcoming, couldn't do enough for us. Rooms are lovely and clean, with sea views, and the breakfasts were amazingly good! 10 out of 10 all round, can definately recommend the best hotel we have stayed, thanks Jo and Andy.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissykins2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Yet another fantastic weekend at the Shoreside Inn, Shanklin.

Couldn't wait to get back and spend some time here to relax and wind down.
We couldn't have chosen a better weekend, breakfast out side on the patio, it was just like being in the med but without the flight.
Stayed in room 5 this time, spacious, with a balcony overlooking the beach and sea, perfect setting for a cup of tea at sunrise.
Food was up to the usual fantastic standard and plenty of it, I had to leave room for a home baked danish pastry.

We enjoyed the stay so much that we're are returning in October with family and friends, look out Shanklin.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slider66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We visited The Shoreside for a short break to relax and unwind and did just that :). From the second you arrive Jo and Andy treat you like royalty.You are met on the car park by Andy who carries your luggage to your room and your holiday begins Our room was spotless and beautifully decorated with a wonderful balcony overlooking the sea, close enough to hear the waves lapping the shore,
Breakfast is anything you want including Jo's homemade jam and marmalade and Isle of Wight muesli.
As well as being wonderful hosts Jo and Andy gave us lots of great ideas for places to eat and walks to challenge us! And an added bonus this visit was the amazing sunrise,
Can't wait to go back

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoltonTaylors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

3rd stay now just keeps getting better
Jo&Andy just can't do enough for you.
Location is excellent for all your Holiday Adventures.
Would recommed the Shoreside to anyone visiting the IOW,The iceing on cake are Andy's magic tricks around the bar and Jo's cooking is exceptional... Perfect Hosts

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robinsp02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We have just come back from our second stay at the Shoreside inn and it was perfect just like the first time, Jo met us in the car park and took us to our room, we had one of the balcony suites this time witch is beautiful and the view of the sea is amazing, the room's en suite includes a huge drench shower, in your room you also have tea and coffee facilities with plenty of choice and there is also a jar of sweets, breakfast witch is included is served in the restaurant on the ground floor where you also have a lovely view of the sea, you have plenty of choice so there is something for everyone , Jo and Andy are so friendly and helpful they can give you advise on where to visit and restaurants to go to. The hotel is on the Esplanade so is just seconds away from a lovely beach. We have already booked to again next year and i can't wait

Room Tip: choose a sea-view room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jules712013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Firstly, thank you so much to Jo and Andy for making our weekend break as wonderful as it was. They are an absolutely fantastic couple who could not be more welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. They are incredibly hard working and should be extremely proud of their beautiful hotel. Jo and Andy have great invaluable local knowledge of the island and suggested places to visit/eat.

The hotel is located in a lovely spot in Shanklin, overlooking the beach. We stayed in Suite 3 for 3 nights which was beautifully decorated with a kingszie bed, massive bathroom with a huge shower enclosure. The hotel was immaculate with a great deal of thought involved in the decorating and special touches in the bedrooms including sofa in front of the tv, tea and coffee facilities including jelly beans!, ironing board etc. The breakfast was absolutely delicious, with a wide choice of cereals (you must try the local muesli, we bought a bag for home), cooked breakfast, croissants, homemade jams and anything else you fancied.

I had already booked the Fine Nammet restaurant for the Friday night (again, a lovely restaurant but book before your trip as they get booked up quickly) but had not booked anywhere for the Saturday. Jo, suggested a few restaurants to try and even rung around them until she found an available table and also booked our restaurant for the Sunday as well.

On our last morning, we were going to head off early to catch the ferry but Jo and Andy insisted on making us breakfast before we left and even gave us croissants for the journey, they both go completely out of their way to accommodate anything you need. We highly recommend staying at the Shoreside Inn as it was a beautiful hotel, we relaxed as soon as we arrived and we did not want to leave due to the hospitality we received.

Thanks again Jo and Andy, we will definitely be coming back xx

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
6.8 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
3 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
362 reviews
6.7 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
947 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoreside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreside Inn

Address: 39 Esplanade, Shanklin PO37 6BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range: £104 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shoreside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This adult only boutique B&B is situated on one of the islands most beautiful beaches. After major refurbishment the hotel now offers Eight large spacious rooms all with seating area, king size beds and en suite bath/shower rooms with heated towel rails. All rooms have 32" coloured flat screen TVs with freesat, tea/coffee facilities and stunning views of the English Channel. Two of our rooms have their very own private balcony on the top floor of the hotel. If you struggle with stairs then why not try one of our new rooms, on the ground floor of the hotel with its own private sun terrace? Breakfast is included in your room rate & private car park situated behind the hotel for guests only. *Please note there is no bar or restaurant at The Shoreside B&B, but there is plenty of pubs/restaurants with in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Shoreside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoreside Inn Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing