We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely break by the sea” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gracellie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gracellie Hotel
Ranked #32 of 52 Shanklin B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely break by the sea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed at the Graceellie with our 2 children, we had 2 rooms on the top floor with great sea views. The rooms were very comfortable and very clean. The breakfasts were plentiful and tasty. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. When they found out that our son was celebrating his 10th birthday the manager said that he would organise a cake for him that evening at dinner. A very kind offer that unfortunately we had to decline as we had other arrangements. However he did get happy birthday sung by the singer when we returned (& a free drink).
In our room the tv wasn't working, we mentioned this to the manager & upon returning later we had a new working one in its place. Excellent!

Room Tip: If you don't mind the stairs, the top floor has lovely sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NIckyA57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil W, Guest Relations Manager at Gracellie Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you so much for your fantastic review. We are delighted that you took the time to write a review for us and we welcome you back, as soon as you can. Thanks again for the effort and time to write the review which is a huge boost to all of us here. We know that we have a way to go to lift the hotel to higher ratings and thanks to clients like you, encourages us enormously it makes the job so much easier to do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    74
    39
    20
    22
See reviews for
55
90
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

though i am young climbing all the stairs to my room was tireing the room was small very hot as it was right at the top of the hotel i think a fan might have been a goodidea it was susposed to have been a deluxe room nothing deluxe about it very small bathroom the width of the shower tray.breakfast was not good i was bypassed most days in favour of the couch party the toast was cold everyday cooked breakfast was lukewarm my last day there was no butter and no milk for tea. the manager was vey freindly and so was the staff. i know the hotel was being refurished i hope it will improve if i am going to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank broons19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil W, Guest Relations Manager at Gracellie Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are currently extending the hotel by another 29 rooms and although the hotel is part of a group we are all fully committed to giving the best service we can. I am sorry that you found the stairs a little bothersome but we are unable to find a place for a lift, due to the design of these 3 old buildings. We look forward to your next visit and look forward to your next review and again thanks for taking the time to review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

We booked the day before online. Very good value for what we paid and would definitely stay here again. Room/en suite was clean and fresh with an excellent view out to sea. Breakfast was good with a very wide choice available and very prompt service. Well done. All members of staff were polite and cheerful to you. The bar although small was very well equipped with drinks.
Great location as beach is a minutes walk away.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lia0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil W, Guest Relations Manager at Gracellie Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review. We work hard to try and make our guests stay a happy one . The fact you will return is great. Thank you again ....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Booked last minute for a couple of nights and thought we'd try The Gracellie based on the reviews. Hotel in good position just up from the Shanklin esplanade. From the outside it's a big fairly non descript place that could do with a bit of tarting up. Internally its fairly non descript and bland. No problem with our room although it was a bit stuffy in the unusually hot weather. Room was clean and tidy and functional as was the bathroom. Bar was...well a seaside hotel bar. Nothing flash but it sold what you'd expect in a bar. Barman AKA The Manager very chatty and suggested the hotel had relatively recently been taken over and was in the process of being done up. Breakfast was very budget quality and I have to say so was the presentation as was the cooks ability to get it right. The cleanliness of the dining room was pretty disappointing.
Don't expect anything too extravagant and you won't be disappointed but if you want a cheapie you could do worse......a lot worse.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oooh-er-missus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil W, Guest Relations Manager at Gracellie Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you for your review. It is appreciated when people take the time and effort to write. Sorry you didn't think the restaurant was clean, I will look at that this morning but assure you it is cleaned everyday, after each setting. If it can be improved, it will be. I will see how we can improve the breakfasts that you were disappointed with but this morning 3 different people told me that it was excellent and the fresh fruit salad really good. Sadly the hot weather can make rooms stuffy, as I am sure you understand and it is very hot but you never know with British weather. We hope you will visit us again soon and we can rely on your future custom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Our stay at this hotel was great. We arrived to be greeted by John who was very welcoming and provided a good start to our stay. We were pleased with our room it was clean, tidy and had good storage.

The hotel is in a great location perfect for us as it was our first time in Isle of Wight. It is very close to the beach surrounded by restaurants and amusements to keep u entertained. Again the staff (John in particular ) was very helpful whenever we asked him for directions or recommendations of anything we could do. We came back late to the hotel and had to enter through the bar this was not a problem, in fact quite the opposite as we could stop of and have a drink or even take our drinks to our room.

My boyfriend and I really enjoyed our stay and would give a 5 but however the breakfast is its let down. It wasn't pleasent at all but if this could be fixed then we would definitely rate a 5. However we have not been deterred to return we actually can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJandJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil W, Guest Relations Manager at Gracellie Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time and trouble to review us.
I am sorry that the breakfast failed to be 5 stars and I will be looking into this and discussing what went wrong. We now reserve tables for guests and are improving the restaurant to include more tables and chairs to alleviate complaints. Genuine concerns will always be looked at to see how we can improve and that is a promise. Hopefully on your next visit you will feel we are worthy of a FIVE STAR rating.... Look forward to seeing you very soon.... Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

well, I'd like to start with positives: clean room, clean bed, flatscreen tv, clean en-suite shower room. if a good place to sleep is your goal then yes, it meets that criterior. I am used to staying in 5 star hotels, and yes I wasnt expecting a 5 star service as it was very reasonable so on that note, I got what I paid for (clean bed and shower). However, I'm not one to complain but when we arrived there was no-one on reception (ok it was late) had to go to the bar (ok... was checked in by multi-tasking staff) But was immediatly told I still owed £60... "no- I paid in full- here is paperwork to prove it"...... "ok well no problem will sort it out later"..... was never mentioned again. Did I owe an extra unaccounted for £60 or not? I guess not! what was that about?? breakfast the next day: SHAMBLES! no juice, no tables, no staff, no cereal no NOTHING. eventually we got a table but no butter or plates for the toast, undercooked egg on the full english, and just seemed chaotic: nothing available. put a real dampner on our holiday. so we skipped breakfast the next day, then boyfriend went for brekkie and it was better, but poached egg way over cooked. Today, we had scrambled egg: we were the only ones there and it was really nice. and the lovely lady that served us was attentive and friendly. If we'd had that experience day one it probably would have completely changed my opinion. Today was the best day. Although the very dismissive response we got when we checked out was a bit.. dont care attitude. all in all, you have great potential: some of your staff know about service but some dont, I dont even know who was in charge, I didnt get a personal service and it felt like there was not enough staff. Maybe we were unlucky, or were not around when staff were around.. but it has potential... but the positives I appreciate and I thank you

Room Tip: cheap and cheerful yes! need a clean bed and thats all? yep perfect, avoid the breakfast if its busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pashypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil W, Guest Relations Manager at Gracellie Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank you for your review and I know that last Saturday morning was hectic. Although we have an 08:30 to 10:00 breakfast setting, virtually everyone came down at the same time and it was very busy. We apologise for that and we will do our best to sort out future settings.
We don't have the reception occupied after 22:00 unless the bar is closed and as you say the multi tasking staff attended to it. Your internet booking has not been paid to us yet and we are investigating why, as you say your receipt showed paid but our invioce from them still says not paid... computer glitch I hope. Hopefully your next stay will be as good as your last night with us and hopefully better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

A fantastic hotel, brilliant staff, excellent food, comfortable clean room, beautiful view, could not fault anything and if we had to fault something about it, we would be lying. Can't wait to come back

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cufleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil W, Guest Relations Manager at Gracellie Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you so much for being fantastic guests. The people that come here and want to enjoy themselves are very welcome and you did keep us entertained. Thanks again Gary and Debbie and also the wonderful Andy Cuffley who is amazing for his age LOL! Looking forward to your return when we will try and improve further ... Cheers x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Shanklin Beach Hotel
#32 of 54 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#10 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
6.9 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cygnet Hotel
Cygnet Hotel
#11 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
2.1 mi away
Tarvic 2 Hotel
Tarvic 2 Hotel
#17 of 31 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Medehamstede Hotel
Medehamstede Hotel
#33 of 54 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gracellie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gracellie Hotel

Property: Gracellie Hotel
Address: 25-27 Hope Road, Shanklin PO37 6ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gracellie Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gracellie Hotel is 100 yards from Shanklin beach. We have a large free car park for guests. Full restaurant facilities are available and the view, quality of restaurant and professional service ensure a delightful dining experience. Relax in our Charlie's bar with a real pub feel, juke box, pool table and darts or relax in our quiet bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Gracellie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gracellie Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing