We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Swiss Cottage Shanklin” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Swiss Cottage Shanklin

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shanklin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Swiss Cottage Shanklin
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Swiss Cottage Shanklin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Three of us stayed with Keith and Christine in May this year. It was the first real holiday for all of us, My husband, myself and our fostered daughter (R) who is seventeen, I loved having no cooking or cleaning to do. We were thoroughly spoiled and because R is a little nervous we were given the family suite The rooms were immaculate, food excellent and hospitality second to none. Our young lady had a very small appetite so small meals were specially arranged for her. I am diabetic and my diet was also catered for. The teas, coffee and biscuits were replenished every day and the rooms vacuumed, beds re-made and bathrooms thoroughly cleaned. We had such a lovely stay that R cried when it was time to go home.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pennypiclinis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Hi Everyone
Thank you for such a great review and we are pleased that all of you enjoyed your stay.
We are also pleased that you found the Family Suite was perfect for the 3 of you and that Twiz enjoyed her specially prepared meals and stay.
Thank you also for sending such a lovely thank you card with the photo of all of us in the lounge which has taken pride of place on our sideboard for everyone to see.
It did get very emotional when you had to say goodbye but that just shows what a wonderful time you had with us and hopefully we will see you all again next year?
Take care and all the very best
Keith & Christine & Lizzi
xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    22
    3
    3
    5
See reviews for
86
123
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Lovely clean hotel with friendly welcome and great breakfasts! We had two adjacent rooms for ourselves and our two children in our 'own corridor' which worked really well. Short walk to the beach (with steps). Suited us very well.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigdaddyff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Hi to the Finches
Thanks for you review and kind words.
As we always grade ourselves as 100% on everything we provide our guests, we were a bit puzzled by why you marked us slightly down on 3 areas, especially as one was about the Family Suite which was a double and another twin bedded room which you said suited you much better (as the majority of other establishments only have Family Rooms which is only one room with bunk beds/beds in the same room) and also service? As you were only staying on B & B and didn't take in all our service i.e. Half Board Evening Bar and drinks etc.
I know I am being picky but it did score us 97% and every point counts.
Anyway I know you didn't mean anything by it, as we are with all our reviews open to everyone's comments.
See you again next year for a longer stay?
Kind Regards
Keith & Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Keith & Christine were excellent hosts, food was good and rooms very clean and comfortable with extras like toiletries, chocs and use of a fridge.
It was our first visit and they were very helpful with information about the island and Shanklin in particular. The booking of the ferry with the reservation made our journey so much easier and we had an enjoyable evening at the local theatre. Unfortunately the weather was mixed but
we enjoyed socialising in the bar with other guests We will certainly recommend Swiss Cottage to family and friends.

Room Tip: Any mobility difficulties - request a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thanks Margaret & David
We are so pleased you enjoyed your trip to the island and our accommodation.
The Ground Floor did suit your needs with David mobility difficulties but sorry to hear that getting around the Island was a bit difficult at times with all the humps and slopes that we have here.
Everyone assumes the Island is flat but in fact with all the different undulations and hills/downs it is very picturesque but not flat.
Anyway a great time had by all is the main thing and all the very best for the future
Kind Regards
Keith & Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Had a very relaxing stay Keith and Christine were great hosts the atmosphere was great and they were always on hand to help with any enquiry rooms were clean and adequate for all needs felt very homely would definitely return one day

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
To my Two Lovely Ladies
Thanks for your review and for keeping your rooms spotless for us.
As we ask all our guests to try to keep them tidy which then in turn helps us to help you more and I know Christine & Lizzi appreciated your efforts.
Glad our knowledge of the Island helped you see the best bits but still plenty more to see for when you come back next time.
Kind Regards
Keith & Christine & Lizzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Our first stay at the Swiss Cottage was excellent, Keith and Christine made us feel right at home. The owners, Christine and Keith, liaised with the ferry company so that everything from arriving at Portsmouth, to getting to Shanklin, to getting the ferry from the IOW was covered. The room which Ken [disabled] and I occupied during our all too short stay, was perfect. A variety of toiletries were available in the room. The full cooked Breakfast was great and set us up for the days in which to explore the island. Thank you both once again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stretch7250_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
To Peter & Ken our Two Tasmanian Devils
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We were a little concerned when we met Peter (who is well over 6 foot tall ) whether he would fit in the bed and get a comfy night sleep but he did.
Also to Ken who is disabled who also loved the use of the room on the Ground Floor and was perfect for his needs.
We do hope you both enjoyed the rest of your stay in England on your 2 month tour, as you were off to Liskeard in Cornwall for the next leg of your trip.
Good Day to you both and hears raising a Fosters to you.
Keith & Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Val and I certainly enjoyed our stay at Swiss Cottage for a whole host of reasons including such warm and genuinely friendly hosts in Christine & Keith, excellent food and all in all such a wonderful feel good factor.
No doubt we will be returning to the Isle of Wight again in the near future one thing for sure is that we look forward to meeting up with these two wonderful hosts again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 212NeilM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
To Neil & Val
Reviews from Guest like this who come for the first time and have such a wonderful time and enjoy and participate in our friendly feel good banter at breakfast dinner and at the bar is what we are all about.
Your Holiday is only as good as you want to make it yourself.
Look forward to seeing you again
From the Hostess with the mostest!
Keith & Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

This is our second time at the swiss cottage, shanklin and we weren't disappointed. Both Keith and Christine,who run the hotel, are amazing and nothing was too much trouble. The standards of the room are first class with lots of added extras, just like home from home. The food was superb and catered for all different tastes and needs, yum yum!!! We have two young teenage girls and the children's menu was also fantastic as the portions were big, which is what they needed after a fun packed day out!!!!!! The Swiss Cottage caters for couples and families alike which will meet all your needs for a memorable and enjoyable holiday!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claire g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
To The Greenhouse Family
Thank you for such a wonderful honest review and we are pleased that you feel like many of our other guests that our menu and choices are to your liking for Adults and Children alike.
Like all our meals we aim to provide a lovely balanced diet for children and that the portion size is just right for them and knowing that we also offer the flexibility to have smaller adult portions (when appropriate) or upgrade for another pound or two to have the full range from the Adults menu.
The two girls are a credit to you and we love to spoil them like we do our own daughter.(Look after my shells!)
As the girls are turning into two lovely young ladies, we do hope that the larger Family Suite that you have booked already for next year will be more than suitable for your needs.
We hope you had a great journey back home and you found space for all those lovely toys the girls won in the arcades when we went down there with you.
Take care, behave girls and see you next year
Much Love to all
Keith & Christine
xxxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swiss Cottage Shanklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swiss Cottage Shanklin

Property: The Swiss Cottage Shanklin
Address: 10 St. Georges Road, Shanklin PO37 6BA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Shanklin
#2 Best Value Hotel in Shanklin
#4 Luxury Hotel in Shanklin
#6 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#11 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swiss Cottage Shanklin 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello There, We are now filling up fast so hurry up and contact us as we are 60% full for our 2016 Season already! The Swiss Cottage is the Pride of Shanklin and has been consistently voted in the Top Five with 96% or 5/5 Satisfaction for being one of the best in the Hotel category for Shanklin & the whole of the Isle of Wight. We have now won two Trip Advisor Travelers Choice Awards in 2011/12 & 2013/14 aswell as Certificates of Excellence in the past 5 years running since 2012 to 2016. We have also been awarded a much sought after Green Leaders Gold Level Award in 2014 & 2016 for being Environmentally Friendly re our Towel, Linen, Lighting & Recycling procedures, so we would like to Thank all those who have abided by our simple guidelines to help us achieve this Award. In October 2014 we were voted the Best B&B/Guest Accommodation on the Island and were also placed in 4th Place as Highly Commended in the prestigious Tourism's The Beautiful South Awards. So why not check us out and read what everyone is saying about us! We are continually updating and keep the place clean and modern by putting in new comfy seating on the decking area, touching up the rooms and improving the place even more for your comfort. Although it only has 8 en suite bedrooms, our guest accommodation has that personal touch that many of the larger Hotels doesn't provide and is run by Keith & Christine the Owners. Whether it is B & B or Half Board we have tried to cater for everyone's needs whether single, double, friends or families, (sorry NO Children under 10 years of age or babies/infants), a safe environment for females and groups, in our comfortable modern bedrooms and bathrooms that we have converted in this old 1866 family home. (Unfortunately we do charge a Single Supplement in our School Summer Holidays and also slightly higher rates over our popular Bank Holidays & Festival Weekends. We have tried to think of everything for you, from Flat screen TVs, DVD, CD Players, Sky, Free WI-FI, fans, mini fridges and much more to make your stay a pleasurable one! We also arrange discounted Car Ferry crossing for you with Red Funnel or Wightlink. Unfortunately due to our continuing popularity, we no longer take one/two nighters as minimum stay is 3 nights as we now specialize in short breaks of 3/4 nights and a weeks holiday to ensure you see as much as the Island as you can. All of the above has transformed this property into a 4 Star plus with a coveted Silver Award for Service, Cleanliness and Hospitality and also a much sought after Breakfast Award for our full and varied Breakfast. We know and are realistic that after reading all our wonderful reviews, there are always some people out there who will come to try shoot us down, nick pick everything and will try our patience, leave rooms in a state, go against our guidelines and generally be unruly, so if you are one of them we ask that you go elsewhere as we only happy to accept friendly respectful guests here, who want to enjoy themselves with us. We may meet as strangers but all our guests leave as friends. A Home from Home but don't forget to bring your slippers! Kind Regards Keith & Christine ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Swiss Cottage Shanklin Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing