We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Scrambled egg ive ever tasted”
Review of Gracellie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gracellie Hotel
Ranked #38 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 September 2012

we booked in to the gracellie hotel for just one night as we had gone over to the isle of wight a day earlier than our holiday had been planned so our apartment wasnt ready for us ,we were made to feel very welcomeon arrival and the staff were so friendly and helpfull, our room was clean with a lovely view. we had breakfast at the hotel in the morning the lady who served us was adorable and made us feel as if we were the only people she had to look after that morning when in fact she had a dinning room full of people to attend to but nothing was to much trouble for her and my scrambeled egg was the best ive ever tasted .we will look forward to staying with them again in the very near future thankyou for taking such good care of us from Mr and Mrs Barton From Essex

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil W, Owner at Gracellie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Dear Tracey thank you for taking the time to write your review. We will always do our best and the standards will improve not drop I promise you! Kind regards from Phil, Jon and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2012

We were on the recent Alfa coach trip to the Gracellie Hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.All our meals comprised good quality food,well cooked and nicely presented.The pool was cleaned every day and kept at a perfect temperature.The staff were helpful and friendly and the whole atmosphere was very informal.Perhaps some people want champagne with only beer money to spend!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012 via mobile

Although the restaurant was quiet, the service and food was excellent. Could not fault it. The staff were very accommodating to our every need. Would definitely come again. I have a small appetite and they were happy for me to order two starters instead of a main meal.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Blonde S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil W, Director of Sales at Gracellie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review. It lifts the staff here as we do our very best to ensure peoples happiness with the hotel. You will always receive a warm welcome here! Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Barbara’s comments are accurate, but I wonder if Susan was at a different hotel. We were on the same holiday, arriving on 09 September 2012, and I am sure the majority of people on this Alfa coach holiday were highly dissatisfied. The menu choice was extremely limited and a lot of the food was awful. In other hotels we have had a good, varied menu and good food. It was really disheartening when the food served was so awful that we could not eat it. A lady who was vegetarian had to make do with a jacket potato and baked beans for 3 of her evening meals. I had been really looking forward to the fresh fruit salad at breakfast that has been mentioned in some of the reviews. However, not only was there no fruit salad, there was no fruit at all and no porridge. There were just a few basic cereals offered.
We have been on a lot of coach holidays with Alfa and never before have we been so disappointed. This is the first time we have had to complain.
There was hardly ever anyone on reception and anyone could take a key off the desk, so we had to resort to keeping our key with us.
On the plus side Danny was very helpful, but several more staff were needed. Generally the service was very poor. Walking into the bar and entertainment area was very off-putting because of the dreadful musty smell, and there were quite a lot of dead flies and spiders in the corner of the entertainment room. On one of the 3 nights when there was no entertainment a member of the coach party entertained us with a quiz, and because of where they were sitting one of the teams named themselves Spiders Webs.
It was good that the room was OK and the bed comfortable, but there is no way that we would ever go back to this hotel and I would not recommend it if you like to enjoy your food.

Room Tip: Ask to have a room without steps from bedroom to bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Mavis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Would just like to say how wonderful the Gracellie Hotel is exellent service, breakfast really tasty just like home made. Rooms really high standard and kept very clean. Entertainment good, Staff very helpful i would recommend this hotel to all my friends. I have read the last reveiw and find it hard to agree with as i was there at the same time as this coach party and most people on the coach agreed with me and had a lovely time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We have just returned from the Gracellie Hotel, and we will never go there again. They need to get a new chef, the most awful food I have ever had in a hotel, breakfast was returned as it arrived to the table almost cold. The woman who seems to be in charge in the dining room had a terrible attitude problem, she needs some lessons in charm. The reception desk is never staffed and when you leave your keys there in a morning they are still there when you return in the afternoon, as the hotel is open to the general public anyone could walk in and pick up any key they wished, they need to step up security. It just seems the hotel is run on a shoestring, they need a few more staff. The bar area always smelt musty. The only good point I can offer is nicely decorated bedrooms and dining room. BARBARA from Oldham

Room Tip: Overlooking the bay, but hotel is not advisable if you have walking difficulties as there no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank OldhamBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Stayed at the Gracellie hotel in August. Had a beautiful room,room 6,with beautiful view of the bay. Shower was up to American standards. Breakfast was lovely. I had 2 bowls of fresh fruit but bravely resisted the cooked breakfast,as I'm cutting my weight down! Enterainment was provided by group called special brew,who were really good. Special thanks to Hazel and Fiona who were really lovely and friendly.The food in the evening was really good but the menu a little restricted,I think a larger menu would be great.I would definitely recommend this hotel.!!

Room Tip: Room 6 as beautiful view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Vincent R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil W, General Manager at Gracellie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Thank you so much for a lovely 5 star review... we will follow your advice and increase the menu and hoprfully you will stay with us again soon ... Our thanks again....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.2 mi away
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Shanklin Beach Hotel
#37 of 51 in Shanklin
496 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Palmerston Grange
Palmerston Grange
#21 of 51 in Shanklin
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rowborough Hotel
Rowborough Hotel
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
231 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
420 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#45 of 51 in Shanklin
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gracellie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gracellie Hotel

Address: 25-27 Hope Road, Shanklin PO37 6ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range: £49 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gracellie Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gracellie Hotel is 100 yards from Shanklin beach. We have a large free car park for guests. Full restaurant facilities are available and the view, quality of restaurant and professional service ensure a delightful dining experience. Relax in our Charlie's bar with a real pub feel, juke box, pool table and darts or relax in our quiet bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Gracellie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gracellie Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing