We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My perfect garden tea rooms”

Rhylstone Gardens Tea Room
Ranked #7 of 8 Coffee & Tea in Shanklin
Description: A beautiful tea gardens and crazy golf set in the most peaceful setting which is a haven for wildlife and the islands rare Red Squirrels.
Restaurant details
Description: A beautiful tea gardens and crazy golf set in the most peaceful setting which is a haven for wildlife and the islands rare Red Squirrels.
Isle Of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My perfect garden tea rooms”
Reviewed 30 March 2013

I love going to Rhylstone Gardens Tea Room. I always feel so relaxed. The staff are amazing and always have a smile and a cheery chat for everyone. The food is always such good value and beautifully presented. You NEVER feel rushed. It is good fun watching young and old playing the old fashioned wooden crazy golf course. We even saw one group of holiday makers giving out medals and certificates for the winners of their golf game, It did bring smiles to our faces. The hanging baskets are so amazing. The elderly man and lady who attends to the flowers are on the go all day, but never too busy to stop and chat and to pass on tips on growing or to answer gardening questions. I must add.....I'm not sure if it is because we are drinking our tea outside in such wonderful suroundings but...IT'S THE BEST POT OF TEA ON THE ISLAND. If you do have the time to visit I know that you will LOVE it there.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    5
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sandown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Regular Visitors”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We love the quirky old, times past, wooden crazy golf, the hanging baskets and floral displays. Who wouldn't enjoy their coffee or lunch in such surroundings.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IsleofWightDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Wickham, Kent
Level Contributor
137 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Crab sandwiches - wow”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I think this is actually spelt "Rylestone" which might explain why I couldn't find it first to write my review. Not open all year so make the most of it when you can. The gardens and flowers are superb, sometimes red squirrels can be seen in the surrounding trees. Staff are friendly and welcoming and even if you don't play the crazy golf it is great fun watching others. But the greatest plus point is the food. The ploughmans lunches are good value and are huge. The crab sandwiches are not the ususal scrape of crab (paste?) but are thick with lovely fresh crab and are served with a great salad.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DennisWestWickham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“A superb find!!”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We found this a great place to sit and relax. Children can play crazy golf here too! We all had a Ploughmans and a cup of tea, and the food just kept coming! Lots of extras, and pickles etc, really, really good service, and very reasonably priced too! We`ve been before, but when we tried to visit last Ocober, it was shut, so might be best to check before visiting if they are open or not, but have always been open during the summer months at least.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TwinRoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead
Level Contributor
89 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

A cafe in a garden but a lovely location, friendly staff and amazing floral displays and have fun watching people playing crazy golf. A mix of undercover and outdoor seating. A hugh range of choice of sandwiches and cakes. Nothing fancy but a lovely low-key location and not far from the spectactular views over the sea from the gardens. Lovely peaceful place.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pinklebunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rhylstone Gardens Tea Room also viewed

 

Been to Rhylstone Gardens Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing