We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent stay.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shanklin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Swiss Cottage Shanklin
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ampthill, United Kingdom
1 review
“Another excellent stay.”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We were made to feel very welcome again on this our second visit. Great room with excellent facilities. Everything was just as super as we remembered. In fact, the updated menu was even better than before. Thank you Keith, Chrissie & Tansy for a very special holiday - hope to see you again next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Hi Jenny & Bernard
Great to see you again and pleased you liked our many improvements since last you visited.
Dont make it so long next time!
Kind Regards
Keith, Christine & Tansy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    22
    3
    3
    5
See reviews for
87
127
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Neots, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2014

A warm welcome on arrival, room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was more than adequate, nothing to much trouble. Keith and Christine have a guest house to be proud of.
We would not think twice about staying at The Swiss Cottage again.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
To Roger & Janet
Thankyou for finding time to writing another great review on us and are pleased you liked your stay.
We look forward to your second visit to the Island and stay with us soon.
Kind Regards
Keith & Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Just back after a wonderful week at the Swiss Cottage, Christine and Keith made us feel very welcome and I loved our room. It was on the ground floor so easy access without having to climb stairs or walk miles down long corridors as in larger hotels, (though we are not too old to be able to do either but just nice not having to) The bed was really comfortable, usually I don't sleep well away from home but did here, in spite of night time temperatures up to 18/20 degrees.
The extra touches in the room with wipes, fridge, toilettries, hairdryer, tea, coffee, hot chocolate, plus bicuits, bottle water and 2 mini cans of coka cola on arrival were very good. I di have a little trouble at first with the shower on/off button, we were told by Christine to hold down for so many seconds but I could n't always get it to stay on until Keith told us you just have to press in once firmly as it clicks on and push again firmly to click off, I did n't have any more problems after that.
There is parking as well which is a plus, we even got our large car in. It is an easy walk to restaurants (be were only B & B) for our evening meal, or to the shops or to the sea front, where there is a lift if you don't fancy the steps up and down to the beach front, though we mostly walked. As well as your room key you are provided with a front door key so can come and go as you please.
After our evening meal we came back to the hotel bar for a nightcap where Keith serves drink/s til 11pm. All in all we thoughly enjoyed our stay. Hope to come back one day.
Ticks all the boxes for us.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 & 2 are on the ground floor for anyone not wanting stairs (they are both double rooms bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Hi Nicky & Ron
Another great review from Room 1 which does have a few teething problems but bed all sorted as you had a really comfortable nights sleep aswell as a firm push on the shower safety button.
Had a great week the two of you and our chats in the bar with our nightcaps or two!
Hope you do come back one day as the Island and us have plenty to more to offer.
Best Wishes
Keith & Christine & Tansy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Just back from a lovely 3 night stay at The Swiss Cottage. Beyond welcoming and accommodating, very friendly, comfortable and very reasonably priced.

Christine and Keith provide a fantastic service which goes far beyond what you come to expect. We mentioned it was our anniversary and were greeted on our final day by a decorated table at breakfast, with balloon and a bottle of fizz that they had kindly gone out of their way to get for us. It was so very appreciated and only added to the enjoyable stay we had.

Breakfast service is very good, Tansy will remember your preferences and serve you quickly and always with a smile.

Should we return to the IOW, I wouldn't bother to look for an alternative place to stay!

Location is perfect, close walking distance to the beach, town centre and a wide choice of places to eat and drink.
Thank you all for a very pleasant weekend!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APPP8173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Hi to our Welsh Andy & Paula
Glad you had a great stay in England even though it was only a short break, so hopefully next time you will stay for the week!
Thanks for your comments but we will have to look at our our prices for next year, as we are and have been voted the Best Value Hotel in Shanklin & IOW as we do offer a full range of breakfasts, cereals, cold self service buffett that are on par or even better than many larger Hotels here and on the mainland.
Sorry may have to put our prices up £1 per night! Ha ha! Everyone can then blame you!
Awesome!
Keith, Christine & Tansy
xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

What a superb holiday we all had at The Swiss Cottage again. Both Christine and Keith couldn't of been more welcoming. From the minute we walked in we knew it was going to be a fantastic holiday. The rooms we had were perfect, as we have two teenage girls now. They really enjoyed having their own room, but still been close to us. The food is of a very high standard and caters for all tastes, young and old. The rooms are clean and spacious, with loads of added extras. Christine and Keith, thanks for all the laughs we had, can't wait to do it all again next year.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claire g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Coming back for more! Oh know I dont think my heart and ribs can take any more laughs and fun which we have had to date with you!
Great to see you again and you do feel part of our family and Sophie & Bethany being the same age as our daughter had a wonderful time (even though I seem to be a bag of 1000 mints missing!) Hope you havnt eaten them all. Ha Ha ! Enjoy.
Same time next year it is and you never know we may pop up and see you at Xmas to sample your breakfast and hospitality! God forbid!
Much Love to you all
Keith & Christine (and I think Tansy did some work too?)
XXX
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treviolo, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Lovely guesthouse , the owner are really fantastic. We suggest for family room, two rooms close, one twins and one double as one private apartment .
Next the centre of city and the beach.
Breakfast is very good. In the last four years for our holidays in England, this place is the best for family!!
Thk to Keith and Christine.
Luca and family.

Room Tip: Excellence for family with 4 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buttarelli L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
To The Buttarelli Family from Italy
What more can anyone say when Europeans come to our Island and stay with us and say such a nice thing about us 'In the last four years for our holidays in England, this place is the best for family!!' it means alot and hopefully shows we are doing everything right for all concerned
Arrivederci e grazie a tutti voi
Auguri
Keith & Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This was our first visit to Swiss Cottage, and will not be the last. The Service was really excellent
from the time we arrived. Keith , Christine and Tansy perfect and friendly Hosts. They really made us welcome and nothing was to much trouble. The rooms were kept clean and tidy. The food was excellent. The best Hotel by far we have ever stayed in

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
To MIck, Cilla & Steve
That will do me and no more words required 'The Best Hotel by far you have ever stayed in'
Thankyou and see you again
Keith, Tansy & Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 52 in Shanklin
447 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
804 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#8 of 52 in Shanklin
316 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swiss Cottage Shanklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swiss Cottage Shanklin

Property: The Swiss Cottage Shanklin
Address: 10 St. Georges Road, Shanklin PO37 6BA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Shanklin
#1 Green Hotel in Shanklin
#3 Luxury Hotel in Shanklin
#6 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#11 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swiss Cottage Shanklin 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello There, We are now filling up fast so hurry up and contact us as we are 60% full for our 2016 Season already! The Swiss Cottage is the Pride of Shanklin and has been consistently voted in the Top Five with 96% or 5/5 Satisfaction for being one of the best in the Hotel category for Shanklin & the whole of the Isle of Wight. We have now won two Trip Advisor Travelers Choice Awards in 2011/12 & 2013/14 aswell as Certificates of Excellence in the past 5 years running since 2012 to 2016. We have also been awarded a much sought after Green Leaders Gold Level Award in 2014 & 2016 for being Environmentally Friendly re our Towel, Linen, Lighting & Recycling procedures, so we would like to Thank all those who have abided by our simple guidelines to help us achieve this Award. In October 2014 we were voted the Best B&B/Guest Accommodation on the Island and were also placed in 4th Place as Highly Commended in the prestigious Tourism's The Beautiful South Awards. So why not check us out and read what everyone is saying about us! We are continually updating and keep the place clean and modern by putting in new comfy seating on the decking area, touching up the rooms and improving the place even more for your comfort. Although it only has 8 en suite bedrooms, our guest accommodation has that personal touch that many of the larger Hotels doesn't provide and is run by Keith & Christine the Owners. Whether it is B & B or Half Board we have tried to cater for everyone's needs whether single, double, friends or families, (sorry NO Children under 10 years of age or babies/infants), a safe environment for females and groups, in our comfortable modern bedrooms and bathrooms that we have converted in this old 1866 family home. (Unfortunately we do charge a Single Supplement in our School Summer Holidays and also slightly higher rates over our popular Bank Holidays & Festival Weekends. We have tried to think of everything for you, from Flat screen TVs, DVD, CD Players, Sky, Free WI-FI, fans, mini fridges and much more to make your stay a pleasurable one! We also arrange discounted Car Ferry crossing for you with Red Funnel or Wightlink. Unfortunately due to our continuing popularity, we no longer take one/two nighters as minimum stay is 3 nights as we now specialize in short breaks of 3/4 nights and a weeks holiday to ensure you see as much as the Island as you can. All of the above has transformed this property into a 4 Star plus with a coveted Silver Award for Service, Cleanliness and Hospitality and also a much sought after Breakfast Award for our full and varied Breakfast. We know and are realistic that after reading all our wonderful reviews, there are always some people out there who will come to try shoot us down, nick pick everything and will try our patience, leave rooms in a state, go against our guidelines and generally be unruly, so if you are one of them we ask that you go elsewhere as we only happy to accept friendly respectful guests here, who want to enjoy themselves with us. We may meet as strangers but all our guests leave as friends. A Home from Home but don't forget to bring your slippers! Kind Regards Keith & Christine ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Swiss Cottage Shanklin Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing