We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff, but this is NOT 3 star !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Ranked #45 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Very outdated, from avocado bathroom complete with carpet not well maintained, but the older guests seemed delighted. They staff are great but i was so disappointed. I thought the price over the top for standard of hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aposi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2013

This is the worst hotel I have ever been to, we couldn't even face staying the night, the rooms are old fashioned and not one piece of furniture was without stains or damage ! The bed is made up of a sheet and some old itchy blankets with a stained headboard and smelly cushions. The wallpaper torn in places and the walls were coated in dust ! My room smelt of mould and the windows were cracked . Can't say much about the staff or the food as we didn't stay long enough ! Don't waste your money on this run down dump !!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Meliss123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Room was comfortable and clean but decor is very dated, staff were friendly and as I was here on business and not paying it did not bother me to much. Not sure if her indoors would find it so comfortable. Swimming pool is nice but the sauna was a waste of time due to gaping hole in the door surround, jacuzzi was out of commission due to a leak. Good location but not sure if I would use again.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank ColinC907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

As ever on reading reviews they can be mixed. We (2 adults, 1 child) arrived midday on Saturday. Our room was ready and was excellent!! We had a family suite and it consisted of a main double room, separate bedroom with a single bed and bunk beds. The whole suite was spotlessly clean and nice and warm.
The hotel staff were very welcoming and friendly. We only ate breakfast and that was fine, a typical hotel fry up but lots of fruit and cereal.
Good location for Shanklin or travelling elsewhere on the island. All in all, perfect value.

Room Tip: Try to bag a family room, we had room 31 and it was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cath783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We brought 48 bellringers here last week and the hotel staff couldn't do enough for us. They are friendly, nothing was too much trouble, and service in the restaurant was the best we have had after taking this group away for many years. We had to be off early each day to ring so they started breakfast service early and we were all fed and watered in three quarters of an hour. The rooms were all clean and although the swimming pool area could do with a make-over the pool itself was lovely. We just wish we could take this hotel and it's staff with us on all our trips. Thanks to Amelia, her girls and all the staff for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room, although the view is limited, they get the most sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Called to book on the ferry on the way over and my booking was taken without any hassle. Stayed for three nights. Good comfortable rooms, nice freindly and helpful staff without being too pretentious, happy to have a chat. Breakfast was served quickly and was nice and clean on the mornings I was not too hungover to enjoy it! The season was only just starting so i'm guessing it gets a bit busier peak summer, but even so they had some entertainment laid on in the evenings for the people that were there. The hotel is situated in a really great place where you can walk into Shanklin and the restaurants and bars that go with it. My room had a great seaview and had everything i needed, shower etc. Good value and a great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Had a lovely holiday at this hotel. It was warm and clean. Comfy beds. Friendly staff; nothing was too much trouble. Sara especially worked very hard to please everyone. Food was good and plentiful. Entertainment every evening.
A very good choice by Williams Coach Travel, Cornwall.

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fairydellpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#37 of 51 in Shanklin
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marlborough Hotel
Marlborough Hotel
#24 of 51 in Shanklin
166 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#4 of 29 in Sandown
749 reviews
1.9 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 29 in Sandown
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel

Address: 4-6 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: £43 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight
Melbourne Ardenlea Shanklin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing