We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely long weekend in relaxing surroundings” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Ranked #46 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely long weekend in relaxing surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

We booked very late and were slightly nervous about what we would find.

What we found was a clean, relaxed and very friendly hotel. Decor was dated but everything was in good condition - it's not a flimsy Travelodge or boutique place just a good honest hotel. We had connecting rooms for us & our children, and our dog was made most welcome too! In fact it seemed that about half the residents had dogs.

The rooms were warm (weather was freezing), cosy and comfortable. We used the pool every day which was in excellent condition but cold. There was a sauna and hot tub to warm back up in.

Breakfasts were usual breakfasts and perfectly good, we didn't eat in the evenings so can't comment on the dining (there are some great restaurants in Shanklin).

All in all we were very happy with our stay and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimbo800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    88
    79
    47
    74
See reviews for
111
143
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

Great Family Run Hotel, Some rooms a bit small, very clean. Restaurant and service very good, Food was great, No complaints. Pool and Jacuzzi was perfect ,Staff would do anything they could for you, Entertainment each evening was of a high standard, had us all dancing and singing. Their
was a couch load, but 14 in our group.Could not fault the 5 day`s.
I would like to mention our Couch Company (AVALON COACHES) Glastonbury, Driver Brian done us proud,

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

There were around 30 of us that stayed there this week on a bit of a jolly down to the seaside. We had an amazing time and I cannot understand why people have left poor reviews for this lovely, family-run hotel. The bar, restaurant, service, rooms, location and pool with jacuzzu were all amazing value for the price. Lovely, comfortable leather sofas in the bar area only added to the sense of luxury we felt from what is, offcially, a 2 star coaching hotel. We all felt it was much, much more than that. There were thirty of us and not one of us could fault any aspect of our stay. We have all decided to go again for a reunion next year. I have stayed in other hotels on the Island before and this was by far the best value of any of them. I can' recommend this place strongly enough. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

We booked online and the photos looked good, but when we arrived we discovered the hotel is a bit old and run down. The main lounge area smelled of booze, and the bar had loads of fruit flies in it which were buzzing around our drinks. The young guy working late on friday when we arrived was very helpful, but the rest of the staff were a bit rude. In particular there were two staff members serving breakfast on Saturday morning who were not very friendly at all. Location is good, very close to the beach and the lovely old village of Shanklin. Not sure if we would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

This was a last minute booking made to go with a friend to enjoy a few days of sun. The hotel staff were very friendly and accomodating. Breakfast was good. Rooms were clean. Cheap and cheerful really. Good location as only a few moments away from the beach and the old village.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatcham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

very pleased ,we were very welcomed on arrival and was given a great room with a 4poster bed which had a bath and shower (room 14) , room was very spacious, all the staff were very helpful and very much up for a laugh.
Breakfast was more than we could eat choice of fruit juice,choice of cereal and a full breakfast and as much tea or coffee you can drink,
hotel also has an indoor swimming pool and jacuzzi this was great we used them every day.the hotel also does live entertainment not our cup of tea, but room was packed so many enjoyed the show.
evening meal option although not a great choice what we did have was more than satisfactory,
hotel location was perfect, short walk to seafront where you will find restaurants with live bands
short walk into shanklin old town 5minutes with a choice of restaurants several have live bands.

one point we would love to make is we noticed there were loads of bad reviews for this hotel I wouldn't take any notice as we were very happy

Room Tip: room 14 was very spacious had a four poster bed close to indoor pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

Great value weekend, friendly staff, good food. Nice clean rooms.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieDinsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.1 mi away
Palmerston Grange
Palmerston Grange
#25 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eastmount Hall Hotel
Eastmount Hall Hotel
#10 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auckland Hotel
Auckland Hotel
#36 of 54 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Queensmead Hotel
Queensmead Hotel
#14 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brunswick Hotel
Brunswick Hotel
#12 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#40 of 54 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel

Property: Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Address: 4-6 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight
Melbourne Ardenlea Shanklin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing