We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean but dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Ranked #46 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Clean but dated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Stayed here as a family of 4, we chose this hotel as it had a swimming pool and we thought this would be good for the children - pool was clean but rather cold Bbbrrrr!
Rooms were spotless, warm (and I am fussy) and the beds were very comfortable.
What lets this hotel down is that it appears nothing has been updated in years - it is like going on holiday to your Grans house. The entrance hall/seating area really is very dated and first impressions are so very important! The breakfast too was, sadly, a far cry from the likes of that offered generally as standard nowadays.
Staff were friendly and polite but a little unprofessional-looking? - one of the waiters was in smart white shirt/black trousers but then bright blue trainers?? odd!
I think this has the potential to be a great little hotel but needs the owners to invest and bring it up to date - there are hundreds of hotels etc to chose from on the Island and at the moment, the way I see it is there is not a lot to make you chose this hotel over the others.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    89
    79
    47
    74
See reviews for
111
145
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
amsterdam
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

This hotel was rather a dissapointment for me. I find it very dated, the lounge, the pool area and the room itself.

Yet, the bathroom had a good water pressure and instant warm water. The beds were very large and comfortable and the room was of good size. We also had a nice view to the street and a bit to the sea.

Cleanliness of the room was ok minus. Also, the windows is old, of wood and had some mold on it. Internet in the room worked but not very good.

The wellness area had its good times long ago. Its really not welcoming any more and the swimming pool was much too cold to have a swim and rather a dissapointment.

The breakfast was another downside of this hotel. The scramble eggs tasted like nothing. All the rest was very heavy and fat.

All in all, I would book again but not for this money. The wellness and the breakfast are really bad. The room is not my taste and dated but the bed was good and large, warm water was excellent, room size was good, it has much light and nice view.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miechiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shanklin hotels

Pune, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Melbourne - Ardenlea hotel stay is comfortable and warm and it so goes to the friendly people who are around! Loved my stay there and the closeness to the places like the beach and the old Village ...worth staying any time you visit Isle of Wight....

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sadhna29959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
432 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

I was going to put average for the rating but gave it very good for one simple reason - they are very dog friendly - even if it is not mentioned on the website/in the hotel blurb or anywhere else.

We took a last minute decision to bring along our dog who'd been a bit poorly and I phoned to ask if they allowed dogs (yes) if I needed to be in a particular room (no) if I needed to give them forewarning (no) and if it cost any extra (no)..............in this day and age, this is quite unusual!

The rest was pretty average - the room we were in (room 15) looked along the side of the hotel towards the sea and it was a reasonable size (it had a double and single bed in it) but the décor was pretty dated with plenty of storage space, but a dressing table (who even has a dressing table nowadays?) across the window which was most likely to have a view - and you ended up in bed, staring at yourself in the mirror - which in my case isn't ideal!

On the plus side the bathroom looked like it had a refresh recently.

Whilst other reviews have said the breakfast was good - I'm afraid we've stayed in the Havelock next door - and breakfast is so much better there!

Room Tip: Room 10 (which one of my friends were in) is a bay fronted room looking over the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roodeberglodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Visited Isle of Wight to get over post-holiday blues and boy did I blow them away. Right from the start the staff were gracious and extremely helpful answering all my questions even to the point of showing me how to use my computer. The hotel was busy with two coach trips of pensioners partying to Buddy Holly but still nothing was too much trouble. The room was clean and adequately sized, the bed very comfortable and the shower powerful. The pool was beautiful and the sauna and jaccuzzi looked tempting too. Around Shanklin the pub walk I took was a joy and luckily the local bus service was regular! All in all a smashing stay. I recommend an early morning walk on the beach not far at all from the hotel.

Room Tip: choose any. I chose the cheapest and it was fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolinet374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worthing, west sussex
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Hotel is clean even if the décor is a bit dated. The cooked breakfast was good and there is a good selection of cereals at the breakfast buffet. It is close to the beach and to Shanklin village. The hotel was very quiet even with several families there. The hotel has a pool and sauna and jacuzzi which are handy if the weather is bad.

Room Tip: Room 42 has a balcony and a view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bangoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catrine
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

This was a pleasant hotel, nothing special, ok the staff were friendly but it is a tad dated, breakfast was minimal and didnt eat at night time in the dining room as there was nothing on the menu i wished to eat... Very basic menu. Only two power sockets, obviously our room wasnt modernised like the one's on the web site.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceres42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.2 mi away
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Shanklin Beach Hotel
#34 of 54 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eastmount Hall Hotel
Eastmount Hall Hotel
#11 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#36 of 54 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palmerston Grange
Palmerston Grange
#25 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.1 mi away
Medehamstede Hotel
Medehamstede Hotel
#32 of 54 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel

Property: Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Address: 4-6 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight
Melbourne Ardenlea Shanklin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing