We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful house and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rylstone Manor Hotel
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Hotel with period furniture throughout.Rooms average sized.Bathrooms perhaps a little small.Lovely decor.Very clean throughout despite loads of potential dust traps.Good solid beds.Excellent breakfast,good choice well presented and well cooks. Staff friendly and polite throughout.Nice grounds in quiet location but short walt to town or sea.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TKPUNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2011

We stayed at the Rylestone Manor Hotel in 2008 and have just gone back again. It is a truly lovely hotel with so much character and charm. You are right next to Shanklin Chine with its beutiful walks. There is a fairly steep decent down to the beach but the Fishermans Cottage pub at the bottom is worth the trip and a visit. We love the IOW and will go back again and again. We will always stay at the Rylestone Manor Hotel as Mike & Carole make sure your stay with them is special and complete. The rooms are indivdually named and we stayed in Maple room. From the bedroom window we watched two red squirrels in the rear garden. It is idealic and we love it. Food is great and Shanklin is a short walk away.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travellerclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

This hotel is a real 'find' set in beautiful parkland and an absolute must for the discerning traveller. I first visited this hotel with friends about four years ago and with having to return to the Island subsequently each year for work I couldn't choose a better place that Rylstone Manor. Mike and Carole are gracious hosts - Mike is a tremendous cook - his meals are as good as you will find at any top restaurant whilst Carole ensures that guests are made most welcome. Nothing is too much trouble and they have even provided breakfast for me an hour earlier than they would normally serve it. The hotel is immaculate and every comfort thought of down to the chocolate which is left on your pillow each night. If you like the hustle and bustle of a large hotel then this is not the place to stay. However if you are looking for a quiet getaway with excellent food and comfort, in a tranquil setting then look no further!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2011

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights and we would not fault the facilities or the quality of service in any way. Both Mike and Carol went out of their way to make us welcome and were intent in giving us whatever we required. No chef could take his profession more seriously than Mike and the variety of training he has undertaken over the years, including some at 'Le Manoir' certainly is evidenced in the food that appears on the plates. Such is the quality of the cooking, it compares to any we have had anywhere in the world -yes, it's that good. I would recommend the hotel to any friend and would be confident that they would form the same opinion as us. We found the hotel to be a haven of peace and quiet -just what we were looking for.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2011

Stayed at one of their superior rooms. Extremely comfortable four poster bed with good facilities, including a dressing table for the lady. The fan in en-suite can be a little loud though. The evening meal was most delicious, cooked by Michael, with good service from Angie. There is both a bar and drawing room to relax before and after the meal. The stay finished off by a delicious cooked breakfast. All good, if a little pricey.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wkspang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

This hotel is wonderful. Every detail from the soft bed sheets to the background music to the relaxing atmosphere, it is a pleasure to stay here. The chef & owner Mike with his wife Carole are friendly & welcoming. The food & menus are delicious & trust me you will not want to have an evening meal else where as the dishes are devine; my mouth is watering just thinkg about. The setting is perfect & the fact that no children can stay keeps the tranquility of Rylstone Manor. In a word delightful.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A1Kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

I had to come to the Isle of Wight for business and found the hotel by chance and am very glad that I did. The house was beautiful and my room was cosy and welcoming. The only downside was that there was no bath but that can be easily forgotten given the rest of the stay. Dinner was lovely and Angie, the waitress was friendly and welcoming. An absolute gem, specially when travelling alone. Breakfast doesn't start until 8.30 which would have been a problem if I hadn't had changes to my schedule and I'm very glad that I didn't have to miss it. The scrambled eggs and smoked salmon are wonderful and when they say freshly baked croissants, they mean it. It was almost too hot to touch! If I have to return to IOW again, I will be calling the hotel straight away to book another stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderer035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
901 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
860 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cliff Hall Hotel
Cliff Hall Hotel
#12 of 51 in Shanklin
150 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rylstone Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rylstone Manor Hotel

Address: 10 Popham Road, Shanklin PO37 6RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#13 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: £126 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rylstone Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm friendly welcome awaits you in this award winning boutique period 3 star and silver award country house hotel (higher than guest accommodation). Featured in the Good Hotel Guide every year since 2006 and in Conde Nast Johansens. Hands on owners who care about the guests and ensure they spend a relaxing time here on the Isle of Wight.Winner of the IOW Chamber of Commerce Awards for excellence in Hospitality and Accommodation 2012. Call for more details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Rylstone Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rylstone Manor Shanklin
Hotel Rylstone Manor
Rylstone Manor Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing