We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok on a budget”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Marlborough Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marlborough Hotel
Ranked #23 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ok on a budget”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

The staff are friendly and welcoming. In regards to the rooms, they need to be updated a little, decent size but the bathroom was on the small side. The breakfast was good. I found it hard to get a internet connection in the room I was staying in, when I did it was slow for me. It was a nice place to stay.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rob08101988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    55
    25
    10
    6
See reviews for
36
52
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lymington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed here on saturday the 12th and sunday of october....the hotel is so clean ,our room was lovely and warm ant the breakfast was amazing....everything you could possable want....The owners were so nice and made us feel very welcome...We will certainly be coming here again...Great value for money....

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 798mitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

My sister and I have just spent 4 nights at the Marlborough Hotel with a coach party.The food was excellent as was th entertainment in the evenings,(particularly the quiz)Manager and staff ,all very pleasant and hard working,We had room 22 which needs some readjustment re.the bathroom,which was totally inadequate,too small and badly designed.

Room Tip: Ask to see your room before occupancy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hall529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

i said last time i would come back again so this is our second visit to the marlborough hotel . there has been improvements since last year and work is ongoing . our room was very good , clean with balcony and small view of the sea and overlooking the nice garden . the food was good and lots of choice as before, my husband enjoyed his meat meals, the fish in my meals was not so good very thin and tasteless but the sauces that they came in was delicious , next time i will order meat and pass it over to my husband and just have the veg and gravy . there was a couple of annoyances with the serving of the food, all the food was chosen the night before ( so as not to waste cooking more than was wanted) , we were always first or near to through the door but although we were close to the kitchen, tables were served before us, one time some people were finishing their main course before our glass of juice arrived , i didn't think it too much of a problem till coffee was served to the table next to us then she walked passed us and the next table got theirs , ours arrived when most people were getting up to go , it did feel it was like pick a table and give bad service and it was our turn . my husband only eats ice cream for pudding, one day it was not on the menu so he did not have any pudding at all only to see the next table had ice cream , not very fair is it , if you don't put ice cream on the menu that day then don't serve it to others . we did not say anything as we could see the older guests were changing what they wanted such as i don't want a egg, or no gravy on my dinner or could we have bread instead of toast, this must have been a problem for the people who were cooking and plating up . yes, i would say come to this hotel it is nice and in a nice quiet resort , i will try it again in a few years time and read the reviews on trip adviser first before i book again

Room Tip: choose top floor at the front of the building , there is stairs but less foot traffic by the door so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenniy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
97 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed in July 13 at this hotel and upon arrival the 1st problem was the cases. They insisted taking these to the rooms but took around 40 minutes for ours to arrive leaving little time to get changed and freshen up before dinner on the 1st night, The room had a terrible view overlooking some old backyard and other properties and the bathroom could do with a lick of paint and a tidy up but overall the hotel was pleasant if indeed in need of some renovations which I understand are being carried out at the moment. Location was excellent although Shanklin wasn't for us. The rooms were cleaned daily and they opened the windows each day to air the room out - something again wasn't ideal - I can understand the need to do this to air the room but this then led to bugs coming in so on our return after being out all day to fight off swarms of flies etc in the room. The walls can be a little thin too - if someone wishes to watch TV you can hear it through the wall very clearly as you can their conversations. The star of the stay was the food. This was excellent and cannot be faulted. We always had plenty of choices and the quality and quantity were excellent. The bar was reasonably priced and all staff pleasant. Overall i'd give this hotel 3.5 if you could on the scale out of 5 but as it only allows for the options of full points we chose 3 out of 5 for a rather average seaside hotel. Would I stay here again - yes I would if the price was right

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RingOandCrystaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

On arriving at the Marlborough the garden area was tidy and presentable, but the building itself was very shabby looking, inside doors were half painted and the stairs to the first floor were painted white and dangerous for people with poor mobility and not wearing appropriate footwear.
The shower.... haha what a laugh!! Took 25 mins to have a shower and wash my hair, the water was stopping and starting and going from very hot to cold in an instant, again not good for the elderly or children.
The food on the first night was terrible with most of our party around 40 of us sending it back, YOU DO NOTget a buffet meal when on a coach party, the food looked like it had come from JACK FULTONS cheap and horrible, no mash no sauté nothing just the same every night small roasted potatoes. The food did get better as the week went on after our rep complained but not alot of choice, the family in our group consisting of 2 children had to eat out as the hotel wouldn't put anything on the menu that the children would have enjoyed. Our waitress was lovely and went all out to try and please but one of the other waitresses stood chewing gum and just didn't really appear to enjoy her job. Miserable!!
On our final morning all the milk on our tables had to go back.SOUR!!!!
I will not be using this hotel again and the reviews that other guests have put on. Are you sure its the same hotel. I don't think so!!!!!
The Marlborough could be a lovely hotel but needs lots of t.l.c and money spending on it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank heathersammi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
22audi22, Public Relations Manager at Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
thank you for your comments , and we are sorry we didn't meet your expectations on this occasion , however given the fact that your stay was part of a coach party and half price was charged for your children and your partner as the coach driver didn't even paid there shouldn't be a reason for your silly comments , here at the Marlborough Hotel we offer excellent service good standards and value for money either one is travelling on a coach trip or individually . all of our food is tasty and freshly prepared using local ingredients and unfortunately we do not serve JUNK FOOD , as you kept asking these to be served ! yes we do not do a children's menu simply because don't serve Junk Food ! Your lack your understanding and knowledge ref. your remarks about the hotel being run down is just stupid , one can clearly see that the hotel is presently being refurbished in stages , it doesn't take a genius to figure that out ! as for the hot water and shower , we have no record of you making a complaint had you made one something would have been done immediately . other guests on this tour were very happy and recommendations have been received .
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

The hotel is obviously going through a bit of a refurbishment confirmed by the workman puttying the outside windows on a bright Saturday morning.
The entrance hallway floorboards have been stripped back to basic flooring, the stairs have just been painted white and the doors appeared to have been primed white but not finished.
The room was averagely decorated, a reasonable size in the twin room and the shower and bathroom fine.
Breakfast was all you could want but I have certainly had better and worse.
Overall an average hotel for the price paid.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tone8906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.3 mi away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#36 of 54 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#1 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.5 mi away
Somerton Lodge Hotel
Somerton Lodge Hotel
#20 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
#12 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queensmead Hotel
Queensmead Hotel
#13 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Nightingale Hotel
The Nightingale Hotel
#29 of 54 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlborough Hotel

Property: Marlborough Hotel
Address: 16 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#20 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marlborough Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marlborough Hotel Shanklin is a cosy 3* upgraded hotel located within walking distance from the beach, Shanklin Old Village the Chine Gardens ,local amenities, bus & train station offering a friendly service, excellent standards , comfy bedrooms and good value for money. Bedrooms are stylish decorated with ensuite shower , hair dryer , flat screen TV with digital channels, complimentary tea coffee tray and alarm clock radio .The fully licensed Bar & TV Lounge serves a variety of snacks ,light meals ,local beers and real ales wines and the usual latte & cappuccino .There is a large car park onsite and a pleasant garden where you can relax and soak up the sun. Free Wi-Fi is available ,there is a pool table and a library if you decide to stay in. Non smoking hotel . We speak your language ,our friendly Staff are fluent in Portuguese German Spanish French Polish & Russian . We can offer low cost car Ferry crossing , car and bicycle hire available , for events & festivals , daytrips and walks , festivals tickets , weather , activities and things to do ,pls visit our website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marlborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlborough Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing