We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't say enough good things about this Hotel”
Review of Shoreside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shoreside Inn
Ranked #1 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014

If what you want from a hotel is an immaculate, well designed, homely room with friendly and accommodating hosts in an exceptional location then you must stay at the Shoreside Inn.

We were greeted in the car park as we arrived, by Andy, who immediately made us feel extremely welcome. Having shown us to our room Andy took the time to recommend some local restaurants and some places to visit.

The hotel boasts a seafront position which means that not only was the view beautiful from the bay window but the sound of the sea was included free. The room was spotless and my wife particularly loved the free standing bath where she could wallow whilst watching and listen to the sea.

The whole hotel is tastefully decorated including the bar and food area and like the room everywhere was immaculate.

Breakfast was top notch and the choice should cater for everyone. The service was spot on. Andy would have a chat before your food arrived but then leave you in peace to eat your breakfast. Jo meanwhile was in the kitchen producing the delicious feast.

We also made a point of having a sandwich in the bar at lunchtime and got the opportunity of chatting more to Jo which was nice. A really friendly and genuine couple.

My biggest compliment to Jo and Andy would be that when we left we felt we were leaving friends. We hadn’t made it to the bottom of the road before we were trying to work out when we could make another visit.

Thank you Jo and Andy for a great stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have just returned from our second visit to Shoreside Inn with a group of friends and have already booked for next year. Our suite had a large balcony with uninterrupted sea views and there was an excellent selection of teas/ coffees and even a jar of jelly beans.
Jo and Andy couldn't do enough to help and made sure that our stay was relaxing and trouble free. Apart from the excellent breakfast you must try the home made pastries which are delicious.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy18152014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just back from a great weekend staying at The Shoreside. Jo and Andy are the perfect hosts, the hotel is very clean and the rooms are large and beautifully decorated. I would recommend the Shoreside to anyone who is visiting the IOW. Nothing is to much trouble for Andy and Jo, our group turned up on 7 Harley Davidson s and they made sure they were safely parked at the rear of the hotel. We were met on arrival and Andy helped to carry our luggage up to our rooms.
Breakfast at the Shoreside is out of this world, all freshly cooked to order. Our group will be definitely staying here again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harley19602014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Our second visit to Shoreside Inn and we were not disappointed .It was everything and more we remembered from our first visit. Jo and Andy are perfect hosts with nothing too much trouble for them. They both go the extra mile to make sure you have everything you need. Everywhere is spotlessly clean and the rooms are more than comfortable with lovely views over the sea. Jo cooks an excellent breakfast and is more than happy to accommodate individuals requests. Already booked for next year cant wait.

Room Tip: All rooms comfortable and furnished to a high standard but obviously excellent views over the sea fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just back from 3 days at this great hotel, Jo and Andy,our hosts, were so friendly and welcoming, couldn't do enough for us. Rooms are lovely and clean, with sea views, and the breakfasts were amazingly good! 10 out of 10 all round, can definately recommend the best hotel we have stayed, thanks Jo and Andy.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissykins2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Yet another fantastic weekend at the Shoreside Inn, Shanklin.

Couldn't wait to get back and spend some time here to relax and wind down.
We couldn't have chosen a better weekend, breakfast out side on the patio, it was just like being in the med but without the flight.
Stayed in room 5 this time, spacious, with a balcony overlooking the beach and sea, perfect setting for a cup of tea at sunrise.
Food was up to the usual fantastic standard and plenty of it, I had to leave room for a home baked danish pastry.

We enjoyed the stay so much that we're are returning in October with family and friends, look out Shanklin.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slider66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We visited The Shoreside for a short break to relax and unwind and did just that :). From the second you arrive Jo and Andy treat you like royalty.You are met on the car park by Andy who carries your luggage to your room and your holiday begins Our room was spotless and beautifully decorated with a wonderful balcony overlooking the sea, close enough to hear the waves lapping the shore,
Breakfast is anything you want including Jo's homemade jam and marmalade and Isle of Wight muesli.
As well as being wonderful hosts Jo and Andy gave us lots of great ideas for places to eat and walks to challenge us! And an added bonus this visit was the amazing sunrise,
Can't wait to go back

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoltonTaylors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
916 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Havelock
The Havelock
#9 of 51 in Shanklin
356 reviews
0.5 mi away
Old Shanklin Guest House
Old Shanklin Guest House
#4 of 51 in Shanklin
384 reviews
0.4 mi away
Keats Cottage B&B
Keats Cottage B&B
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoreside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreside Inn

Address: 39 Esplanade, Shanklin PO37 6BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range: £104 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shoreside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This adult only boutique B&B is situated on one of the islands most beautiful beaches. After major refurbishment the hotel now offers Eight large spacious rooms all with seating area, king size beds and en suite bath/shower rooms with heated towel rails. All rooms have 32" coloured flat screen TVs with freesat, tea/coffee facilities and stunning views of the English Channel. Two of our rooms have their very own private balcony on the top floor of the hotel. If you struggle with stairs then why not try one of our new rooms, on the ground floor of the hotel with its own private sun terrace? Breakfast is included in your room rate & private car park situated behind the hotel for guests only. *Please note there is no bar or restaurant at The Shoreside B&B, but there is plenty of pubs/restaurants with in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms and getaroom.com so you can book your Shoreside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoreside Inn Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing