We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Value, Wonderful Staff,”
Review of Gracellie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gracellie Hotel
Ranked #34 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb Value, Wonderful Staff,”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Comfortable, warm, clean bedroom with a shower that was superb. Had a great nights sleep. The TV reception pictures were spot on. Plenty of coffee/tea facilities in the room. Food was great, in abundance & excellent value for money. Paddy & Tracey made me feel at home from the moment I walked in, to when I left 3 days later. Had a lovely time even though it was a business trip. Will definitely stay again whether it is for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil W, Guest Relations Manager at Gracellie Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
Thank you very much for the fantastic review. Paddy and Tracey are delighted to get a special mention but all the staff are delighted by your warm and friendly comments. Thanks very much Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    75
    44
    22
    25
See reviews for
56
101
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This hotel may not be the smartest and classiest but in the areas it lacks the staff more than made up for it. We stayed in room 20 which had an enormous bathroom and was very quiet with a view of the pool. We went for New Year's Eve and the entertainment was great. Breakfast (especially the sausages) was wonderful. The owner Phil with his dog Vince couldn't do enough as well as Paddy ( thanks for the wonderful breakfast Paddy) and his dog Murphy. The bar was large and as it wasn't busy we watched a few movies on their large screen tv and played games till the early hours. The location is great and has a wonderful restaurant along the sea front called The Steamer Inn. Just a shame they only did breakfast and Sunday roast in the restaurant at the hotel. Overall a great stay and would def go again. Thanks again Paddy, Phil, Vince, Murphy and everyone else who made our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Room 20 is large and quiet but does have a lot of stairs if you aren't to good on your feet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil W, Guest Relations Manager at Gracellie Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
Dear Vickie N. Thank you for your great review. It was nice to get a special mention and you will be pleased to hear that Vince is still with us. He is now coming up to 22 years old and is the oldest dog in Shanklin and possibly the island. Thanks again from all the team. Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esher, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

From the moment we arrived the staff made us feel so welcome, even the dog. Unfortunately we were put into the smallest room ever (No. 9) with no privacy at all but it was no trouble the next day to move us into a lovely large family room overlooking the sea (29). This did, however, come with a supplement.
Unfortunately they were not serving evening meals which was disappointing and the cleanliness of the bathroom could have been improved, but overall we had a lovely break and would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: See my review
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maggiehides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil W, Guest Relations Manager at Gracellie Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
Thank you so much for your great review. We are now doing evening meals so hopefully you will call us and book again. Vince who you mentioned is 22 in February and still going strong! Thank you from all the team Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claygate
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This hotel may lack grandeur but Phil the owner and Paddy the breakfast chef/barman made it one of the best New Years we have had.Their friendlyness and attention made it a great 3 days.Hopefuuly they will be doing evening meals in the near future.

Room Tip: Choose room 29 not 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil W, Guest Relations Manager at Gracellie Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
Thank you for your very generous comments, that are well received and we hope to see you again soon. thanks from all the team. Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed here in October 2013. Our room was lovely and spacious with a big TV and a wonderful view of the sea. The room was very clean and tucked away at the very top of the hotel so was very quiet and private.

The reception area and breakfast room were well decorated, bright and airy. There was a good choice of food for breakfast - we didn't try the restaurant for dinner so can't comment. The waitresses were very friendly and attentive.

The bar staff were very friendly and the bar is well equipped with things to do (pool table, dartboard, etc). The bar decoration could be updated and some finishing touches would make a big difference.

The location of the hotel is ideal for the beach and for the shops in Shanklin.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank SDTickner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil W, Guest Relations Manager at Gracellie Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
Thank you so much for your fantastic review. We hope to see you again soon and that you will enjoy your stay even more. Thanks from all the team Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed here nine weeks ago and enjoyed it so much we came back. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a wonderful full English. The manager is very helpful, friendly and very professional. We highly recommend to family and friends. The rooms a very spacious and kept clean.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KevSmithBonifas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil W, Guest Relations Manager at Gracellie Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
Thank you so much for your fantastic review. Sorry for the delay in writing but I assure you we are so grateful for your fantastic review and we hope you will return soon and many more times. Thanks from all of us, Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havant, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I didn't want to leave ! The hotel rooms are great, the people are amazing Phil the owner couldn't have been more accommodating as with all the staff, Rob behind the bar and young Phil. Plus Hannah at breakfast was great ! as was the breakfast. Even the housekeeper took time out to talk to us all.

The hotel has amazing sea view a short walk from a few good restaurants/pubs, although inhouse food was great huge portions for little money. And feel so at home in the bar !

so chilled out and relaxed and they even let us stay in the rooms until 1pm rather than 11am !! Great stay will be back !!!

Room Tip: we had a ground floor room and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RyanMorgan1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil W, Guest Relations Manager at Gracellie Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
Thanks Ryan Morgan. We enjoyed your company as did your alter ego Charlie. Please return soon, we need the business! Sorry for the late reply and hello to David, Clive and family looking forward to you all returning soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
1.9 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#9 of 29 in Sandown
306 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Shanklin Beach Hotel
#32 of 52 in Shanklin
468 reviews
6.9 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
382 reviews
0.3 mi away
Medehamstede Hotel
Medehamstede Hotel
#33 of 52 in Shanklin
289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langham Court
Langham Court
#44 of 52 in Shanklin
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gracellie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gracellie Hotel

Property: Gracellie Hotel
Address: 25-27 Hope Road, Shanklin PO37 6ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gracellie Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gracellie Hotel is 100 yards from Shanklin beach. We have a large free car park for guests. Full restaurant facilities are available and the view, quality of restaurant and professional service ensure a delightful dining experience. Relax in our Charlie's bar with a real pub feel, juke box, pool table and darts or relax in our quiet bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Gracellie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gracellie Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing