We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here again!”
Review of Marlborough Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marlborough Hotel
Ranked #21 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Would stay here again!”
Reviewed 19 July 2011

The service and staff were excellent and extremely friendly. They don't need me to tell them there is some decorating needed and the bathrooms need a re-vamp. But the place was clean, airy and the welcome was very good indeed. The food more than made up for the odd short-coming. All together a restful stay - especially as they have a pleasant garden to enjoy while you whet your appetite for breakfast or dinner.

Room Tip: End of the top floor corridor. Bit of a hike but nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Riggy1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    56
    25
    10
    6
See reviews for
36
55
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

Just came back from a two night stay here - part of a 32 person group. Check in was quick and efficient, we were on fairly tight timescales for needing to leave in the mornings and breakfast was delivered with no delays for that number of people in one go. There was more choice of dinner than you would expect from this level of hotel and was of decent quality. The rooms were functional - not big in some cases, but we were using this as a base and the cleanliness of linen and bathroom in my room could not be faulted (didn't hear any complaints from my friends either). - Make sure you mention when booking if you have mobility problems (none of us did) but there is no lift and there's a bit of a climb to the rooms at the top of the building!

OK - realism check to those reading the not so good reviews. This is NOT a five star hotel. You wont find palatial sized rooms. You wont find molton brown toileteries and a state of the art power shower. You wont find michelin star food. You wont find a host of surplus staff hanging around. BUT you will find one of the best hotels in Shanklin for this amount of money (stayed in a few of this standard over the last 8 years!) The staff are friendly and helpful, the location is a great base close to the beach and the town, there is ample parking, and it is great value for money.

Thanks to Pascual and his team - great service from all of you, we had an excellent time.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ClareJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2011

We were a mixed group of 32 friends - ages ranging from 19 to 53 - we were over for a sporting event.

Some of the rooms were a little snug(!) but they were all clean and tidy and more than adequate for our needs.

The staff were very accomodating and reaaranged their restaurant to ensure we were all able to sit together to eat our meals.

The food was better than average and no-one went hungry.

A very pleasant experience and we will return.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burkie468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2011

Having just returned from a very succesful hockey tour on the island along with a large group of friends, we stayed at the Marlborough on a bed, breakfast and evening meal deal and for the money, we certainly got very good value and thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

The Manager and his team were very accomodating, the rooms all seemed clean and i personally slept very well both nights (although the late night Baileys may have helped).

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAGA25xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Centrally located for Shanklin new town and old village, this hotel is basic but clean and the staff were very friendly. Wouldn't recommend for a long stay but it's perfectly ok for a couple of nights.

Room Tip: Great location for Shanklin
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nickynoo74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
505 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Staff were very friendly and helpful. Owner was everywhere and very hands on.Manned reception,served meals,worked behind bar,and even did the quizzes and bingo

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ripley054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northumbria
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2011

Arrived after 12 hour trip from Northumberland.Room,s small but clean,furnishing,s a bit dated.Hip type bath not suitable for infirm/disabled .No lift and 30+ stair,s to reach top floor.Food good but small portion,s.Entertainment most night,s.Staff very friendly and Pascoal work,s very hard.Had great week even weather good.Tidy and clean Thankyou

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tourerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.1 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#42 of 52 in Shanklin
395 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 52 in Shanklin
447 reviews
0.3 mi away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#36 of 52 in Shanklin
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
#10 of 52 in Shanklin
178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palmerston Grange
Palmerston Grange
#20 of 52 in Shanklin
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlborough Hotel

Property: Marlborough Hotel
Address: 16 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#20 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marlborough Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marlborough Hotel Shanklin is a cosy 3* upgraded hotel located within walking distance from the beach, Shanklin Old Village the Chine Gardens ,local amenities, bus & train station offering a friendly service, excellent standards , comfy bedrooms and good value for money. Bedrooms are stylish decorated with ensuite shower , hair dryer , flat screen TV with digital channels, complimentary tea coffee tray and alarm clock radio .The fully licensed Bar & TV Lounge serves a variety of snacks ,light meals ,local beers and real ales wines and the usual latte & cappuccino .There is a large car park onsite and a pleasant garden where you can relax and soak up the sun. Free Wi-Fi is available ,there is a pool table and a library if you decide to stay in. Non smoking hotel . We speak your language ,our friendly Staff are fluent in Portuguese German Spanish French Polish & Russian . We can offer low cost car Ferry crossing , car and bicycle hire available , for events & festivals , daytrips and walks , festivals tickets , weather , activities and things to do ,pls visit our website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marlborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlborough Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing