We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again, Happy & Welcoming Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Ranked #45 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Just returned from another successful visit to this hotel. All staff very friendly and helpful, even though we were a coach party NOT from the North, as per a previous reviewer.! Yes, the hotel is a bit dated, but the atmosphere makes up for it, and the management, first class. Would definitely make a third trip.!

Room Tip: Front facing rooms seem to be the best equiped, and ground floor rooms very good for the elderly and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barboxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 467 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2012

Found the hotel excellent in many respects, the food for breakfast and evening meal was great, good choices. The staff very friendly and helpful. The bar and evening entertainment were tip top. The bedroom was a bit cramped as was the toilet and bath/shower facilities.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We were a group of 11, mainly seniors. From initial enquiry, through booking, room allocation, ferry booking and changes in our group, to arrival - everything handled so smoothly and ressuringly. Great welcome, good food selection, friendly staff all await you. The pool just helps enrich your stay if you want to unwind before dinner. You should definitely give them a call!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alf051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

Much reinvestment needed to bring this up to date .... Unfortunately the hotel has been left in the Eighties and desperately needs a refurb.
Staff do try to be helpful but never with a smile and customers are not there priority unless you arrive on a coach which is the bulk of the Melbournes Business and it shows.
However they are like many Hotels struggling to make The Money to sink back in to the Hotel but you won't make it on Heavily Discounted Tarrifs from Coach Parties ( having owned a Hotel I talk from experience )
This Hotel is cheap and it is Clean and it serves an OK Breakfast ( all be it from staff who are not Morning People ) .... So I perhaps would not discourage you from staying as its not bad but could be so much better if they employed decent Staff familiar with Hotel Protocol and stopped concentrating on Mass booking Coach parties from up North. To be fair to The Melbourne it does not advertise as being anything else but a reasonably priced Hotel and reading some of the comments on here I think many are Unfair
To recap ..... CHEER UP / TRAIN UP / SPEND UP

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barclay42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

My granddaughter felt like a princess in our four-poster bed. Our room was in a wonderful position with sea views, the bathroom, newly fitted, with separate shower, was large and very pleasant. Ask for room 14 if you get the chance. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the service fast. My granddaughter enjoyed the pool area, which was close enough to our room to mean that we changed and showered in our room. We really enjoyed our break there, and would happily return. We went off with the room key by mistake, and feel bad about that, but hope it was all resolved.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Perhaps our experience was better than some. Comforable rooms (a twin looking seawards and a very generous single with early morning sun and a view of the nearby church). . Delightful staff - always ready to greet, help and converse. Dog friendly, with car park, restaurant available. Well, the restaurant was what one might call adequate. Dishes were (almost too) copious but veg was unappealingly monochrome, while well enough cooked. BUT Fantastic hot water and heating

Slight complaint concerning the dog friendy bit - perhaps they should make it clearer that dogs should not be allowed on beds. We became aware of a dog in a neighbouring room making itself at home on a bed.. Not our style - in a hotel, the dog is in its bed on the floor. Dog on bed is not fair to other customers. But perhaps they change the bedspreads..

All in all, we would very happily return to this hotel.

Room Tip: rooms facing the sea do not have a wide view but have morning sun and glimpses of shipping day and n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

My partner and I spent 2 nights at this hotel for a short break away and we couldn't have asked for a nicer time away. The room was lovely great size very clean and comfortable it also had a great view. At check in we were welcomed and instantly felt comfortable. Staff were very helpful and catered to our every need. The pool and other amenities were also lovely and very clean. Hotel bar was reasonably priced also, although fairly quiet. In addition to all of this there was plenty of car parking space. All in all a very enjoyable stay and I would reccommend this hotel to friends and family and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.1 mi away
Medehamstede Hotel
Medehamstede Hotel
#34 of 51 in Shanklin
311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#35 of 51 in Shanklin
55 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sandown Hotel
Sandown Hotel
#23 of 29 in Sandown
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marlborough Hotel
Marlborough Hotel
#24 of 51 in Shanklin
165 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
746 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel

Address: 4-6 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: £33 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight
Melbourne Ardenlea Shanklin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing