We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deposit fiasco”
Review of The Kenbury

The Kenbury
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Kenbury
Ranked #23 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The manager explained she would not allow us to reserve a room without leaving a deposit which was not refundable even with plenty of notice to cancel - we would only receive half back if we gave more than a couple of days notice. We found this rather a harsh policy. We were very much looking forward to staying at Kenbury given the good reviews. However, our trip to the Isle of Wight was booked for the day of the big storm on 28th October . Ferrys from Portsmouth weren't even leaving! When I explained this to Katherine the day prior to our supposed trip, she was unsympathetic and refused to return our deposit and wouldn't even let us apply the deposit for a future date. Most disappointing considering the circumstances were COMPLETELY out of our control and it was unsafe to travel. A little money-grabbing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank charlied7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinkginger21, Manager at The Kenbury, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

We were very upset to receive this review, and we are very sorry that you found us to be unsympathetic. We were sympathetic to the situation, which of course was not your fault, but neither was it ours.
We do take a deposit when people book, which is a fairly standard practice for bed and breakfasts, we used to find when we didn't take a deposit, sometimes people did not turn up, leaving us with nothing. Our cancellation policy is that we apply a standard charge of £40 if the booking is cancelled. If a cancellation is within 48 hours of the expected arrival, our policy is that we charge the full amount of the booking. We set this policy out on our website, on online booking systems and in our email confirmations. In fact, even though you did cancel the day before, we didn't charge the full amount of the booking which was £100, just our £40 standard charge. I am sorry that you felt that this was a fiasco.
In fact we had 2 other guests who came to the Isle of Wight that day, although some ferries were cancelled, many were running and guests were able to get through.
Although you feel that we were making money out of your situation, in fact the opposite is true, and we actually lost money as a result of your cancellation. Of course, when a guest books, we keep the room for them and turn away any other prospective bookings. As it was school holiday week, we did have other enquiries for the family room after you had booked it, but of course we turned them away. So we lost out on those bookings, and it was too late for us to re-let the room. If we were to operate a free cancellation policy, we would have to bear all the costs whenever a guest cancelled: credit card charges, staff time and lost booking revenue.
Unfortunately, your booking was during the last week of our season, and the family room was booked for the rest of the week, so I am sorry, but it was not possible for you to come later, and we are now closed until next April. Of course, if you would like to book for next season, you would be very welcome, and we can put the £40 towards that booking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed here for three nights last week and were impressed, the informative welcome, the room we had was not large, but it was fine, great breakfasts, as much tea and coffee in your room as you would want, its clean, a very clean place, its own car park, great friendly staff......I have no hesitation in recommending........!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuart-harley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Stayed here for three nights. We did go for the small double which was fine for a short break although the shower room is a little on the small side. Room and guest areas were all very clean and comfortable. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. Excellent breakfast, well cooked with good choices. Would not hesitate to recommend the Kenbury to anyone.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank SarahS58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights over the bank holiday weekend and we found the place to be very clean and spacious. The owners and staff were all so friendly and helpful, one of the best places I have ever stayed, it was reasonably priced too. The breakfasts were very filling and it was situated nearby to the beach, station etc. I would be more than happy to recommend this b & b to anyone.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This is the second time I have stayed here, so have got to know all the staff well. They are so friendly and helpful, just like a holiday family! Nothing is ever too much trouble for them and always have a smile on their face! The room facilities are great for the price of the rooms and have a tv, lovely shower, and complimentary tea,coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits and even bottled water! We also adore the breakfast, I'm not a morning person but we are always greeted with a smile and I don't have to worry about the dreaded grunts you get at some places we have stayed. The croissants are my personal favourite although its hard to chose as there is Soooooo much on offer. My partner likes the handmade sausages (he raves about them) and the home made preserves are lovely too! We can honestly say we will not stay anywhere else on the island, it just feels like a home from home. We've also recommended this place to so many friends and family that have and will be using again. Thanks The Kenbury team! Xx

Room Tip: Our favourite room is room 1 but there is also a premium room which we have looked in and it looks a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hvc_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We visited the IOW for 4days staying at the Kenbury! On arrival we were dealt with by a young lady who was very friendly. She showed us to our room and answered any questions we had. Our room was a little on the small side but think there was larger rooms in the hotel, it depends on what you pay for. The breakfast was FANTASTIC! There was a table of cereals, fruit, juices, pastries, yogurts to help yourself from. Plus a lovely cooked breakfast made to order! Probably the best breakfast I've had in hotel/b&b. on the whole great stay and would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Booked out hotel for 3 nights (no confirmation sent to me)
called to say our son was really poorly and couldn't make it and was made to pay full amount (not just deposit!) and room was let out to other people for that weekend!! so owner made DOUBLE money and we didn't even use it!
Owner put phone down on me and continued to lie to me.
Very bad customer service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank ripped0ff2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.7 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Marlborough Hotel
Marlborough Hotel
#23 of 51 in Shanklin
165 reviews
0.8 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 51 in Shanklin
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
0.6 mi away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#35 of 51 in Shanklin
55 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#45 of 51 in Shanklin
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kenbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kenbury

Address: Clarence Road, Shanklin PO37 7BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range: £65 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kenbury 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in its own attractive grounds, The Kenbury is the ideal choice for those in search of a peaceful break, whilst still having easy access to Shanklin beach, Shanklin town centre and local transport. We are a family run guest house that aims to provide a friendly high quality service to all of our guests. The Kenbury has a small car park and free WIFI, is non-smoking throughout and all rooms are en-suite with digital TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Kenbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kenbury Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing