We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend Break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Swiss Cottage Shanklin

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shanklin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Swiss Cottage Shanklin
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Weekend Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

This place is a little gem, from the moment you arrive to the time leave you are made most welcome. The hospitality of keith and christine is brilliant. Room was excellent and the breakfast kept you going all day. Would heartily recommend this to anyone who visits the island. i will certainly book again when i next return to the island.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
A Little Gem were you talking of me or of your stay!
Glad we could accommodate you for your short weekend break and we look forward to seeing you again for a little bit longer?
Chris & Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    22
    3
    3
    5
See reviews for
86
123
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

This was my second stay with Christine and Keith. As before, they made me and my family very welcome. It was like staying with old friends - very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Rooms were perfectly clean and tidy as was the hotel in general. The food was great as always, especially the omelettes and the cheese and tomato tarts!!!! There was plenty of it too so an evening walk was always in order to walk it off, with the seafront and old town both only a short walk away. All food is cooked to order and Chris was always happy to adapt the menu to suit specific dietary requirements. As I said, nothing was too much trouble. I have no doubt that I will be staying with them again :-) Thanks Chris and Keith - another great stay...awesome weather helped too! x

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent - some have ensuite shower rooms and some baths with showers over, so specif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenS74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Awesome!
Great to read another glowing review and we are pleased you enjoyed our Evening meal service that we serve as standard, as we are not just a B & B like alot of others.
Please you loved my Tarts! Ha Ha!
Awesome Family and well done with your little walk for Charity!
Much Love
Chris & Keith
xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Me and my husband Jim have just had a week in Shanklin, we stayed at the Swiss cottage it was our second visit.The owners Christine & Keith made us so welcome.
Nothing was to much trouble, The food was excellent, could not fault any of it,
We felt as if Chris & Keith were long time friends by the time we left, we also met some really nice people while we were there it was most enjoyable. the people we met on the isle of Wight were very friendly and made us feel welcome where ever we went.
We will certainly go back again,
The rooms are clean and comfortable every thing you would need for a nice break.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sally b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
It is so nice for people to write such a lovely review without being asked or chased to do it.
The best Reviews are those that are completed straightaway and are truly heartfelt.
Even though we are Overlanders ourselves the IOW people are very friendly to all and it is a safe care free, slow pace of life and environment to be in.
What more can you ask for, a early morning stroll down the beach with sand in between your toes!
Thank you two and we most certainly would love you to come back to see us.
Kind Regards
Christine & Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

just stayed at the swiss cottage for 4 nights b&b, very clean and tidy, very good location, owners very friendly and happy, good food and we got 4 nights for the price of 3, the 4 of us will definitely be going back there for another break and we would recommend it for any one else.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pompeyhants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Pleased you liked out Mid Season 4 Nights for the price of 3.
Many of our guests this year have snapped up this offer which made us 80% full for the month of May which is very nice position to be in.
We repeat this offer in October for the last month of our season.
Hope to see you all again soon but remember make sure you book up early!
Christine & Keith
PS We forgive you for only marking us at 98%.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanford-Le-Hope, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

The triumph sports six club Essex area spent four fantastic days at this hotel over the first bank holiday in may. This was after a camping weekend with the Isle of Wight lot. Great rooms everything catered for. Lesley got a bath. We all had great breakfasts detailed to our choice. The cars two spitfires and a stag looked impressive on the front parking area. We loved the island and plan to be back next year if not sooner. Many thanks Keith and Christine .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tr7girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Fantastic Stay sums it all up.
Yes it was lovely to see the Triumphs on the forecourt which looked a picture and more the merrier next year when you return.
Glad also that you manged to fix the car for your homeward journey and is now purring like a kitten.
See you all soon
Christine & Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

We would like to thank Christine and Keith for making our stay a very comfortable and home from home experience. Also thank you to the young waitress (sorry we never got to know your name) who was very polite and courteous at all times.We stayed in the family room which provided 2 rooms plus a shower room. The little touches for the ladies was great, make up wipes, hair towel and hairdryer. There complimentary drinks in the fridge on arrival and also plenty of choices of teas coffee and other beverages There was plenty of storage space too. The breakfasts were very good.The B&B was very clean and run very efficiently by our hosts.We were there for our anniversary and they went out of there way to make it an extra special day for us.We have already recommended Swiss Cottage to family and friends who may wish to visit the island in the future. We will definitely stay there again on our return visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BevL526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Hi Guys
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, as we did with you.
We were also pleased that you chose us to celebrate your wedding anniversary with us and enjoyed the decorated table, bubbly and banners to mark the occasion.
I know the other guests who also took part in the celebration took to you as well.
From a ladies point of view I was glad that you were not offended by our many little touches for the ladies,i.e. make up wipes, hair towel and hairdryer etc.
We will see you when you celebrate your next Anniversary or your next Holiday
Kind Regards
Christine & Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

I was part of the party that Roger 44-44 speaks about and I would agree with all he has to say. The rooms were very well appointed and there was more than enough storage space. The hotel was exceptionally clean and the breakfasts efficiently produced,and of excellent quality, but I do feel that with a little flexibility we could have been accommodated on one table which would have been preferable. I would second Roger's comments about the heating which was not always adequate. One further point is that the car parking facilities are very restricted and it would not be a good place for someone who had difficulty in manoeuvring a car in a tight space. I did find all the rules in the guest information somewhat off putting, I could see the reasons for them but they were expressed in a rather peremptory fashion and some of them, such as the instructions on the removal of make-up, struck me as rather insulting, but then I never wear make-up. Had it not been for these reservations Swiss Cottage would have scored excellent in my estimation. It is also ideally placed for access on foot to both the cliffs and the town and the numerous good restaurants in Shanklin.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCP1662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Thank you for a lovely review with a twist at the end.
Most of your comments have already been responded to with the previous review.
However, I am sorry if you found it insulting for me to ask and to supply ladies with the means to remove their make -up, as experience has proven there are some ladies who do not bring any toiletries which will remove an oil based foundation/make-up (soap and water does not always to the job) which then means that the remaining residue is transferred to our lovely white towels or worse are used as a means to remove makeup / lipstick etc.. rather than cleansers.
We have had to dispose of and replace many towels because of this. I do not think that it is that unreasonable to ask ladies to do so.
The face wipes/eye makeup removers are a small part of the extensive range of toiletries that we provide as a standard service, unlike many other establishments who just supply the usual soap, shower gel/shampoo.
Maybe this is being picky but you say you don’t wear makeup and as such didn't use them but you still took the pack anyway.

As for the other ‘Rules’, these are ten personal requests to guests to help us to maintain our rooms to the standard that they are when guests arrive and are quite simply the same methods of conduct that are carried out within their own homes. Milk left in the bedroom glass over night, would you not empty and rinse the glass at home?
All have which have been past by the Hotel Inspector as Helpful items to help each other.

Car parking problems? This was not raised, like the other comments, to us during your week long stay. The bays are clearly marked and are for standard car sizes. Maybe the layout is not perfect but without chopping down our lovely Palm Trees which have been there for 60+ years and a feature to our property or lessening the number of spaces, we cannot alter the layout. The maneuvering of the vehicles is simply down to the standard of driving, as my husband as a large Rover 75 and can park in all 6 spaces forwards and backwards on our forecourt.
Again we are a large converted House which you have specifically chosen for its charm and ambiance but it maybe you are more suited to a large Hotel that you didn't want to stay in?
I'm confused.

Although the table issue has already been covered, I would like to add that 2 of the 4 rooms were on the same 4 person table (less than 3 feet away) with the remaining 2 rooms on separate adjacent tables (less than 15 inches apart) and not as suggested on individual separate tables as stated, which sounds like they were split up in the dining room.
However, bearing in mind the layout of our dining room and our larger restaurant tables and leather high backed chairs, this does not always allow us to make up tables for parties of 6 or more banquet style, as it can then impede on the ease of service and accessibility for both guests and waitress.
Again had 1 member of your party come to us personally, we could have tried to compromise.
I will assume also reading your reviews on the restaurants you ate at, that you specifically asked when booking the table, for a table of 7 but you didn't with us?

Maybe Guests should show us The Owners the same courtesy they show and give employed waiting staff at Restaurant etc then we too might of been able to assist them but as we are much younger than most of our guests they think they can disrespect us by critiquing and damaging our business with in all honesty silly minor comments.
Maybe they should of stayed at a Big Hotel at £50 or £60 per person instead of picking a smaller establishment and only paying £30 per night for B & B.
Christine Beckett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#5 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#7 of 54 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
#11 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swiss Cottage Shanklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swiss Cottage Shanklin

Property: The Swiss Cottage Shanklin
Address: 10 St. Georges Road, Shanklin PO37 6BA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Shanklin
#2 Best Value Hotel in Shanklin
#4 Luxury Hotel in Shanklin
#6 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#11 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swiss Cottage Shanklin 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello There, We are now filling up fast so hurry up and contact us as we are 60% full for our 2016 Season already! The Swiss Cottage is the Pride of Shanklin and has been consistently voted in the Top Five with 96% or 5/5 Satisfaction for being one of the best in the Hotel category for Shanklin & the whole of the Isle of Wight. We have now won two Trip Advisor Travelers Choice Awards in 2011/12 & 2013/14 aswell as Certificates of Excellence in the past 5 years running since 2012 to 2016. We have also been awarded a much sought after Green Leaders Gold Level Award in 2014 & 2016 for being Environmentally Friendly re our Towel, Linen, Lighting & Recycling procedures, so we would like to Thank all those who have abided by our simple guidelines to help us achieve this Award. In October 2014 we were voted the Best B&B/Guest Accommodation on the Island and were also placed in 4th Place as Highly Commended in the prestigious Tourism's The Beautiful South Awards. So why not check us out and read what everyone is saying about us! We are continually updating and keep the place clean and modern by putting in new comfy seating on the decking area, touching up the rooms and improving the place even more for your comfort. Although it only has 8 en suite bedrooms, our guest accommodation has that personal touch that many of the larger Hotels doesn't provide and is run by Keith & Christine the Owners. Whether it is B & B or Half Board we have tried to cater for everyone's needs whether single, double, friends or families, (sorry NO Children under 10 years of age or babies/infants), a safe environment for females and groups, in our comfortable modern bedrooms and bathrooms that we have converted in this old 1866 family home. (Unfortunately we do charge a Single Supplement in our School Summer Holidays and also slightly higher rates over our popular Bank Holidays & Festival Weekends. We have tried to think of everything for you, from Flat screen TVs, DVD, CD Players, Sky, Free WI-FI, fans, mini fridges and much more to make your stay a pleasurable one! We also arrange discounted Car Ferry crossing for you with Red Funnel or Wightlink. Unfortunately due to our continuing popularity, we no longer take one/two nighters as minimum stay is 3 nights as we now specialize in short breaks of 3/4 nights and a weeks holiday to ensure you see as much as the Island as you can. All of the above has transformed this property into a 4 Star plus with a coveted Silver Award for Service, Cleanliness and Hospitality and also a much sought after Breakfast Award for our full and varied Breakfast. We know and are realistic that after reading all our wonderful reviews, there are always some people out there who will come to try shoot us down, nick pick everything and will try our patience, leave rooms in a state, go against our guidelines and generally be unruly, so if you are one of them we ask that you go elsewhere as we only happy to accept friendly respectful guests here, who want to enjoy themselves with us. We may meet as strangers but all our guests leave as friends. A Home from Home but don't forget to bring your slippers! Kind Regards Keith & Christine ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Swiss Cottage Shanklin Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing