We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shanklin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Swiss Cottage Shanklin
Ranked #9 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Stayed at Swiss Cottage over the August Bank holiday,Keith & Christine do there upmost to make your stay with them as comfortable as humanly possible,they are both very friendly,have genuine interests in there guests,the hotel is very Clean,the rooms are very spacious and immaculate.Breakfast and Dinner you have plenty of choice.There rates offer great value for money,i cannot praise this Hotel enough,it was my first time staying at Swiss Cottage and should i go to The Isle Of Wight for The Scooter Rally next Year,i know where i will be staying.

Room Tip: Any Room is a Great Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreenOlive1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2016

Dear Guests
We would like to thankyou for your review and lovely comments on our establishment.
We never imagined that we would get so many reviews and positive feedback when we are doing something that we both enjoy and love to do.
Thank you again for the lovely time you spent with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards
Keith & Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2011

This was a wonderful and stunning stay at the Swiss Cottage Hotel. Firstly the meals, they were fabulous. Breakfast and Dinner were something to look forward too. The rooms were superb as was the hotel. The shops were very close by only a few minutes away. The high street was a minute away which was very easy to get to. Most people would find this visit fantastic so I recommend this to everyone including yourself. All thanks to Keith and Christina and Kylie. They made the stay 100 times better.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris_X364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2016

Dear Guests
We would like to thankyou for your review and lovely comments on our establishment.
We never imagined that we would get so many reviews and positive feedback when we are doing something that we both enjoy and love to do.
Thank you again for the lovely time you spent with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards
Keith & Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

This was a pleasant, enjoyable, stay with Christine and Keith ,the food was amazing the rooms were very clean and tidy with very good decoration, and excellent room and dinner service . We would recommend Swiss cottage to any family who are looking for a comfortable and relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bethany_22_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2016

Dear Guests
We would like to thankyou for your review and lovely comments on our establishment.
We never imagined that we would get so many reviews and positive feedback when we are doing something that we both enjoy and love to do.
Thank you again for the lovely time you spent with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards
Keith & Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

As I hadn't been to the Isle of Wight for at least 20 years, and my partner had never been before, we decided to spend a short stay here. Lovely clean, homely hotel, with friendly, welcoming staff. The only possible flaw was our room was the only one without an en-suite bathroom, but we are more than willing to overlook this, and we were made aware of it before we arrived. Breakfast was cooked fresh to order and was very nice. Set in a very quaint location in the Old Village, with easy short-walk access to the beach and town centre. The owners, Keith and Christine, were very accommodating, and couldn't do enough for us, even providing us with an electric fan on a particularly hot day!! In all, four words summed up our stay here - See You Next Year!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2016

Dear Guests
We would like to thankyou for your review and lovely comments on our establishment.
We never imagined that we would get so many reviews and positive feedback when we are doing something that we both enjoy and love to do.
Thank you again for the lovely time you spent with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards
Keith & Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Our decision to go to the IOW was very last minute.  When we phoned to book Keith also offered to book the ferry for us, which was helpful and slightly cheaper that booking with the ferry company at the time.

On arrival we received a warm welcome and found the accommodation to be spacious and clean. It was evident that the place has been refurbished recently and it was a pleasant place to stay. The location is good for both walking into the town and the beach.

At breakfast there was plenty of selection, the portions sizes were big and the quality was good.  We had dinner one night and found that to also to be of good quality, proper home cooked food!

Keith and Christine were helpful and friendly throughout our stay. We enjoyed our stay and I would highly recommend The Swiss Cottage Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2016

Dear Guests
We would like to thankyou for your review and lovely comments on our establishment.
We never imagined that we would get so many reviews and positive feedback when we are doing something that we both enjoy and love to do.
Thank you again for the lovely time you spent with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards
Keith & Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

I have visited Swiss Cottage on several w occasions and it never disappoints me. The warm and friendly reception I get from Christine and Keith is wonderful. The rooms are decorated beautifully and are extremely clean and well maintained. The extra little touches are excellent i.e. small fridge in the room, sewing kit, tooth picks etc in the bathroom. I will definitely be visiting again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 01sandybeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2016

Dear Guests
We would like to thankyou for your review and lovely comments on our establishment.
We never imagined that we would get so many reviews and positive feedback when we are doing something that we both enjoy and love to do.
Thank you again for the lovely time you spent with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards
Keith & Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

My husband and I visited the Isle of Wight for the first time. We searched for accommodation on-line and came across the Swiss Cottage. We were so pleased that we did. Keith and Christine give you a very warm welcome and work extremely hard at looking after their guests and keeping their hotel spotless. Good home food cooking with fresh ingredients. They go that extra mile to make sure that their guests are happy and well catered for. The rooms are beautifully refurbished and very comfortable. They are conveniently situated for all facilities and I highly recommend Swiss Cottage, if we decide to go back to the Island, we will definately be going back there.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2016

Dear Guests
We would like to thankyou for your review and lovely comments on our establishment.
We never imagined that we would get so many reviews and positive feedback when we are doing something that we both enjoy and love to do.
Thank you again for the lovely time you spent with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards
Keith & Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
882 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#8 of 51 in Shanklin
344 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
#10 of 51 in Shanklin
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rowborough Hotel
Rowborough Hotel
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
231 reviews
3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
954 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marlborough Hotel
Marlborough Hotel
#24 of 51 in Shanklin
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swiss Cottage Shanklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swiss Cottage Shanklin

Address: 10 St. Georges Road, Shanklin PO37 6BA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Shanklin
#1 Green Hotel in Shanklin
#3 Luxury Hotel in Shanklin
#6 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#10 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: £25 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swiss Cottage Shanklin 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello There, We are now filling up fast so hurry up and contact us as we are 70% full for our 2017 Season already! The Swiss Cottage is the Pride of Shanklin and has been consistently voted in the Top Five with 96% or 5/5 Satisfaction for being one of the best in the Hotel category for Shanklin & the whole of the Isle of Wight. We have now won three Trip Advisor Travelers Choice Awards in 2011/12 & 2013/14 and 2016/17 aswell as Certificates of Excellence in the past 6 years running since 2012 to 2017. We have also been awarded a much sought after Green Leaders Gold Level Award in 2014, 2016 & again in 2017 for being Environmentally Friendly re our Towel, Linen, Lighting & Recycling procedures, so we would like to Thank all those who have abided by our simple guidelines to help us achieve this Award. In October 2014 we were voted the Best B&B/Guest Accommodation on the Island and were also placed in 4th Place as Highly Commended in the prestigious Tourism's The Beautiful South Awards. So why not check us out and read what everyone is saying about us! We are continually updating and keep the place clean and modern by putting in new comfy seating on the decking area, touching up the rooms and improving the place even more for your comfort. Although it only has 8 en suite bedrooms, our guest accommodation has that personal touch that many of the larger Hotels doesn't provide and is run by Keith & Christine the Owners. Whether it is B & B or Half Board we have tried to cater for everyone's needs whether single, double, friends or families, (sorry NO Children under 10 years of age or babies/infants and no animals as we have pets of our own), a safe environment for females and groups, in our comfortable modern bedrooms and bathrooms that we have converted in this old 1866 family home. (Unfortunately we do charge a Single Supplement in our School Summer Holidays and also slightly higher rates over our popular Bank Holidays & Festival Weekends). We have tried to think of everything for you, from Flat screen TVs, DVD, CD Players, Sky, Free WI-FI, fans, mini fridges and much more to make your stay a pleasurable one! We also arrange discounted Car Ferry crossing for you with Red Funnel or Wightlink. Unfortunately due to our continuing popularity, we no longer take one/two nighters as minimum stay is 3 nights as we now specialize in short breaks of 3/4 nights and a weeks holiday to ensure you see as much as the Island as you can. All of the above has transformed this property into a 4 Star plus with a coveted Silver Award for Service, Cleanliness and Hospitality and also a much sought after Breakfast Award for our full and varied Breakfast. We know and are realistic that after reading all our wonderful reviews, there are always some people out there who will come to try shoot us down, nick pick everything and will try our patience, leave rooms in a state, go against our guidelines and generally be unruly, so if you are one of them we ask that you go elsewhere as we only happy to accept friendly respectful guests here, who want to enjoy themselves with us. We may meet as strangers but all our guests leave as friends. A Home from Home but don't forget to bring your slippers! Kind Regards Keith & Christine ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Swiss Cottage Shanklin Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing