We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a lovely place. Fantastic time!”
Review of The Kenbury

The Kenbury
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Kenbury
Ranked #24 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Such a lovely place. Fantastic time!”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This is the second time I have stayed here, so have got to know all the staff well. They are so friendly and helpful, just like a holiday family! Nothing is ever too much trouble for them and always have a smile on their face! The room facilities are great for the price of the rooms and have a tv, lovely shower, and complimentary tea,coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits and even bottled water! We also adore the breakfast, I'm not a morning person but we are always greeted with a smile and I don't have to worry about the dreaded grunts you get at some places we have stayed. The croissants are my personal favourite although its hard to chose as there is Soooooo much on offer. My partner likes the handmade sausages (he raves about them) and the home made preserves are lovely too! We can honestly say we will not stay anywhere else on the island, it just feels like a home from home. We've also recommended this place to so many friends and family that have and will be using again. Thanks The Kenbury team! Xx

Room Tip: Our favourite room is room 1 but there is also a premium room which we have looked in and it looks a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hvc_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    19
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
32
74
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We visited the IOW for 4days staying at the Kenbury! On arrival we were dealt with by a young lady who was very friendly. She showed us to our room and answered any questions we had. Our room was a little on the small side but think there was larger rooms in the hotel, it depends on what you pay for. The breakfast was FANTASTIC! There was a table of cereals, fruit, juices, pastries, yogurts to help yourself from. Plus a lovely cooked breakfast made to order! Probably the best breakfast I've had in hotel/b&b. on the whole great stay and would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Booked out hotel for 3 nights (no confirmation sent to me)
called to say our son was really poorly and couldn't make it and was made to pay full amount (not just deposit!) and room was let out to other people for that weekend!! so owner made DOUBLE money and we didn't even use it!
Owner put phone down on me and continued to lie to me.
Very bad customer service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ripped0ff2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Booked 2 superior garden view rooms for myself, husband and my elderly parents for 3 nights. Very welcoming and friendly staff, accommodation spotlessly clean and nicely decorated. In a quiet location. Breakfast superb - cereals,fresh fruit salad, croissants fresh fruit, yoghurts, cooked breakfast of your choice,toast, homemade jams and marmalades, fruit juices,tea and coffee. My parents in their 80;s thought it the best they had ever stayed in. 10 minute walk to esplanade. Would stay again and recommend to others

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grandkids2504161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, new Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights recently with my sister. It is very clean and tidy. The staff are lovely although know very little about the IOW which we found a bit unusual. The rooms are small and we struggled to fit both suitcases in however they went out of their way to assist. Best breakfast so far on our trip around the UK in that they provided a bowl of cut up fresh fruit every day which was lovely.

Room Tip: As we were there in a heat wave, being in a south facing room was a disadvantage however would be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coraleen026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

as it was our 1st trip we didn't know where we would like to stay and through internet searching we found a lovely and homely B & B,staff were so friendly and even though the room was smallish it was so clean and the breakfast was as good as it gets well done Kenbury and thank you. We would recommend this B & B to any one as we come from an Island we were optimistic on what we would get for the money, we were more than impressed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thevaudins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Stayed May 9-13 with my husband & sister. The Kenbury is a lovely little bed and breakfast. We were made to feel at home from the moment we stepped through the door. The location is very convenient, a short walk from the railroad station and a few steps to the bus stop. Breakfasts are amazing, there is something for everyone. English breakfast was more than we could eat. Loved the homemade jam and croissants! Karen kept us laughing with her stories (the woman on the bus and your perfume!) and we thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our stay. The rooms are immaculate, very comfortable bedding and pillows. Loved the cookies, tea, hot chocolate, etc by the bedside. I would love to come back to the Isle Of Wight, just to be able to stay at The Kenbury again! Thank you so much.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debron22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.5 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#1 of 52 in Shanklin
449 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
382 reviews
0.6 mi away
Old Shanklin Guest House
Old Shanklin Guest House
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Havelock
The Havelock
#9 of 51 in Shanklin
339 reviews
0.5 mi away
Keats Cottage B&B
Keats Cottage B&B
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
207 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Avenue
The Avenue
#17 of 51 in Shanklin
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kenbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kenbury

Property: The Kenbury
Address: Clarence Road, Shanklin PO37 7BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kenbury 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in its own attractive grounds, The Kenbury is the ideal choice for those in search of a peaceful break, whilst still having easy access to Shanklin beach, Shanklin town centre and local transport. We are a family run guest house that aims to provide a friendly high quality service to all of our guests. The Kenbury has a small car park and free WIFI, is non-smoking throughout and all rooms are en-suite with digital TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Kenbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kenbury Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing