We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic b&b- highly recommended”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shanklin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Swiss Cottage Shanklin
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
essex
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic b&b- highly recommended”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We booked this b&b for my mother and father in laws special birthday week.
They thoroughly enjoyed the stay and could not recommend the Swiss Cottage highly enough.
Keith and Christine, the owners, could not do enough for them and even arranged champagne and flowers on the morning of the birthday, they really went all out to make it a really special day.
The Swiss Cottage b&b has just been fully refurbished and was to a very high standard and the breakfast was excellent with lots of choice, chosen the night before from the menu.
The Swiss Cottage is ideally situated for Shanklin and the surrounding area and in our opinion very hard to beat.
Keith and Christine- thank you very much they are definitely coming back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Oh know more repeat guests! Only Kidding.
As it says on our website, we endeavor to provide a first rate service at affordable prices for all.
We are really pleased that Richard & Doreen enjoyed there grand birthday surprise and is just a little token of our appreciation to our guest celebrating something special.
Yes we had only just finished our winter jobs to keep everything clean and fresh and you were only our third guests of the year but three great reviews already.
We look forward to inviting you back to our home in the future
Best Wishes
Keith & Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    22
    3
    3
    5
See reviews for
93
132
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The Swiss Cottage is a small hotel but big on making your stay that little bit special. The items they provide as standard , not only in the room but at breakfast, put many a large hotel to shame. You can be sure of a very warm welcome and a level of service that is hard to find these days.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
To David & Penelope
Glad you had a great stay with us and for those kind words.
Yes being Four Star with Silver Award we do alot more than a traditional B & B these days and as you say they are just a small taste of what is to come, as when we get into full swing our Breakfast menu changes we cater for Half Board and have a bar.
This is what alot of our guests are looking for, more than just a bed for the night!
Hope to see you again when you come back soon
Kind Regards
Keith & Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Went IOW for first time as my parents visited from abroad. I was very much helped and guided by Catherine for ferry booking and places to be visited. Location of hotel is best as it is 5 mins walk from beach. Rooms are best and environment is peaceful. Breakfast is great and have various options. We are pure vegetarian still we had no issues for breakfast menus as it has so many options. Keith and Catherine are very friendly and helpful. My parents also enjoyed the stay and environment of hotel. Certainly the best place to stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Hitarth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Our first review of the year and started as we mean to go on.
Easter is always a busy time on the Island and so are the ferries.
We were pleased to be of use with our information provided and your first trip to the Island and pleased your parents enjoyed our hospitality.
Kind Regards
Keith & Christine
(My wife is now asking me who Catherine is! Ha Ha!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Excellent as usual been here 7 times and each stay is just as good as the last. First Class service all round. Full english breakfast highly recommended from 8.30am, although cereals were available should would you want a lighter bite.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Hi Colin & Carol
Thanks for getting round to writing a review on us and it as usual was worth the wait.
As our most stayed couple we are always pleased to see you and hope to give you an excellent service again in 2014.
Off on holiday now before the season kicks in! Sun Sea and the Beach awaits!
Best Wishes
Keith & Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My wife and I spent four nights there in September, our one and only holiday in 2013. Excellent choice! Keith and Christine made us very welcome. The room was comfortable and everything we needed was there. Breakfasts were relaxed and friendly. We ate out in the evenings (several nice venues available) but fellow guests choosing their dinner menu options during breakfast seemed very content with what was on offer. Shanklin was a pleasant place to spend a few days in September. Town or village? Town in my book, Keith! All in all an excellent holiday break - we could have done with a few days more! Thank you Keith and Christine for your hospitality.

Room Tip: Our room was fine. We didn't see any others.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Hi Chris & Paula
Thanks for your belated review but again worth the wait.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hopefully when you come back this year you will choose our 7 nights for 6 option so you can enjoy the rest of the Island.
Will have to clarify whether Shanklin is now a Town but the old part is Shanklin Village! As it is important to get everything right! Ha Ha!
We have had a great bunch of guests this year which has reflected well on our reviews by them so a big Thank you to everyone and hope to make a few minor improvements over the coming weeks to make your stay in 2014 even better.
Anyway hope you had a fantastic Xmas & New Year and hope to see you later in the summer!
Kind Regards
Keith & Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We were made very welcome by Christine & Keith. The accommodation was very clean, comfortable & the attention to detail was superb. The Menu's were good too & food excellent.
Our whole week in September was filled with joy & laughter.We would certainly visit again.

Barbara & Keith G.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
To Barbara & Keith
We had thought you had forgotten us but your review was worth the wait.
Yes your week was filled with joy & laughter but as we say it is the Guests that make the week and the stay more enjoyable when they are as friendly as you.
Thanks for a great time.
Happy Xmas & New Year
Keith, Christine & Lizzie
xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We spent 4 nights at Swiss Cottage in Sept 2013. The room was very comfortable and well equipped. The food was excellent with lots of choices. Would have no hesitatation in recommending Swiss Cottage to friends and family, it's the attention to detail and the little extras that make all the difference. We hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Rosemary & Trevor
Thank you for those lovely words and just in time for Xmas.
We are now closed for the Winter but have been busy already updating and adding even more extra touches to make the rooms even better!
Even our Breakfast Menu has has a complete overhaul and is now even more detailed.
We do hope to see you both again when you do come back to the Island.
Season Greetings and Ho Ho Ho!
Keith & Chrissie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
463 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rowborough Hotel
Rowborough Hotel
#1 of 52 in Shanklin
211 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#5 of 52 in Shanklin
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
849 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swiss Cottage Shanklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swiss Cottage Shanklin

Property: The Swiss Cottage Shanklin
Address: 10 St Georges Road, Shanklin PO37 6BA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Shanklin
#1 Green Hotel in Shanklin
#3 Luxury Hotel in Shanklin
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#6 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#11 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swiss Cottage Shanklin 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello There, We are now filling up fast so hurry up and contact us as we are 70% full for our 2017 Season already! The Swiss Cottage is the Pride of Shanklin and has been consistently voted in the Top Five with 96% or 5/5 Satisfaction for being one of the best in the Hotel category for Shanklin & the whole of the Isle of Wight. We have now won three Trip Advisor Travelers Choice Awards in 2011/12 & 2013/14 and 2016/17 aswell as Certificates of Excellence in the past 6 years running since 2012 to 2017. We have also been awarded a much sought after Green Leaders Gold Level Award in 2014, 2016 & again in 2017 for being Environmentally Friendly re our Towel, Linen, Lighting & Recycling procedures, so we would like to Thank all those who have abided by our simple guidelines to help us achieve this Award. In October 2014 we were voted the Best B&B/Guest Accommodation on the Island and were also placed in 4th Place as Highly Commended in the prestigious Tourism's The Beautiful South Awards. So why not check us out and read what everyone is saying about us! We are continually updating and keep the place clean and modern by putting in new comfy seating on the decking area, touching up the rooms and improving the place even more for your comfort. Although it only has 8 en suite bedrooms, our guest accommodation has that personal touch that many of the larger Hotels doesn't provide and is run by Keith & Christine the Owners. Whether it is B & B or Half Board we have tried to cater for everyone's needs whether single, double, friends or families, (sorry NO Children under 10 years of age or babies/infants and no animals as we have pets of our own), a safe environment for females and groups, in our comfortable modern bedrooms and bathrooms that we have converted in this old 1866 family home. (Unfortunately we do charge a Single Supplement in our School Summer Holidays and also slightly higher rates over our popular Bank Holidays & Festival Weekends). We have tried to think of everything for you, from Flat screen TVs, DVD, CD Players, Sky, Free WI-FI, fans, mini fridges and much more to make your stay a pleasurable one! We also arrange discounted Car Ferry crossing for you with Red Funnel or Wightlink. Unfortunately due to our continuing popularity, we no longer take one/two nighters as minimum stay is 3 nights as we now specialize in short breaks of 3/4 nights and a weeks holiday to ensure you see as much as the Island as you can. All of the above has transformed this property into a 4 Star plus with a coveted Silver Award for Service, Cleanliness and Hospitality and also a much sought after Breakfast Award for our full and varied Breakfast. We know and are realistic that after reading all our wonderful reviews, there are always some people out there who will come to try shoot us down, nick pick everything and will try our patience, leave rooms in a state, go against our guidelines and generally be unruly, so if you are one of them we ask that you go elsewhere as we only happy to accept friendly respectful guests here, who want to enjoy themselves with us. We may meet as strangers but all our guests leave as friends. A Home from Home but don't forget to bring your slippers! Kind Regards Keith & Christine ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Swiss Cottage Shanklin Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing