We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely time ”
Review of Gracellie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gracellie Hotel
Ranked #38 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

My hubby myself and our friends have just returned from a 5 day break with national holidays 28th---1st August We found the staff lovely our room was clean food was good But the service was very slow in the restaurant It seemed that way because of no one supervising the young people which was a shame But all in all a good time was had by all

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank poppyPrestonLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil W, Guest Relations Manager at Gracellie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2014

Thank you for your good review and delighted you had a good time. We have taken on board your comments about the slow service and hopefully you will see an improvement next time you visit. Thanks from all the staff who try to deliver the best service Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

The hotel as near sea but a hill to climb,about 3 minutes up,but on the coastal path and about 10 minutes on to old village which is lovely,the bedrooms and linen were clean and well serviced,the restaurant staff were excellent ,but staff shortage meant we had a wait to be served,the menu was limited but good quality and plenty of it .The hotel restaurant was modern but the other rooms dated ,access to pool and garden patio needed to be cleaned up and repaired ,(health and safety issue ) more lighting in staircases needed, the weather was hot so not much entertainment in the evenings , our coach driver David was the best and as he lived on the island took us and told us everything about his island which made the holiday special, so in all we had a lovely holiday and would return

Beautiful island
Sheila

Room Tip: Not 16 very hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank sheila h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil W, Guest Relations Manager at Gracellie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2014

Thank you for your good review and we are delighted you enjoyed your holiday. Please return soon so that you might increase our star rating
kind regards from all of the team and thank you again Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Very nice staff, excellent breakfasts but very poor evening meals, only 2 choices, the rooms were OK not much wardrobe space. Very poor maintainance windows not shutting, showers not working , music very loud in bar area. Reception desk empty most of the time and timer on lights in reception keep t leaving us in the dark. Would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sharon n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil W, Guest Relations Manager at Gracellie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2014

Sorry you were not happy with your stay. The restaurant always has more than 2 meals so do not understand that complaint. ALL windows in the hotel have child locks and that may be the reason you had trouble with our units? They are made by a local firm and we have regular checks on them. We wish you well and always ready to serve you well
Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Went on a 5 day trip to Shanklin with National Holidays, and I would not recommend this hotel! The service was very poor, the younger employees had a bad attitude, the food was sub-standard and unappetizing, many other guests complained about the cooked breakfast, on our first night they did not have a table for a meal so even though it was pre booked the organisation was not very good. The rooms were not maintained adequately, clean sheets and towels were not provided, we requested clean bath towels and but the replacements where dirtier than the ones we wanted changing!
Overall the holiday was great but the hotel was very disappointing!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Simone A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil W, Guest Relations Manager at Gracellie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2014

Dear Simone I can only say we do provide clean towels and bed linen and another of our guests, on the same National trip gave us 5 stars. We always try to improve and will continue to do. We hope to see you again and that you might be happier with things. kind regards Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The Gracellie is a fantastic hotel with friendly staff! It's in a prime location, less than a stone throw away from the beach. The food is some of the nicest I've tasted on a hotel stay and the insure entertainment was well worth the wait! I'd definitely stay here again and would certainly recommended it to others!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robsonharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil W, Guest Relations Manager at Gracellie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2014

Thank you Robson for an outstanding review. We try our best and hope to improve week on week. It was really good of you to give us this review and we are all delighted that you were kind enough to give your time.
Thanks Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We've stayed a couple of times. The first time was not too bad, the second time was indifferent and we wanted to give it a final chance.

Arrived to see not much had changed on the outside, including the weeds and long grass. Went into the empty reception and rang the non-working bell. Eventually someone did come out and we were checked after a couple of minutes searching on the computer and given a 'sea-view' room at a discounted price after we declined the full price. We were shown to our room through the unchanged, poorly lit, and undecorated passage ways with it's rarther splendid solitary dried out Airwick air freshener.

Superficially, the room looked ok. It WAS possible to see the sea.... On closer inspection, there were cobwebs and dust. The non-working hotel room fridges are still there.

Having established that the hotel no longer does evening meals, we went for a drink before heading along the sea front. It was such a joy to be sat in the sun looking out over the English Channel, whilst the staff were sat at another table drinking and swearing loudly. Always a winner that one.

At night time the hotel is not particularly welcoming if there are few people staying (as there were), and few of the rooms are occupied (as they weren't).

Breakfast was OK, and served promptly, the single most best aspect of our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank SundodgingDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil W, Guest Relations Manager at Gracellie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2014

We are very disappointed that you were not happy with your stay.
It is the first 2 stars we have had for nearly a year!
Thank you for giving us the chance however and we wish you well

Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Just spent the weekend at Gracellie with a friend and we were very well looked after. Lovely location, very comfortable beds and well cooked breakfast. Friendly staff and nice relaxing atmosphere. Good value for money. Would definitely recommend it.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil W, Guest Relations Manager at Gracellie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2014

Thank you very much Julie,
I hope you visit us again soon and the improvements, we continue to make will please you and get us 5 stars!

From all the team thank you very much for your time and effort Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.2 mi away
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Shanklin Beach Hotel
#37 of 51 in Shanklin
496 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Palmerston Grange
Palmerston Grange
#21 of 51 in Shanklin
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rowborough Hotel
Rowborough Hotel
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
231 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
420 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#45 of 51 in Shanklin
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gracellie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gracellie Hotel

Address: 25-27 Hope Road, Shanklin PO37 6ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range: £49 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gracellie Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gracellie Hotel is 100 yards from Shanklin beach. We have a large free car park for guests. Full restaurant facilities are available and the view, quality of restaurant and professional service ensure a delightful dining experience. Relax in our Charlie's bar with a real pub feel, juke box, pool table and darts or relax in our quiet bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Gracellie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gracellie Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing