We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kenbury

The Kenbury
Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Kenbury
Ranked #22 of 52 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

We Stayed here for 2 nights. Rooms were very clean, well equipped and comfortable.

The breakfast was of very good quality and the staff were very pleasant, polite and accommodating.

The markets with many good restaurants was an easy 10 minute walk from the Hotel.

Overall had a very good experience and would definitely stay again. Highly recommended..

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    18
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
32
71
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of October, along with our 4 year old daughter. The while place was spotless (and I am very fussy). The family room was large with a separate room for my daughter, who had her own TV, so she was incredibly happy.

The breakfast was excellent, I can't say more.

All the staff we encountered were extremely polite, chatty and helpful.

Most definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hstevenson26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

Stayed here for two nights. The hotel is set in a nice peaceful area. We found it an easy walk to the beach and also the town and old town, with their respective eateries. Rooms in the hotel were adequate and thoughtfully equipped. A comfortable and roomy bed. Ample provision for tea and coffee making, complimented by a fridge. En-suite equipped with a bath, all nicely decorated and well maintained.
Breakfast, with a sensible choice on the menu was served in a bright breakfast room.
All staff very pleasant.
Worth considering if you wish to stay in Shanklin.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holmium_laser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

A very pleasant guest house with a warm and friendly staff. The breakfasts were excellent, and the rooms (although not large) were clean with good provisions for making your own drinks. The bed was most comfortable. Although a little way from the sea, the location provided easy access to the main road along the east side of the island. I would certainly recommend this to anyone staying in the Shanklin area.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TauntonTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

Stayed at this guest house from 3rd September until Friday 7th. My grandson got married on Tuesday 4th September at the Enchanted Manor. Wedding was lovely as was the weather. As soon as we arrived here we were made to feel really welcome. Such lovely owners. Really nice guest house, nicely decorated room and spotlessly clean. First class breakfast and so much choice. very quiet and near to buses and train station. All in all we had a great time. Would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 17 and it was nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

Hi we have just spent 4 nights here at the Kenbury, and i must say we thought the Room and kitchen service was excellent, the breakfast was excellent, and the location was perfect.

We would come back again and again, if there have us ;-)

Thanks

SK

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCannyshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

My wife and I are just back from a six day stay here-fabulous stay in a very comfortable and welcoming B&B. So clean and comoftable. We won a watch with a room with a seperate dressing room, a fridge with fresh milk every day while the bed was the most comfortable I have slept in away from home. Breakfast was scumptious too and the service superb. I cannot recommend this highly enough! Also handy fro the train station if you want to leave your car behind. Thanks for such a comforable stay. Alasdair & Angelina Reid Cambuslang Glasgow

Room Tip: Ask fro room 11
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a_reid11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.5 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#46 of 54 in Shanklin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roseglen Hotel
Roseglen Hotel
#29 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.6 mi away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#40 of 54 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Shanklin Beach Hotel
#32 of 54 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westbury Lodge
Westbury Lodge
#5 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royson GuestHouse
The Royson GuestHouse
#13 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kenbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kenbury

Property: The Kenbury
Address: Clarence Road, Shanklin PO37 7BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kenbury 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in its own attractive grounds, The Kenbury is the ideal choice for those in search of a peaceful break, whilst still having easy access to Shanklin beach, Shanklin town centre and local transport. We are a family run guest house that aims to provide a friendly high quality service to all of our guests. The Kenbury has a small car park and free WIFI, is non-smoking throughout and all rooms are en-suite with digital TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Kenbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kenbury Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing