We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely fresh food at a very reasonable price”

Rhylstone Gardens Tea Room
Ranked #7 of 8 Coffee & Tea in Shanklin
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating
Crewe
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely fresh food at a very reasonable price”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This tearoom is very homely and the staff couldn't be nicer to everybody .Whether you want an ice cream or a full meal the choice is large.Everything is nice and fresh and made to order.Eat in or take away the same care seems to be taken.This is a place to call in if you are passing or worth a special journey.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank betmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    5
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“everything we wanted”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Having read reviews on here we were determined to go and try the food. We ordered a ploughman' s lunch and a cheese omelette and a pot of tea. We chose a nice sunny spot just as a family came to play crazy golf which kept us entertained. My cheese omelette was delicious and was served with salad and French stick with butter. The ploughman lunch came with lots of choice of pickles and chutney in a little plastic box to keep them together and out of the wind! We ate every bit (apart from giving our greyhound a few tasters! - well it was his holiday as well) the owner even came over with a biscuit for him! It was a lovely relaxed lunch in nice settings
Although we were much to full the cakes looked delicious but we will have to try those another time

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wendylouise2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great tea, fresh cake and sandwiches - highly recommended”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

If you're willing to explore behind the chintzy tourism of the Old Shanklin tearoom strip, then this is by far the best tearoom in our opinion. The cakes are super-fresh and homemade, the sandwiches generous with proper size side-salads and the staff are cheerful, friendly and helpful and happy to let you take your time. It is also very good value and as regular visitors to Shanklin, we always make a point of stopping here. On our last visit we were even invited to 'test' an additional slice of cake for a new recipe under development. The park grounds also make an idyllic setting to relax and toilets are very nearby.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DrSynth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheltenham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Top marks. Ploughmans and crab sandwiches were generous in proportion. Very tasty with the many pickles provided. One of the few establishments I'd like to visit again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SprouterBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bembridge
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Old fashioned tea garden”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This little gem tucked away in a park is wonderful. A crazy golf course is set out in the centre, with a variety of seating around the edges, surrounded by some lovely plants. A wide choice of food and drink is available (until early evening in the summer), and a large selection of home-made cakes. The meals are excellent value for money, with jacket potatoes being served with a large accompaniment of salad, coleslaw, French bread, etc. The crazy gold makes for excellent entertainment whilst eating, although beware sitting near hole 18! Tables are also available in the park, along with deckchairs for sunbathing, and listening to the regular band performances.

Helpful?
3 Thank debbiemBembridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rhylstone Gardens Tea Room also viewed

Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Rhylstone Gardens Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing