We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved It”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shanklin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Swiss Cottage Shanklin
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved It”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

We loved it at Swiss Cottage because the rooms were Clean, well decorated and everything you need for a relaxed stay.

Breakfast was really good as was the service.

Swiss Cottage is located in a nice quiet road but so near the High street and the beach.
Our hosts Christine & Keith were lovely and made us feel welcome, so we will go again next year.
Elain & Dennis. Hornchurch. Essex

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LANEY06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this review, 30 June 2016
Dear Guests
We would like to thankyou for your review and lovely comments on our establishment.
We never imagined that we would get so many reviews and positive feedback when we are doing something that we both enjoy and love to do.
Thank you again for the lovely time you spent with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards
Keith & Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    22
    3
    3
    5
See reviews for
86
124
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

mr mrs dawson from oxford

excellent hosts the geust house in situated just off the main road for the town
the food excellent i would stongley recomend to other familes

Room Tip: the room spotless every thing thought of to help geusts in their stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawspet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this review, 30 June 2016
Dear Guests
We would like to thankyou for your review and lovely comments on our establishment.
We never imagined that we would get so many reviews and positive feedback when we are doing something that we both enjoy and love to do.
Thank you again for the lovely time you spent with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards
Keith & Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eastbourne
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

My son and I enjoyed our stay with Keith and Christine very much Our rooms were kept scrupulously clean and were decorated to a high standard It was a home from home
I would reccomend it to anyone and will definately be going back in the future

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monteybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this review, 30 June 2016
Dear Guests
We would like to thankyou for your review and lovely comments on our establishment.
We never imagined that we would get so many reviews and positive feedback when we are doing something that we both enjoy and love to do.
Thank you again for the lovely time you spent with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards
Keith & Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend on Sea
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

We have been staying at the Swiss Cottage with our friends for the last three years.

We have always found it a really nice place to stay, its always clean, the rooms are perfect for what we want and more importantly our hosts Keith and Christine are always there if you need them and are always friendly and welcoming.

Unfortunatly this year it will only be us two instead of four but as always we look forward to our stay and Christines lovely breakfasts.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Essexgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this review, 30 June 2016
Dear Guests
We would like to thankyou for your review and lovely comments on our establishment.
We never imagined that we would get so many reviews and positive feedback when we are doing something that we both enjoy and love to do.
Thank you again for the lovely time you spent with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards
Keith & Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

If you're looking for a comfortable, friendly base from which to explore the island, then look no further.....this is definitely it!

It is clear that the owners, Keith and Christine, take great pride in the hotel. All rooms are newly decorated and the carpets obviously vacuumed daily, rooms ditto and ensuite bathrooms also cleaned daily. Their attention to detail was noticed and appreciated.

The rooms were great - very clean and comfortable. Lots of little touches - a bathroom kit (just in case you've forgotten a toothbrush or toothpaste!) but more importantly, hot chocolate and biscuits on the tea tray!!

I stayed half board and both the breakfast and evening meals were excellent. A choice of cereals, fruit juices, a full cooked or a lighter option (toast and beans/scrambled egg/tomatoes etc) for breakfast. Evening meals were of the three course variety - chosen from a good selection with adaptions for specific dietary requirements readily accepted. Copious amounts of tea and coffee served with both meals.

After an evening stroll, a drink from the hotel bar in the lounge was the perfect end to the day. The relaxed atmosphere leant itself to bare feet or slippers and curling up on the sofa while having a chat to Keith with drink in hand - us not him!!!

Overall, I totally enjoyed my stay. Keith and Christine were the epitomy of friendliness - extremely welcoming. As a first time visitor, I felt like I'd known them forever :-) Will definitely go back.

Thanks very much to you both - Karen (Stokes)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenS74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this review, 30 June 2016
Dear Guests
We would like to thankyou for your review and lovely comments on our establishment.
We never imagined that we would get so many reviews and positive feedback when we are doing something that we both enjoy and love to do.
Thank you again for the lovely time you spent with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards
Keith & Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

My daughter and I stayed for 3 nights over the bank holiday, welcome was friendly,room was spotless, facilities good and my daughter loved the breakfast complete with vegetarian suasages

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaH058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this review, 30 June 2016
Dear Guests
We would like to thankyou for your review and lovely comments on our establishment.
We never imagined that we would get so many reviews and positive feedback when we are doing something that we both enjoy and love to do.
Thank you again for the lovely time you spent with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards
Keith & Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Hotel and location is excellent to reach everything in Shankin. Hosts and service couldn't have been more helpful. If there was something you couldn't eat, an alternative was offered. A lovely bar to enjoy a drink before and after evening meals. Lounge very comfortable to relax after a tiring day. Bedrooms had that little extra comfort - television with dvd, mini fridge and of course complimentary tea tray.

Room Tip: Two lovely ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidaysIOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this review, 30 June 2016
Dear Guests
We would like to thankyou for your review and lovely comments on our establishment.
We never imagined that we would get so many reviews and positive feedback when we are doing something that we both enjoy and love to do.
Thank you again for the lovely time you spent with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards
Keith & Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#7 of 54 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swiss Cottage Shanklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swiss Cottage Shanklin

Property: The Swiss Cottage Shanklin
Address: 10 St. Georges Road, Shanklin PO37 6BA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Shanklin
#2 Best Value Hotel in Shanklin
#4 Luxury Hotel in Shanklin
#6 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#11 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swiss Cottage Shanklin 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello There, We are now filling up fast so hurry up and contact us as we are 60% full for our 2016 Season already! The Swiss Cottage is the Pride of Shanklin and has been consistently voted in the Top Five with 96% or 5/5 Satisfaction for being one of the best in the Hotel category for Shanklin & the whole of the Isle of Wight. We have now won two Trip Advisor Travelers Choice Awards in 2011/12 & 2013/14 aswell as Certificates of Excellence in the past 5 years running since 2012 to 2016. We have also been awarded a much sought after Green Leaders Gold Level Award in 2014 & 2016 for being Environmentally Friendly re our Towel, Linen, Lighting & Recycling procedures, so we would like to Thank all those who have abided by our simple guidelines to help us achieve this Award. In October 2014 we were voted the Best B&B/Guest Accommodation on the Island and were also placed in 4th Place as Highly Commended in the prestigious Tourism's The Beautiful South Awards. So why not check us out and read what everyone is saying about us! We are continually updating and keep the place clean and modern by putting in new comfy seating on the decking area, touching up the rooms and improving the place even more for your comfort. Although it only has 8 en suite bedrooms, our guest accommodation has that personal touch that many of the larger Hotels doesn't provide and is run by Keith & Christine the Owners. Whether it is B & B or Half Board we have tried to cater for everyone's needs whether single, double, friends or families, (sorry NO Children under 10 years of age or babies/infants), a safe environment for females and groups, in our comfortable modern bedrooms and bathrooms that we have converted in this old 1866 family home. (Unfortunately we do charge a Single Supplement in our School Summer Holidays and also slightly higher rates over our popular Bank Holidays & Festival Weekends. We have tried to think of everything for you, from Flat screen TVs, DVD, CD Players, Sky, Free WI-FI, fans, mini fridges and much more to make your stay a pleasurable one! We also arrange discounted Car Ferry crossing for you with Red Funnel or Wightlink. Unfortunately due to our continuing popularity, we no longer take one/two nighters as minimum stay is 3 nights as we now specialize in short breaks of 3/4 nights and a weeks holiday to ensure you see as much as the Island as you can. All of the above has transformed this property into a 4 Star plus with a coveted Silver Award for Service, Cleanliness and Hospitality and also a much sought after Breakfast Award for our full and varied Breakfast. We know and are realistic that after reading all our wonderful reviews, there are always some people out there who will come to try shoot us down, nick pick everything and will try our patience, leave rooms in a state, go against our guidelines and generally be unruly, so if you are one of them we ask that you go elsewhere as we only happy to accept friendly respectful guests here, who want to enjoy themselves with us. We may meet as strangers but all our guests leave as friends. A Home from Home but don't forget to bring your slippers! Kind Regards Keith & Christine ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Swiss Cottage Shanklin Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing