We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few days away in the sunshine!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Ranked #45 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My husband, myself and our dog decided on the Isle of Wight as it appeared to be one of the best places for the sunshine (July 16th onwards). I looked up dog friendly hotels on the Island and the Melbourne-Ardenlea was the first to appear. It read well and looked fine from the booking.com website so we threw caution to the wind and booked. On arrival the hotel looked ok if somewhat dated. Our check-in was fine, we were greeted by a very friendly member of staff and even though we were a little early our room was ready. We had a large double four poster room at the front of the hotel which was great. The Melbourne-Ardenlea was a super find, although the hotel is in need of serious updating the facilities on offer are great. It doesn't profess to be a boutique hotel, it is a very friendly hotel that offers superb value for money. We stayed for four days and would not hesitate to book this hotel again, what it lacks in state of the art decoration is more than made up by the very friendly members of staff - thank you.

Room Tip: Room 14 Large four poster front room with larger than average bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Liz E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

The best hotel so close to the beach and old village it was the ideal location for me.the room was clean and i think has been updated abit breakfast was very good very quick my table was away from everybody so was a bit lonely i think next year i will ask to join the rest

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank broons19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

On arival wasn't what we were expecting.. Dated, strains on carpets, we didn't like the carpet in the bathroom.. However after two days staying here we fell in love with the place..all staff were wonderful couldn't do enough for you and made you feel as a friend.. Breakfast adequate, was brought quickly and again filled us up for the day.. Was hot so had to buy a fan as all were already taken but peaceful relaxing sleep with no noise.. Pool fantastic and clean.. We have stayed in many hotels in London where you get modern but let's face it pay alot for it..this place for customer service good breakfast and easy access to good location for that price defo worth the money and would stay again

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Cleanliness
Thank MJFrancock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We enjoyed a lovely holiday with such friendly staff and very tasty food. Would certainly book the same hotel again. On arrival we had a warm welcome and our cases were taken and put outside our rooms. Very impressed with Peter the maintenance man who came to our tables each morning to ask if there was anything that needed doing. One person in our party spilt a glass of red wine on their clothes, the staff laundered and ironed the garment and was returned like new the next day.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avril J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The onyl reason this hotel managed to score a 2 was because of the friendly staff. The room itself, although adequate, had stained carpet that meant I felt like I to keep my shoes on at all times. What was worse was the carpet in the bathroom, with the obligatory staining around the toilet, that smelt of urine. For £70 per night room only, i would expect more. The walls are paper thin - I could hear the gentleman in the room next door snoring! Luckily I had very early starts and late finishes so by the second night managed a few hours sleep. The location itself is very quiet, with only the odd drunk returning at about midnight. Shame Wifi doesn't work in the bedrooms - as a solo female traveller who spends a lot of time in hotels for work, it's nice to be able to sit in the room and catch up with emails, rather than have to deal with sitting in a bar and dealing with random drunk guys, albeit they did make me smile and were harmless!
Reception isn't open before 7.30 am, so I had to leave my key on the side and hope for the best as I had to be at work for 6am.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank nat029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The person(s) who should have booked for our party (6 rooms) had slipped up and when we arrived, the poor woman on the desk knew nothing about us coming. It took her about 2 minutes to put this right, and we, the advance guard, had the key to out room within 5 minutes. The room was a delight, with a balcony with the best view on the island. As musicians, we came back late at night and they kept the bar open specially for us. Next morning, nothing too much trouble and breafast very nice.

Room Tip: Get one with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We received a very warm welcome to this conveniently situated hotel. Our luggage was taken to our rooms.
Food was generally good if plain but speed of service left something to be desired at times. There seemed to be a shortage of waiting staff.
Some of our group had quite pleasant rooms but pours, although we could see the sea through the trees, was over the area where smokers sat which meant we had their smoke in our room and it was sometimes noisy until late as people sat out side talking. The room needed re-decorating as there was paper an plaster missing from a badly scuffe wall corner in the very small room.
The room seemed clean but we did notice that the dining room floor was not vacumed. The maintenance man came to each table each breakfast time to ask if there was anything needing attention. We thought this was a goo idea but the scuffed corner in our room stayed like that!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms above the outdoor seating area. Front rooms have the sea views through the trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CEJoneses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#36 of 51 in Shanklin
55 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
747 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Medehamstede Hotel
Medehamstede Hotel
#32 of 51 in Shanklin
312 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#9 of 29 in Sandown
455 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sandown Hotel
Sandown Hotel
#22 of 29 in Sandown
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel

Address: 4-6 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: £25 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight
Melbourne Ardenlea Shanklin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing