We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Great location and well-furnished”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Patio from ground level.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Patio from ground level.
Relax outside with a refreshment and wonderful sea views Sit and relax after a day of sight seeing or sunbathing with Sky Freeview on our 50in flat screen TV
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
52 reviews
The Patio from ground level.
Relax outside with a refreshment and wonderful sea views
Sit and relax after a day of sight seeing or sunbathing with Sky Freeview on our 50in flat screen TV
Sit and eat while watching the world go by through our mirrored window
Our lounge again from a different angle
Relax on our comfy 2 or 3 seater sofas before heading out for the day or deciding where to eat later
Our comfy lounge
Our fully equipped kitchen plus info corner for all your local and my personal food recommendations
Another view of our fully equipped kitchen area
Our double bedded room
Our double bedroom showing a full size wardrobe and dressing table. With touch lamp light.
This is our twin bedded room. It also has a three brightness touch lamp on the bedside cabinet
Our twin bedded room showing a full size wardrobe and dressing table again with a touch lamp light
Access to your Private patio from the main walkway
This is the view of Culver Cliff and Sandown Bay from our patio
The local sailing club venture out Sunday mornings and a couple of evenings a week.
Picture of the Round the Island Yacht Race, held annually in June.Great view from outside your door.
One of many sunrises you can witness...if your up early enough!!
Sun rise right in front of your dining table window..again though another early get up needed!!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Shanklin, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
blackadde...
Bristol
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location and well-furnished”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

As other reviewers have noted, this apartment isn't in the prettiest building, especially viewed from the parking space at the back, but once inside that doesn't matter. We were warmly welcomed by Sara on arrival, and there was plentiful tea, coffee and milk waiting for us. The lounge is very spacious and comfortable, and our girls enjoyed the huge TV. I liked all the seaside-themed pictures and ornaments. The view from the front window is of the sea - what could be better, although in April the seafront can be a bit cold and windy, so we did need to put heaters on sometimes. There were several lovely fleeces and blankets around to wrap up in whilst waiting for the room to warm up. The kitchen area is well-equipped for 4 people, though I did struggle with the tin-opener!
Both bedrooms overlook the parking area, but at least there was plenty of natural light, compared to others places we have stayed in Shanklin and Ventnor where you are looking out onto a cliff face or a neighbouring wall! The beds were very comfortable, however, be aware that the double bed is against a wall so you might need to climb over each other or approach from the foot of the bed! With smaller children I'd recommend they go in the double and the adults have the larger twin-bedded room.
The bathroom is in the middle of the apartment, therefore no windows, but there is an efficient but noisy extractor. The hot water comes from an immersion tank, so you have to remember to switch it on for your bath, then give it some time before the next bath. There is an electric shower, which I didn't really get on with, but that might just be me.
Sara has a comprehensive information book, and various leaflets available too. She is also very usefully on hand for any queries, or to recommend the best fish and chips etc.
By the way, we recommend the Aqua Brasserie next door for quality, good-value meals, and excellent service.
All in all a good choice and we had a lovely time.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Shower
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2014
Thank you for your review. Fortunately our main asset is the sea view right in front of the Apartment and apart from parking, there really is no need to go to the rear of the building! I have taken note of the other comments you have written, but I am glad that you enjoyed your stay overall.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vishal P
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“An exceptional aparment, with an equally amazing view.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The apartment is extremely well maintained and tastefully decorated. The hostess is extremely helpful and warm you won't regret staying here.
The location is prime, opening onto the beach.

Definitely recommended.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2014
Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure to meet you all and I hope your parents have a safe onward journey.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne B
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“A LITTLE GEM !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

This apartment was a little gem !! Excellent views and location. It was spacious enough for four people. Sara was very friendly and helpful. We have to say that this is the best rented accommodation we have ever stayed in

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location / view
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2014
Thank you for your kind review. It is always nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobGibs
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great hospitality, great location and a lovely sea view.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We had a lovely stay. A very well equipped apartment with a very friendly owner who went the extra mile to ensure that her guests had a great holiday.

5 of 5 bubbles Value 4 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2014
Thank you for your kind review. The piece of driftwood your son found still has pride of place in the display cabinet in the shops. It was a pleasure to meet you all. Thank you for choosing Seagull View for your holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob H
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stylish apartment, great location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We chose this apartment based on the great reviews on trip advisor and we were not disappointed! Sara provided a warm and friendly welcome and throughout our stay remained inconspicuous but we were fully aware that she was around if we needed her help. The apartment was exceptionally clean, tidy and stylish and comfortable, and all your immediate needs we're catered for including tea, coffee, sugar and milk - not to mention the bottle of wine. We are familiar with the island as we have stayed on a number of occasions and chose a sea view location specifically but even we were unprepared for the stunning sunsets afforded by this location. The front window was thoughtfully mirrored so that we could see everything but could peacefully sit enjoying a drink or meal looking at the view without worrying that we we're be observed by passers by. Beautiful accommodation and perfect location - this will be our first choice the next time we return.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2013
Many thanks for the lovely review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay.
It was a please to meet you, and we look forward to be able to accommodate you in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgie21...
Christchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

My son and granddaughter where visiting from Australia, we stayed at the Apartment for 5 days, we had an excellent time. Sara was wonderful, their was a bottle of wine on arrival, plus a bowl of sweets for my granddaughter, Sara made us so welcome, the apartment is very cosy and has everything you need for a relaxing stay. The views across the Bay to Culver Cliffs are great. Excellent place to see to see the rest of the Island, will certainly make another visit.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us and lovely it is too. I am so pleased you had a great time and I hope your son and grand-daughter had a safe return journey back to Australia. You are a lovely family and it would be a pleasure to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve W
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The reviews were impossibly good - but they were accurate!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

I was sure the owners or their friends wrote them - but no! A wonderful location, superb facility and adaptive and caring hosts. Can't think of how our experience could be better, can't wait to go back.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Ummm, honestly can't think of a thing....
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2013
Firstly, Thank you for your kind review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and that you had a safe journey back to Canada. It would be a pleasure to see you again, and I hope your daughter enjoys her teaching job in the UK.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$96
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing