We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect position, lovely staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Ranked #45 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect position, lovely staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Stayed here the last 2 weeks in June 2013, on arrival the staff couldn't of been more helpful, the room was bright and sunny and well furnished, the bathroom was modern and appeared to be nearly new, I did the "hotel inspector" dust and grime search but it was spotless!
Breakfast was perfect, lots of fruit, cereals, juices and a lovely full English (fried bread to die for), nice clean sunny dining room, waiting staff were excellent especially the twins!
Well positioned with sea views, plenty of secure parking, 2 minutes from the town centre, 1 minute to the cliff path and lift to the beach.
To sum up, great hotel, great staff and good value for money.

Room Tip: There are 3 rooms with balconies at the front, try to book one of these!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 430Jimbo143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    89
    79
    47
    74
See reviews for
111
145
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Very outdated, from avocado bathroom complete with carpet not well maintained, but the older guests seemed delighted. They staff are great but i was so disappointed. I thought the price over the top for standard of hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aposi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shanklin hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

This is the worst hotel I have ever been to, we couldn't even face staying the night, the rooms are old fashioned and not one piece of furniture was without stains or damage ! The bed is made up of a sheet and some old itchy blankets with a stained headboard and smelly cushions. The wallpaper torn in places and the walls were coated in dust ! My room smelt of mould and the windows were cracked . Can't say much about the staff or the food as we didn't stay long enough ! Don't waste your money on this run down dump !!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Meliss123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

Room was comfortable and clean but decor is very dated, staff were friendly and as I was here on business and not paying it did not bother me to much. Not sure if her indoors would find it so comfortable. Swimming pool is nice but the sauna was a waste of time due to gaping hole in the door surround, jacuzzi was out of commission due to a leak. Good location but not sure if I would use again.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinC907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

As ever on reading reviews they can be mixed. We (2 adults, 1 child) arrived midday on Saturday. Our room was ready and was excellent!! We had a family suite and it consisted of a main double room, separate bedroom with a single bed and bunk beds. The whole suite was spotlessly clean and nice and warm.
The hotel staff were very welcoming and friendly. We only ate breakfast and that was fine, a typical hotel fry up but lots of fruit and cereal.
Good location for Shanklin or travelling elsewhere on the island. All in all, perfect value.

Room Tip: Try to bag a family room, we had room 31 and it was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cath783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

We brought 48 bellringers here last week and the hotel staff couldn't do enough for us. They are friendly, nothing was too much trouble, and service in the restaurant was the best we have had after taking this group away for many years. We had to be off early each day to ring so they started breakfast service early and we were all fed and watered in three quarters of an hour. The rooms were all clean and although the swimming pool area could do with a make-over the pool itself was lovely. We just wish we could take this hotel and it's staff with us on all our trips. Thanks to Amelia, her girls and all the staff for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room, although the view is limited, they get the most sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

Called to book on the ferry on the way over and my booking was taken without any hassle. Stayed for three nights. Good comfortable rooms, nice freindly and helpful staff without being too pretentious, happy to have a chat. Breakfast was served quickly and was nice and clean on the mornings I was not too hungover to enjoy it! The season was only just starting so i'm guessing it gets a bit busier peak summer, but even so they had some entertainment laid on in the evenings for the people that were there. The hotel is situated in a really great place where you can walk into Shanklin and the restaurants and bars that go with it. My room had a great seaview and had everything i needed, shower etc. Good value and a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.2 mi away
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Shanklin Beach Hotel
#34 of 54 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eastmount Hall Hotel
Eastmount Hall Hotel
#11 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#36 of 54 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palmerston Grange
Palmerston Grange
#25 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#1 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Medehamstede Hotel
Medehamstede Hotel
#32 of 54 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel

Property: Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Address: 4-6 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight
Melbourne Ardenlea Shanklin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing