We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best hotel I've stayed in!!”
Review of Gracellie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gracellie Hotel
Ranked #37 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

The hotel Is in a Great location, right on the beach!! we stayed in a reasonable sized room with a lovely see view on the top floor shame about the amount of woundy stairs you have to walk to get to your room!! cleanliness wasnt a strong point in the room, there was dust all over the furnishing including the headboard where you will be sleeping and breathing it all in! (Which we cleaned)The headboard wasn't even attached properly so every little movement you made it would bang against the wall! there was hand prints smudged all over the window blocking my lovely view (which we cleaned). we wouldve told a member of staff about the cleanliness but the fact of going up & down them stairs really put you off as you dont have a phone in the room for reception!
A member of staff told us the refrigerator in the room does not work, so what's the point in having it in the room as is advertised on the website.
The curtains are very thin so therefore your awake as soon as sunrise with the bright light comin through. Again on the hotels website it states that a DVD player is provided, well we certainly didn't have one! The curtain shower is in a really awkward position, on a circular rail in the bath, why not put it across in a line like normal over the shower baths?!

Apart from all of these minor issues that can be resolved, the hotel has the potential of being a lovely place to stay especially when the extension is finished & the lift will finally be put in!

I wouldn't stay here again as first impressions count for me!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rags79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil W, Guest Relations Manager at Gracellie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very disappointed that you found the room dusty and we have had meetings with all staff to try and ensure this doesn't happen again. We will improve. Sadly the phone in your room has been stolen and all the other rooms have phones. We have no idea why anyone would take it as it is type typical for Samsung switchboards and of no use to an individual. We are arranging to replace the wiring that has been ripped out. Again I am sorry that you only scored us overall 2 (poor) although your individual scores added up to 3.2 (fair) The headboard is secured to the wall which is normal practice, to allow the bed easier movement for cleaning. we are sorry you didn't like that. please be aware that genuine complaints, such as yours, would be dealt with and we would have had the room re-done to clear dust and clean windows, had you told us. In any case thank you for dusting it. We will try and improve week on week. Wishing you future happy holidays. x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2013

I have just organised a reunion for 30 ex naval personnel who served in Gibraltar together in the mid 70's. This was our 11th reunion but the first at this hotel. I cannot praise this hotel, the manager, the staff enough, the hotel is clean, the food is excellent and dont get me started on the staff, they were brilliant, nothing was to much trouble and so friendly it was like they had known us all for years and made our reunion the best we have had in 11 years. Thanks for everything, you are the BEST

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeFraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil W, Guest Relations Manager at Gracellie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I could write volumes about the wonderful comradeship and brotherhood that the services personnel have and give, especially with
recent atrocities on our streets. Be assured we are glad to have made your stay enjoyable. We have your badge on our wall and will always wear it with pride! THANK YOU guys and girls ...YOU are the VERY BEST! God Bless You x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We have recently stayed for 5days at this hotel and found it very comfortable and clean. The room may not have been the biggest I have ever stayed in but it was clean and there was always clean towels if needed and plenty on the hospitality tray also soap, shower gel and shampoo given which you don't get in some hotels. Food was good with a nice menu and was always served hot. Staff very friendly and helpful. Can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nanbod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil W, Guest Relations Manager at Gracellie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Delighted that you were happy with your stay here and looking forward to your next stay with us. We will endeavour to be a better hotel, so that we can earn a 5 star review from you. Again thank you so much for taking the time for giving us a great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel last night and were blown away buy how wonderful the staff were. Nothing was to much trouble and they bent over backwards to make our stay great.

The hotel is great for families. Perfect location close to the beach and activities. The room was spacious and clean with a very comfy bed.

The staff make this hotel and for that reason we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendyw1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil W, Guest Relations Manager at Gracellie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Thank you for such a positive review. I believe that with a little more improvement we will get 5 star reviews most of the time and the fact you are coming back will give us the opportunity to show you our determination to keep guests happy. It was nice of you to give a positive review which aids Jon and his staff enormously Looking forward to your next visit .. Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We opted and paid for 3 nights in a Double Room and later (well within time) cancelled the last night of stay owing to other commitments. This was confirmed by the hotel staff over phone.
On arrival, our cancellation for the last night was acknowledged and we were told that we had been given a room with a view of the sea, which naturally we appreciated and thanked them for. No mention was made of any extra charge for this. However, while checking out we found that we had been charged for 2 nights in a Double Room with a Sea View which apparently costs more, though we had neither opted for this at the time of booking nor been informed was an extra chargeable item. When we raised this issue, one of the gentlemen at the reception was frankly uninterested and kept redirecting us to a booking agency (Eviivo) whom he said acted as a go-between. Eviivo however clarified they only handled bookings, and any refunds or cancellations were to be processed by the hotel directly. When we mentioned this, another gentleman named Phil promised us a refund in good faith. Unfortunately, two weeks later, that refund is yet to arrive and there has been no communication from Gracellie's end either. We'd like to mention this is not about the extra charge, so much as it is about good faith. No one likes to feel they've been taken for a ride!

Barring this unpleasant incident, we had no problem at Gracellie. The property is beautiful and very close to the sea, the room was excellent and the occasional presence of Vince, a very friendly and charming dog, only made it that much more memorable for us. A special mention of the hearty, delicious breakfast each morning - we're vegetarian and the hotel ensured there was a good spread of vegetarian food as per our request.

Our rating for Gracellie would have been 5 stars except for the refund issue and the attitude of one of the staff when we raised the issue. You may use a booking agent or five, but shifting the burden on to a customer's shoulders is not the best of practices!

Room Tip: Double check the kind of room you're booked into and the charge applicable prior to occupying th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ramaaramesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil W, Guest Relations Manager at Gracellie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.... Next time you come we will offer you an extra night free, (be it 1 / 2 or 3 nights) ... just book direct. The internet booking company wouldn't allow us to refund and charges us for the nights you book, unless you cancel 48 hours in advance. I hope that you will look favourably on this offer, which is valid for 12 months from today (25th June 2013) Thank you for staying with us and we are looking forward to seeing you soon x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed at the Hotel over the Spring Bank Holiday, having booked at the last minute. There were 6 of us ranging in age from 56 to 20's to 7.

The Hotel is in a great location, uphill from nearby Shanklin Beach. We walked down to the beach and found no problem walking back up the hill to the Hotel, although I would suggest that if you are not used to walking you would be better off parking at the beachfront car park. The seafront at Shanklin is great for families and has cafes and attractions run by very friendly people.

We were greeted in the bar at the Gracellie and shown by a very friendly, helpful lady to our clean, well furnished and modern rooms. The rooms had plentiful supplies of tea/coffee as well as lovely white towels and some toiletries. The beds were very comfortable and looked inviting with spotless white bedding. There were radiators which could be set to our own required temperature and there was plenty of hanging space etc. along with a modern flat screen tv and a well detailed hotel book advising us of all the facilities available.

We spent a great evening in the relaxed, friendly bar, playing pool and having a drink. The staff were so friendly and there was no problem with our 7 year old being there. There was a huge TV we could have watched and lots of comfy arm chairs and sofas. Although we did not eat dinner at the Hotel there appeared to be a good menu (and if the breakfast is anything to go by I should think the food would have been delicious!). There was a dance floor as well but no entertainment that night so I can't comment on that.

As the bar was so relaxed it was no surprise to find that there were a few friendly dogs about but I would stress that nowhere did it smell of dogs. We like dogs and so were happy to fuss over them, especially the ancient but adorable Vince, but had we not wished to we would not have been troubled by them at all as all the dogs were happy to leave anyone alone who did not go over to stroke them.

At breakfast next morning (served between 8.30 and 10.00) we were shown to a lovely bright, clean and modern restaurant and had one of the best breakfasts ever! Plenty of food, plenty of choice and all of it delicious! Again the staff were friendly and helpful and made sure we had everything we wanted.

Altogether we were delighted with our stay and would certainly return, as this is a very good standard, welcoming and affordable hotel for either a short break or a whole holiday, suitable for all the family. There are rooms on the ground floor which can be reserved for anyone with limited mobility and, I would say, that if anyone has any particular requirements let the Hotel know in advance and they will do everything they can to accommodate you.

Room Tip: Let the Hotel know any individual requirements when you book and they will do everything they can to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JillT578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil W, Guest Relations Manager at Gracellie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Wow! Thank you so much for your wonderful review. This is very kind and inspiring for Jon me and all the staff. We all read the review and are delighted we are mostly getting it right. We allow dogs into the bar (must be on leads) and as we are all dog lovers here we wish we could let them everywhere but many people are scared of dogs, so we curb our enthusiasm a little! It is really appreciated that you have given us 5 stars as it lifts us! Thank you so very much and may your positive comments bring you as much joy as you have us today. bless you! x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

we just got back 24/5 had a brilliant time stayed monday to friday didnt want to leave. There was four adults in our party we all enjoyed our stay, the staff were so friendly the food was to die for and we was waited on, NO QUEING for food. the sea view was fantastic, rooms were lovely
Trips out with national coaches were superb and well organised only problem is we will have to go again lol cant wait

Room Tip: no lifts but only 3 stories and staff will carry bags for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank val p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil W, Guest Relations Manager at Gracellie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Thank you so much for your excellent review. It was kind of you to take the trouble to write a review for people that have not been here. We will always strive to make the clients stay with us a happy one and we promise to try and improve year on year. We have renovations going on that will increase our capacity by 29 rooms. There are going to be improvements hopefully week by week. Thank you again and hope to see you soon. You are excellent guests ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Shanklin Beach Hotel
#35 of 51 in Shanklin
499 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
1.9 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#4 of 29 in Sandown
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
882 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langham Court
Langham Court
#43 of 51 in Shanklin
170 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Nightingale Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gracellie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gracellie Hotel

Address: 25-27 Hope Road, Shanklin PO37 6ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range: £50 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gracellie Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gracellie Hotel is 100 yards from Shanklin beach. We have a large free car park for guests. Full restaurant facilities are available and the view, quality of restaurant and professional service ensure a delightful dining experience. Relax in our Charlie's bar with a real pub feel, juke box, pool table and darts or relax in our quiet bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Gracellie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gracellie Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing