We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four Greats”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rylstone Manor Hotel
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Four Greats”
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Great hotel, great location,great food and last but not least , great hosts.
A trip to the IOW is like stepping back into the 60's and this is a positive, not a negative.
This hotel is small but beautifully formed...Every care has been taken with decor and the hosts emit pride in their hotel and rightly so. This is an ideal venue for a short or long calming break and with frequent ferries we did door to door in 3 hours from Buckinghamshire.
The best praise I can give the Rylstone is the promise that we will go again

Room Tip: Named after trees..Willow and Oak are the smallest
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert193891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    29
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
125
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2011

Quiet location in the gardens with easy access to Shanklin Chine, Old Town & coastal path. Every room very tastefully decorated and furnished in period style & just a lovely house to be in. Welcoming & friendly owners & the lady who serves at breakfast is a real treasure. We did not dine in the evening but judging by the breakfasts & comments made this would be a real experience. To top it all, red squirrels in the garden. We loved it!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank illingworth201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Hotel with period furniture throughout.Rooms average sized.Bathrooms perhaps a little small.Lovely decor.Very clean throughout despite loads of potential dust traps.Good solid beds.Excellent breakfast,good choice well presented and well cooks. Staff friendly and polite throughout.Nice grounds in quiet location but short walt to town or sea.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TKPUNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 726 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

We stayed at the Rylestone Manor Hotel in 2008 and have just gone back again. It is a truly lovely hotel with so much character and charm. You are right next to Shanklin Chine with its beutiful walks. There is a fairly steep decent down to the beach but the Fishermans Cottage pub at the bottom is worth the trip and a visit. We love the IOW and will go back again and again. We will always stay at the Rylestone Manor Hotel as Mike & Carole make sure your stay with them is special and complete. The rooms are indivdually named and we stayed in Maple room. From the bedroom window we watched two red squirrels in the rear garden. It is idealic and we love it. Food is great and Shanklin is a short walk away.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellerclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2011

This hotel is a real 'find' set in beautiful parkland and an absolute must for the discerning traveller. I first visited this hotel with friends about four years ago and with having to return to the Island subsequently each year for work I couldn't choose a better place that Rylstone Manor. Mike and Carole are gracious hosts - Mike is a tremendous cook - his meals are as good as you will find at any top restaurant whilst Carole ensures that guests are made most welcome. Nothing is too much trouble and they have even provided breakfast for me an hour earlier than they would normally serve it. The hotel is immaculate and every comfort thought of down to the chocolate which is left on your pillow each night. If you like the hustle and bustle of a large hotel then this is not the place to stay. However if you are looking for a quiet getaway with excellent food and comfort, in a tranquil setting then look no further!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2011

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights and we would not fault the facilities or the quality of service in any way. Both Mike and Carol went out of their way to make us welcome and were intent in giving us whatever we required. No chef could take his profession more seriously than Mike and the variety of training he has undertaken over the years, including some at 'Le Manoir' certainly is evidenced in the food that appears on the plates. Such is the quality of the cooking, it compares to any we have had anywhere in the world -yes, it's that good. I would recommend the hotel to any friend and would be confident that they would form the same opinion as us. We found the hotel to be a haven of peace and quiet -just what we were looking for.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2011

Stayed at one of their superior rooms. Extremely comfortable four poster bed with good facilities, including a dressing table for the lady. The fan in en-suite can be a little loud though. The evening meal was most delicious, cooked by Michael, with good service from Angie. There is both a bar and drawing room to relax before and after the meal. The stay finished off by a delicious cooked breakfast. All good, if a little pricey.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wkspang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
833 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
456 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
454 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rylstone Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rylstone Manor Hotel

Property: Rylstone Manor Hotel
Address: 10 Popham Road, Shanklin PO37 6RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#13 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rylstone Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm friendly welcome awaits you in this award winning boutique period 3 star and silver award country house hotel (higher than guest accommodation). Featured in the Good Hotel Guide every year since 2006 and in Conde Nast Johansens. Hands on owners who care about the guests and ensure they spend a relaxing time here on the Isle of Wight.Winner of the IOW Chamber of Commerce Awards for excellence in Hospitality and Accommodation 2012. Call for more details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Rylstone Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rylstone Manor Shanklin
Hotel Rylstone Manor
Rylstone Manor Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing