We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good and not so good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Ranked #42 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“good and not so good”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Just returned from 6 day holiday with Holiday Shop coach firm.The Hotel is pleasantly situated close to Shanklin old village & Chine.Food here is first class with a good choice of dinner menu breakfast is excellent with help yourself cereals fruit juices etc.& a bowl of fresh fruit daily.Bedroom was ok & comfortable but the room was not Hoovered once throughout our stay but other than that was very clean & quiet.The waiting on staff were excellent & service was very good & quick.The only downside was the entertainment or more precisely lack of it,all we had was a country & western singer who was good but just performed for 2 hours then rushed off at 10pm to perform somewhere else,and that was it for the week.The reason given was that if coaches don't bring a certain amount with them no entertainment is given due to cost,but don't think it would cost anything to offer bingo or a quiz on some nights.So a great hotel overall but not for those who like a bit of entertainment.












































Just returned from a 6 day coach holiday

Room Tip: front rooms have sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frankie060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    96
    81
    51
    75
See reviews for
113
157
17
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have just returned from a short break at this hotel and found it was exactly what we needed. The other reviews were extremely helpful: the hotel is rather dated and old- fashioned, but the staff were exceptionally friendly and accommodating. The main attraction for us, a family of 4 with two 'growing up' children, was the pool. This was almost always empty, the Jacuzzi (20 minutes for £1) and sauna (ask and they will switch it on for you) were real treats after a rainy day sight- seeing. The family room we had was not huge, but was clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was exactly as described: a good choice and very tasty. Compared with the rather characterless, chain hotels we have stayed in elsewhere, this was a very pleasant change.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

A family run hotel with a staff keen to provide great service We received a warm welcome upon arrival. The room was clean and well equipped. Dining room service was prompt and dinner was tasty. It begs for a return visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiseowl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had a few days here and we had a very relaxing time the room was well decorated clean and tidy with lovely comfortable beds. The pool room was fabulous with the water temperature just perfect. staff were friendly and welcoming and the hotel is in the perfect position for a walk down to beach or a walk into town. All in all a most enjoyable visit we will be back for more of the same.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I booked a last minute 3 day break over the Easter holidays, I had no idea what to expect. I loved this place, from the very warm welcome when we checked in to the really nice waiting staff. The bar area is perfect for relaxing after a long day exploring. Rooms were very clean and the beds were really comfortable. Breakfast was cooked lovely, a good choice of cereals, fruits and a good range of hot drinks. The massive bonus was the indoor pool and the hot tub (£1 for 20 mins). I have read reviews that knock the decor etc, it's a very old building and I am glad they haven't modernised the interior, it gives the hotel a homely feel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Can't fault this. Hotel excellent, room clean, all we asked, plenty of room and towels. Staff in dining room and indeed everywhere VERY helpful. Bent over backward to be helpful. Meals varied, well cooked and tasty. Clean table linen daily if needed. Nice to have real tablecloths as well!
Lounge areas excellent, plenty of comfy chairs and sofas. Pool,sauna, jacuzzi used by my Daughter and declared great. Nice quiet room in case anyone feels like a quiet read. All in all a nice hotel which I hope we will have the pleasure of returning some day not to far away.
Thank you to ALL the staff for making our stay so pleasant.

Room Tip: Room 5 ground floor with large walk in shower, quiet and comfy. TV on wall and was fine.very near di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We have just returned from five days in the Melbourne Ardenlea. Most things were good. The down sides were very small room for two people to share and extremely small bathroom. The beds were OK with plenty of covers and it was comfy enough. The room was OK for a single person but not two people. Some rooms I know were larger. The food was good, evening meals especially. The breakfasts were OK. I prefer more fresh fruit instead of tinned, which I do not like. There were oranges and apples but no bananas. The healthy option consisted of three revitas, ham and cheese with an apple cut in two (classed as two pieces of fruit). Cheese and ham is definitely not healthy. Regarding staff most were very good, there was just one lady who was less than friendly. Oh and the cooked breakfasts were cold.

Room Tip: Not all rooms are the same some in our party had good rooms. We did not get a choice perhaps you cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.2 mi away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#36 of 52 in Shanklin
46 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
#10 of 52 in Shanklin
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marlborough Hotel
Marlborough Hotel
#21 of 52 in Shanklin
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Brunswick Hotel
Brunswick Hotel
#12 of 52 in Shanklin
192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Medehamstede Hotel
Medehamstede Hotel
#33 of 52 in Shanklin
288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eastmount Hall Hotel
Eastmount Hall Hotel
#11 of 52 in Shanklin
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel

Property: Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Address: 4-6 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight
Melbourne Ardenlea Shanklin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing